## OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY CORRESPONDENCE CONTROL TICKET

Date Printed: Sep 20, 2002 09:29

PAPER NUMBER:

LTR-02-0610

**LOGGING DATE: 09/20/2002** 

**ACTION OFFICE:** 

**EDO** 

DEDM

**AUTHOR:** 

Howard Rice

**AFFILIATION:** 

VT

ADDRESSEE:

Daniel Craig

**SUBJECT:** 

State of Vermont towns that are in the Vermont Yankee Emergency Planning Zone...(EPZ)

**ACTION:** 

Appropriate

**DISTRIBUTION:** 

RF

LETTER DATE:

09/13/2002

**ACKNOWLEDGED** 

No

SPECIAL HANDLING:

cc: Chairman Meserve

**NOTES:** 

**FILE LOCATION:** 

Adams

DATE DUE:

**DATE SIGNED:** 

Template: SECY-017

ERIDS: SECY-01

## Reply to:

103 South Main Street Waterbury, VT 05671-2101



TEL:

1-800-347-0488

802-244-8721

TDD: FAX: 802-244-5571 802-241-5556

## STATE OF VERMONT DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY VERMONT EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

HTTP //www dps state.vt us

September 13, 2002

Mr. Daniel A. Craig, Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency, Region I J. W. McCormack Post Office and Court House Room 442 Boston, MA 02109

Dear Mr. Craig:

I would like to reaffirm the Vermont towns that are in the Vermont Yankee Emergency Planning Zone (EPZ). They are: Brattleboro, Dummerston, Guilford, Halifax, and Vernon.

Marlboro is not currently in the EPZ. Although the town of Marlboro is considering participation in the Radiological Emergency Response Plan, that decision will not be made in time to effect the 2003 exercise. Therefore, Vermont will not include Marlboro in its plans and will not demonstrate Marlboro in the 2003 exercise. Vermont Emergency Management is encouraging Town Select Board to participate in the Radiological Emergency Response Plan and will assist them in this endeavor. The decision may be made by the Marlboro voters as early as March 2003.

Sincerely,

Howard F. Rice Jr., Director

CC:

Howard Dean, MD, Governor

Pichard Meserve, Chairman, Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Kathy Halvey Gibson, Chief Emergency Preparedness and Health Physics

Section U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Daniel C. McElhinney, Regional Assistance Committee Chair, FEMA, Region I