



May 28, 2002

Jim Cunnane, Project Functional Administrator Argonne National Laboratory Chemical Technology Division 9700 South Cass Avenue Argonne, IL 60439

NOTIFICATION AND SURVEILLANCE PLAN FOR BECHTEL SAIC COMPANY, LLC (BSC) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) SUPPLIER SURVEILLANCE BSCQA-02-S-29 OF ARGONNE NATIONAL LABORATORY (ANL)

BSC QA will conduct a surveillance of the Argonne National Laboratory facility in Argonne, Illinois on June 3, 2002, to measure the effectiveness of the QA program implementation as delineated in BSC Subordinate Memorandum Purchase Order B001857CM2X. The scope of the surveillance will be an evaluation of the implementation of the ANL Quality Assurance Plan, YMP-02-001, Revision 5, dated 07/25/2001, and associated implementing documents in the areas of Procurement Document Control, Control of Purchased Items and Services, and Modeling Support. Daniel A. Klimas will perform the surveillance.

The tentative schedule of the surveillance is as follows and may be modified to accommodate completion of the surveillance:

Date	Monday, June 3, 2002
8:00 a.m.	Surveillance Opening Meeting Results of the Surveillance

The surveillance will be conducted in accordance with the latest revision of the Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management's Administrative Procedure (AP) AP-2.26Q, and any identified conditions adverse to quality will be reported in accordance with AP-16.1Q.

ANL's personnel are encouraged to immediately correct any identified conditions adverse to quality during the surveillance to prevent the need for future follow-up activities.

In addition, observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may accompany the Surveillance Team.



If you have any questions, please contact either Daniel A. Klimas (702) 295-2665 or Robert F. Hartstern (702) 295-2675.

Donald T. Krisha, Manager

Quality Assurance

RLM:bw-0528022796

## cc:

L. H. Barrett, DOE/HQ (RW-2) FORS G. K. Beall, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

James Blaylock, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Margaret Chu, DOE/HQ (RW-1) FORS

J. R. Dyer, DOE/YMSCO, Las Vegas, NV

Leonard Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Birdie Hamilton-Ray, DOE/YMSCO, Las Vegas, NV

R. F. Hartstern, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

Geneva Hollis, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

D. A. Klimas, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

D. T. Krisha, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

Josie Larson, White Pine County, Ely, NV

Robert Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

S. W. Lynch, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV

Ram Murthy, DOE/OQA, Las Vegas, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

Andrew Remus, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Judy Shankle, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD

Lola Stark, Lincoln County, Caliente, NV

D. D. vonderLinden, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

N. H. Williams, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

B. L. Wilson, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

## cc:

H. E. Adkins, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

R. W. Andrews, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

T. W. Doering, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

R. L. Maudlin, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

M. T. Peters, BSC/LANL, Las Vegas, NV

Roxanna VanDillen, BSC, Las Vegas, NV