

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-4005

December 6, 2002

NOTICE OF LICENSEE MEETING

Name of Licensee: Nebraska Public Power District

Name of Facility: Cooper Nuclear Station

Docket: 50-298

Date and Time December 18, 2002 of Meeting: 10 a.m. (CST)

Location of Meeting: NRC Region IV

Training Conference Room 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, Texas 76011-4005

Purpose of Meeting: Discuss Revision 2 of the Cooper Nuclear Station Strategic

Improvement Plan

NRC Attendees: E. Collins, Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

K. Kennedy, Chief, Project Branch F, DRP

T. Farnholtz, Senior Project Engineer, Project Branch F, DRP

Licensee Attendees: M. Coyle, Site Vice President, Cooper Nuclear Station

P. Fleming, Manager, Risk and Regulatory Affairs

R. Grazio, Project Manager

NOTES:

- (1) Members of the general public are invited to observe the meeting and will have the opportunity to communicate with the NRC after the business portion of the meeting, but before the meeting is adjourned. This is an NRC Category 1 meeting.
- (2) NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify Mr. Kriss Kennedy at 817/860-8144 by COB on December 13, 2002.

Approved By: _____/*RA*/_____

Kriss M. Kennedy, Chief

Project Branch F

Division of Reactor Projects

CC:

David L. Wilson, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Michael T. Coyle Site Vice President Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

P. V. Fleming, Licensing Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources 205 Jefferson Street Jefferson City, Missouri 65101 Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1366

Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street, Suite D Des Moines, Iowa 50309

William R. Mayben, President and Chief Executive Officer Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, Nebraska 68601 E-Mail To

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP

MCT M. Thadani, Project Manager, NRR

OEMAIL D/OE

TJF Tim Frye, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

SCS S. Schwind, Senior Resident Inspector

WAM W. Maier, RSLO GFS G. Sanborn, EO M. Vasquez, ES GMV RDH1 R. Hannah, PAO JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF, TBH **DRP** Division NLH, LMB, JLH2 **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet, IRM LPL P. Longdo

R:\ CNS\2002\CN12-18-02MN-DRP.wpd

RIV:C:DRP/F	RSLO	PAO	Signature	
KMKennedy;tbh	WAMaier	RDHannah	KMKennedy	
/RA/	EECollins for	E-KMKennedy	/RA/	
12/06/02	12/06/02	12/06/02	12/06/02	