



May 22, 2002

Dr. Peter L. Andresen, Sr. Scientist General Electric Corporate Research and Development Center 1 Research Circle Schenectady, NY 12309

NOTIFICATION AND AUDIT PLAN FOR BECHTEL SAIC COMPANY, LLC (BSC) QUALITY ASSURANCE (QA) SUPPLIER AUDIT BSC-SA-02-028 OF GENERAL ELECTRIC CORPORATE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT CENTER (GE)

BSC QA will conduct an audit of the GE facility in Schenectady, New York on June 25-26, 2002, to measure the effectiveness of the QA program implementation as delineated in BSC procurement documents. The scope of the audit will be an evaluation of the implementation of the GE Quality Assurance Program, Corrosion Program Revision 1.1, dated 12/20/1996, and associated implementing documents. Daniel A. Klimas, Audit Team Leader, and Robert D. Habbe, Audit Team Member, will conduct the audit.

The tentative schedule of the audit is as follows and may be modified to accommodate completion of the audit:

Date	Tuesday June 25, 2002
8:30 a.m. 4:00 p.m.	Pre-Audit Meeting Progress Report and Identification of Concerns
Date	Wednesday, June 26, 2002
8:30 a.m. 4:00 p.m.	Clarification Meeting (if required) Post-Audit Meeting

The audit will be conducted in accordance with the latest revision of the Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management's Administrative Procedure (AP) AP-18.2Q, and any identified conditions adverse to quality will be reported in accordance with AP-16.1Q.

A formal checklist will be utilized to document the areas addressed and the results of effectiveness. GE's personnel are encouraged to immediately correct any identified conditions adverse to quality during the audit to prevent the need for future follow-up activities.

DMS507

In addition, observers from the State of Nevada, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and other interested parties may accompany the Audit Team.

If you have any questions, please contact either Daniel A. Klimas at (702) 295-2665 or Robert F. Hartstern at (702) 295-2675.

Donald T. Krisha, Manager

Quality Assurance

DAK:bw-0522022742

## cc:

L. H. Barrett, DOE/HQ (RW-2) FORS

G. K. Beall, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

L. W. Bradshaw, Nye County, Pahrump, NV

Margaret Chu, DOE/HQ (RW-1) FORS

J. R. Dyer, DOE/YMSCO, Las Vegas, NV

Leonard Fiorenzi, Eureka County, Eureka, NV

Birdie Hamilton-Ray, DOE/YMSCO, Las Vegas, NV

Geneva Hollis, Nye County, Tonopah, NV

Alan Kalt, Churchill County, Fallon, NV

D. A. Klimas, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

D. T. Krisha, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

Josie Larson, White Pine County, Ely, NV

Robert Latta, NRC, Las Vegas, NV

R. R. Loux, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

S. W. Lynch, State of Nevada, Carson City, NV

George McCorkell, Esmeralda County, Goldfield, NV

Mifflin and Associates, Las Vegas, NV

Ram Murthy, DOE/OQA, Las Vegas, NV

Irene Navis, Clark County, Las Vegas, NV

Andrew Remus, County of Inyo, Independence, CA

Judy Shankle, Mineral County, Hawthorne, NV

N. K. Stablein, NRC, Rockville, MD

Lola Stark, Lincoln County, Caliente, NV

D. D. vonderLinden, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

N. H. Williams, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

B. L. Wilson, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

Mickey Yarbro, Lander County, Battle Mountain, NV

## cc:

R. W. Andrews, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

T. W. Doering, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

J. C. Estill, BSC/LLNL, Livermore, CA

G. M. Gordon, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

R. D. Habbe, BSC, Las Vegas, NV

Tammy Summers, BSC/LLNL, Livermore, CA

C. C. Warren, BSC/LLNL, Livermore, CA