

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

#### **REGION IV**

#### 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

January 9, 2003

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT NUCLEAR

**OPERATING COMPANY** 

DOCKET: 50-498 and 50-499

DATE & TIME: Wednesday, January 22, 2003

1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Region IV

611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400

Arlington, TX 76011-4005

PURPOSE: Discuss implementation of a risk informed exemption

CATEGORY 1: This is a Category 1 Meeting. The public is invited to observe this

meeting and will have one or more opportunities to communicate with the NRC after the business portion, but before the meeting is

adjourned.

PARTICIPANTS: Participants from the NRC include members of Region IV and the

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR).

NRC

Elmo Collins, Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects Dwight Chamberlain, Director, Division of Reactor Safety

William D. Johnson, Chief, Branch A, Division of Reactor Projects

Cornelius O'Keefe, Senior Resident Inspector

Gilbert Guerra, Resident Inspector Chuck Paulk, Senior Project Engineer

Robert Gramm, Section Chief, Division of Licensing Project

Management

Mohan Thadani, Senior Project Manager David Fischer, Senior Mechanical Engineer

Samuel Lee, Project Manager

Roy Mathew, Reactor Operations Engineer

### UTILITY

Thomas Jordan, Vice President, Engineering and Technical

Services

Scott Head, Manager, Nuclear Licensing

Glen Schinzel, Supervisor, Risk Insight Implementation

MEETING CONTACT: William D. Johnson, NRC, RIV

817 860-8148 WDJ@nrc.gov

CC:

William T. Cottle, President and Chief Executive Officer STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

Tom Jordan, Vice President Engineering & Technical Services STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

S. M. Head, Manager, Licensing Nuclear Quality & Licensing Department STP Nuclear Operating Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5014 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

A. Ramirez/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, Texas 78704

M. T. Hardt/W. C. Gunst City Public Service Board P.O. Box 1771 San Antonio, Texas 78296

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Houston Lighting & Power Company P.O. Box 1700 Houston, Texas 77251 Jon C. Wood Matthews & Branscomb 112 E. Pecan, Suite 1100 San Antonio, Texas 78205

A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1111 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20004

C. A. Johnson/R. P. Powers AEP - Central Power and Light Company P.O. Box 289, Mail Code: N5022 Wadsworth, Texas 77483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, Georgia 30339-5957

Director, Division of Compliance & Inspection Bureau of Radiation Control Texas Department of Health 1100 West 49th Street Austin, Texas 78756

Brian Almon
Public Utility Commission
William B. Travis Building
P.O. Box 13326
1701 North Congress Avenue
Austin, Texas 78701-3326

Environmental and Natural Resources Policy Director P.O. Box 12428 Austin, Texas 78711-3189

Judge, Matagorda County Matagorda County Courthouse 1700 Seventh Street Bay City, Texas 77414 G. R. Bynog, Program Manager/ Chief Inspector Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation Boiler Division P.O. Box 12157, Capitol Station Austin, Texas 78711

Susan M. Jablonski
Office of Permitting, Remediation and Registration
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
MC-122, P.O. Box 13087
Austin, Texas 78711-3087

Ted Enos 4200 South Hulen Suite 630 Fort Worth, Texas 76109 Electronic distribution by RIV:

( ) NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP OEMAIL D/OE

WAM W. Maier, RSLO

RDH1 PAO

JAC1, CJG
LAO, DLF, TBH
LMB, NLH, JLH2
CMS, JAK, BST1
JLP
LPL
RA Secretaries
DRP Division
DRS Division
DNMS Division
J. L. Pellet, IRM
P. Longdo

## R:\ STP\2003\STP 01-22-03 MN DRP.wpd

RIV:PE:DRP/A	RSLO	C:DRP/A		
JMKeeton	WAMaier	WDJohnson		
WDJohnson for	/RA/	/RA/		
01/09/03	01/09/03	01/09/03		