July 30, 2002

Joseph D. Ziegler, Acting Assistant Manager Office of Licensing and Regulatory Compliance U.S. Department of Energy Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office P.O. Box 364629 North Las Vegas, NV 89036-8629

SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE AND MANAGEMENT MEETING ON KEY TECHNICAL ISSUE AGREEMENTS (JULY 23, 2002)

Dear Mr. Ziegler:

Enclosed are the meeting summary highlights agreed upon during the July 23, 2002, Technical Exchange and Management Meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The meeting focused on DOE's Key Technical Issue (KTI) Agreement Item Planning Strategy and the KTI agreements DOE plans to address in Fiscal Year 2003 and beyond.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Mr. James Andersen of my staff at (301) 415-5717.

Sincerely, /RA/

Janet Schlueter, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: As Stated

cc: See attached distribution list

Joseph D. Ziegler, Acting Assistant Manager Office of Licensing and Regulatory Compliance U.S. Department of Energy Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office P.O. Box 364629 North Las Vegas, NV 89036-8629

SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE AND MANAGEMENT MEETING ON KEY TECHNICAL ISSUE AGREEMENTS (JULY 23, 2002)

Dear Mr. Ziegler:

Enclosed are the meeting summary highlights agreed upon during the July 23, 2002, Technical Exchange and Management Meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). The meeting focused on DOE's Key Technical Issue (KTI) Agreement Item Planning Strategy and the KTI agreements DOE plans to address in Fiscal Year 2003 and beyond.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Mr. James Andersen of my staff at (301) 415-5717.

Sincerely, /RA/ Janet Schlueter, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: As Stated

cc: See attached distribution list

DISTRIBUTIC	<u>DN</u> :							
File Center	DWM r/f	HLWB r/f	EPAB r/f	LCampbell	DHiggs			
TAhn	JBradbury	NColeman	PJustus	BLeslie	TMcCartin			
MNataraja	JPohle	JTrapp	SWastler	MMarkley	DBrooks			
Center	LSN	PUBLIC	JFirth	TBloomer				
ACCESSION #:								

DOCUMENT NAME: S\DWM\HLWB\JWA\MEETING SUMMARY 07-23-02.WPD

OFC	HLWB		HLWB		HLWB	
NAME	JAndersen		KStablein JSchl		JSchlueter	
DATE	07/29/02		07/30/02		07/30/02	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

ACNW: YES X NO ____ Delete file after distribution: Yes ___ No ___

1) This document should be made available to the PUBLIC: JWA 07/29/02

2) This document is related to the HLW program. It should be placed in the LSS: JWA 07/29/02

cc: R. Loux, State of Nevada	R. Massey, Lander County, NV			
S. Frishman, State of Nevada	L. Stark, Lincoln County, NV			
M. Chu, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV			
C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC	A. Funk, Mineral County, NV			
S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, DC	L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV			
N. Slater, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Murphy, Nye County, NV			
C. Newbury, YMPO	D. Chavez, Nye County, NV			
R. Dyer, YMPO	D. Weigel, GAO			
J. Ziegler, YMPO	W. Barnard, NWTRB			
R. Murthy, YMPO	R. Holden, NCAI			
S. Mellington, YMPO	A. Collins, NIEC			
C. Hanlon, YMPO	R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe			
T. Gunter, YMPO	J. Larson, White Pine County			
K. Hess, BSC	R. Clark, EPA			
D. Krisha, BSC	F. Marcinowski, EPA			
S. Cereghin, BSC	R. Anderson, NEI			
N. Williams, BSC	R. McCullum, NEI			
M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC	S. Kraft, NEI			
D. Beckman, BSC/B&A	J. Kessler, EPRI			
B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee	D. Duncan, USGS			
J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau	R. Craig, USGS			
W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell	W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD			
E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV	L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc			
A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV	S. Echols, ECG			
G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV	N. Rice, NV Congressional Delegation			
L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV	T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation			
A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV	J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation			
A. Remus, Inyo County, CA	S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation			
M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV	J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV			
I. Zabarte, W.S.N.C.	R. Bahe, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe			
C. Anderson, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe	C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes			
J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe	R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe			

- L. Jackson, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- V. Miller, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- A. Bacock, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- R. Quintero, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada (Chairman, Walker River Paiute Tribe)
- M. Bengochia, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan & Associates, PLLC
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- K. Tilges, Citizen Alert
- J. Triechel, Nuclear Waste Task Force

- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- J. Charles, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada
- H. Blackeye, Jr., Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- D. Eddy, Jr. Colorado River Indian Tribes
- G. Runkle, DOE, Washington, DC
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell
- H. Jackson, Public Citizen