May 31, 2002

Mr. Howard Bergendahl Vice President - Nuclear, Davis-Besse FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station 5501 North State Route 2 Oak Harbor, OH 43449-9760

Dear Mr. Bergendahl:

This letter confirms the discussion between members of our staffs to discuss plant performance and plans for restart of the Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station, as part of the implementation of NRC's Inspection Manual Chapter (IMC) 0350, "Oversight of Operating Reactor Facilities in a Shutdown Condition with Performance Problems." The meeting will be held Wednesday, June 12, 2002, from 3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m at the Oak Harbor High School Auditorium. This meeting is open to the public.

The IMC 0350 panel will also be conducting a separate meeting beginning at 7:00 p.m. with the local public at the Oak Harbor High School Auditorium to present the status of the NRC's activities in these areas and to answer any questions from members of the public.

We will gladly discuss any questions you may have concerning this matter.

Sincerely,

## /RA/

Christine A. Lipa, Chief Branch 4 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket No. 50-346 License No. NPF-3

See Attached Distribution

## **See Previous Concurrences**

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\ORPCheckout\FileNET\ML021540167.wpd

OFFICE	RIII	RIII	RIII
NAME	LCollins:dtp	CLipa	JGrobe
DATE	05/30/02	05/30/02	05/31/02

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

## H. Bergendahl

cc w/encls: B. Saunders, President - FENOC Plant Manager Manager - Regulatory Affairs M. O'Reilly, FirstEnergy State Liaison Officer, State of Ohio R. Owen, Ohio Department of Health **Ohio Public Utilities Commission** C. Emahiser, Ottawa County Sheriff J. P. Greer, Director, Emergency Management Agency S. Isenberg, President, Lucas County Board of Commissioners J. Telb, Lucas County Sheriff B. Halsey, Director, Emergency Management Agency G. Adams, Village Administrator, Genoa The Honorable Robert Purney The Honorable Lowell C. Krumnow The Honorable Joseph Verkin The Honorable Thomas Leaser The Honorable Jack Ford The Honorable Thomas Brown C. Koebel, President, Ottawa County **Board of Commissioners** The Honorable Joe Ihnat INPO

## H. Bergendahl

cc w/encls: B. Saunders, President - FENOC Plant Manager Manager - Regulatory Affairs M. O'Reilly, FirstEnergy State Liaison Officer, State of Ohio R. Owen, Ohio Department of Health **Ohio Public Utilities Commission** C. Emahiser, Ottawa County Sheriff J. P. Greer, Director, Emergency Management Agency S. Isenberg, President, Lucas County Board of Commissioners J. Telb, Lucas County Sheriff B. Halsey, Director, Emergency Management Agency G. Adams, Village Administrator, Genoa The Honorable Robert Purney The Honorable Lowell C. Krumnow The Honorable Joseph Verkin The Honorable Thomas Leaser The Honorable Jack Ford The Honorable Thomas Brown C. Koebel, President, Ottawa County **Board of Commissioners** The Honorable Joe Ihnat INPO

ADAMS Distribution:

DFT RidsNrrDipmlipb J. Caldwell, RIII B. Clayton, RIII R. Lickus, RIII DRPIII DRSIII PLB1 JRK1 DB0350