ELECTRIC September 6, 1991

Donald F. Schnell Senior Vice President Nuclear

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attn: Document Control Desk Mail Station P1-137 Washington, D.C. 20555

ULNRC- 2477

Gentlemen:

DOCKET NUMBER 50-483
CALLAWAY PLANT
REQUEST TO AMEND 10CFR PART 71 QUALITY ASSURANCE PROGRAM

The purpose of this letter is to clarify that the application of the 10 CFR Part 50 Appendix B quality assurance program as applied to activities under 10 CFR Part 71 for Callaway Plant is limited to procurement and use of packaging for shipment of radioactive materials. Design and fabrication of shipping casks will not be conducted under this quality assurance program.

Please amend the Quality Assurance Program Approval (Approval Number 520 Revision 2, Docket Number 71-520) accordingly. Enclosed is a check for \$230 which is the appropriate fee for an amendment to a Part 71 QA program approval under Category 10.B of Section 170.31.

Very truly yours,

Donald F. Schnell

DS/dls

Enclosure

cc: Mr. C. MacDonald

Chief, Transportation Branch

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Recid # 199717 10.00.

9109160121 910906 PDR ADOCK 07100520 C PDR Nox 10

cc: T. A. Baxter, Esq.
Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge
2300 N. Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20037

Dr. J. O. Cermak CFA, Inc. 18225-A Flower Hill Way Gaithersburg, MD 20879-5334

R. C. Knop Chief, Reactor Project Branch 1 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region III 799 Roosevelt Road Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137

Bruce Bartlett Callaway Resident Office U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission RR#1 Steedman, Missouri 65077

M. D. Lynch (2) Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1 White Flint, North, Mail Stop 13E21 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

Manager, Electric Department Missouri Public Service Commission P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, MO 65102

bcc: D. Shafer/A160.761

/QA Record (CA-758)

Nuclear Date

E210.01

DFS/Chrono

- D. F. Schnell
- J. E. Birk
- J. V. Laux
- M. A. Stiller
- G. L. Randolph
- R. J. Irwin
- P. Barrett
- C. D. Naslund
- A. C. Passwater
- D. E. Shafer
- W. E. Kahl
- H. Chernoff (WCNOC)
- R. C. Slovic (Bechtel)
- T. P. Sharkey

NSRB (Sandra Auston)

E.A. O'Connor

g. M. Brown