UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

RAS 4989

DOCKETED 11/08/02 SERVED 11/08/02

ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD PANEL

Before Administrative Judges:

Ann Marshall Young, Chair Dr. Charles N. Kelber Lester S. Rubenstein

In the Matter of

DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION

(McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2)

Docket No's. 50-369-LR, 50-370-LR, 50-413-LR, and 50-414-LR

ASLBP No. 02-794-01-LR

November 8, 2002

ORDER (Confirming Matters Addressed at November 6, 2002, Conference)

On November 6, 2002, a status conference was held by telephone conference call with counsel for all parties in this proceeding, which concerns the license renewal application of Duke Energy Corporation, seeking approval under 10 C.F.R. Part 54 to renew the operating licenses for its McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2, and Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2. The following matters were addressed at this conference:

- 1. Staff and other counsel provided updates on progress on the final SEIS and SER, as well as GSI-189, and these and other related matters not included within those currently pending before the Commission were discussed briefly. In addition, the possibility of conducting some informal discovery was addressed, and the parties were offered the option of having a mediator appointed to assist them in any continuing settlement negotiations if the parties agree this might be productive.
- 2. A deadline of <u>30 days after issuance of the final SEIS and SER</u>, or after receipt of <u>any other new information</u>, was set <u>for any late-filed contentions</u> based thereon.

3. Another status conference will be held on Monday, December 16, 2002, at 1:00 p.m.

EST. Participants should call 301/231-5539 or 1-800/638-8081 a few minutes before 1:00 p.m. on December 16, 2002, and give passcode 8523# to be connected in to the conference.

It is so ORDERED.

FOR THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD¹

/RA/

Ann Marshall Young, Chair ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE

Rockville, Maryland November 8, 2002

¹Copies of this Order were sent this date by Internet e-mail or facsimile transmission, if available, to all participants or counsel for participants.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of)	
DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION)	Docket Nos. 50-369/370/413/414-LR
(McGuire Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2;)	
Catawba Nuclear Station, Units 1 and 2))	

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing LB ORDER (CONFIRMING MATTERS ADDRESSED AT NOVEMBER 6, 2002, CONFERENCE) have been served upon the following persons by deposit in the U.S. mail, first class, or through NRC internal distribution.

Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge Charles N. Kelber Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Susan L. Uttal, Esq.
Antonio Fernández, Esq.
Office of the General Counsel
Mail Stop - O-15 D21
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555-0001

Mary Olson
Director of the Southeast Office
Nuclear Information and Resource Service
729 Haywood Road, 1-A
P.O. Box 7586
Asheville, NC 28802

Administrative Judge Ann Marshall Young, Chair Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

Administrative Judge, ASLBP Lester S. Rubenstein 4760 East Country Villa Drive Tucson, AZ 85718

Michael S. Tuckman, Executive Vice President Nuclear Generation Duke Energy Corporation 526 South Church Street P.O. Box 1006 Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

Janet Marsh Zeller, Executive Director Blue Ridge Environmental Defense League P.O. Box 88 Glendale Springs, NC 28629 Docket Nos. 50-369/370/413/414-LR LB ORDER (CONFIRMING MATTERS ADDRESSED AT NOVEMBER 6, 2002, CONFERENCE)

David A. Repka, Esq. Anne W. Cottingham, Esq. Winston & Strawn 1400 L Street, NW Washington, DC 20005

Paul Gunter Nuclear Information and Resource Service 1424 16th St., NW Washington, DC 20026

Diane Curran, Esq.
Harmon, Curran, Spielberg
& Eisenberg, L.L.P.
1726 M Street, NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20036

Lisa F. Vaughn, Esq. Legal Department Duke Energy Corporation 526 S. Church Street (EC11X) P.O. Box 1006 Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

Jesse Riley 854 Henley Place Charlotte, NC 28207

[Original signed by Evangeline S. Ngbea]

Office of the Secretary of the Commission

Dated at Rockville, Maryland, this 8th day of November 2002