The President
The White House
Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President:

I enclose the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's (NRC's) Fiscal Year 2002, Performance and Accountability Report and our Inspector General's Fiscal Year 2002 Performance Report. These reports were prepared in accordance with the Reports Consolidation Act of 2000 and the Government Performance and Results Act of 1993.

The NRC places a high priority on sound management and public accountability. We look forward to working with you to deliver the best possible results for the government and the American people.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Richard A. Meserve

Enclosures: As stated

Identical letter sent to:

The President The White House Washington, D.C. 20500

The Honorable Joe Barton, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Rick Boucher

The Honorable Richard B. Cheney President of the United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable J. Dennis Hastert Speaker of the United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Pete V. Domenici, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Harry Reid

The Honorable George V. Voinovich, Chairman Subcommittee on Clean Air, Climate Change, and Nuclear Safety
Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate
Washington, D.C. 20510
cc: Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

The Honorable David L. Hobson, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky

The Honorable Susan M. Collins, Chairman Committee on Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Joseph I. Lieberman

Identical letter to: (continued)

The Honorable Pete V. Domenici, Chairman Committee on Energy and Natural Resources United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Jeff Bingaman

The Honorable James M. Inhofe, Chairman Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator James M. Jeffords

The Honorable W. J. "Billy" Tauzin, Chairman Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative John Dingell

The Honorable Tom Davis, Chairman Committee on Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry Waxman

The Honorable Mitchell Daniels, Jr. Director
Office of Management and Budget Washington, D.C. 20503
cc: John Pfeiffer, OMB

The Honorable David M. Walker Comptroller General of the United States General Accounting Office Washington, D.C. 20548