## Ohio Department of Health

246 North High Street Post Office Box 118 Columbus, Ohio 43216-0118

Telephone: (614) 466-3543 www.odh.state.oh.us



BOB TAFT Governor

J. NICK BAIRD, M.D. Director of Health 50-334/412 50-440/441 50-346

MAY 0 7 2002

Kathy Halvey Gibson Chief Emergency Preparedness and Health Physics Section US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Dear Ms.Gibson:

I am writing to request Potassium Iodide for use by the general population in Ohio that is in the 10 mile emergency planning zone (EPZ) for the following nuclear power plants:

- 1. Beaver Valley Nuclear Power Plant--The population in the 10-mile Emergency planning zone Ohio is responsible for is in Columbiana County Ohio and the city of East Liverpool, Ohio. The base residential population is 12,850. The population associated with schools is 2,400. The population associated with transient population is 5,000. The population associated with employers is 1,000. The total population requested for the Ohio portion of the Beaver Valley EPZ is 21,250.
- 2. Perry Nuclear Power Plant—The population Ohio is responsible for is in Lake County, Geauga County, and Ashtabula County. The base residential population is 82,100. The population associated with schools is 17,700. The population associated with transients is 100,000. The population associated with employers is 1,000. The total population requested for the Perry EPZ is 200,800.
- Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station--The population Ohio is responsible for is in Ottawa County and Lucas County. The base residential population is 23,000. The population associated with schools is 5,500. The population associated with transients is 65,000. The population associated with employers is 3,500. The total population requested for the Davis-Besse EPZ is 97,000.
- 4. The total population request for the State of Ohio for Potassium Iodide is 319,500.

Based on the information provided by NRC, we understand that the Potassium Iodide requested will be delivered to Ohio within the next forty-five days. The individual designated to receive the Potassium Iodide on behalf of the state of Ohio is Roger L. Suppes. The Potassium Iodide should be shipped to the Ohio Department of Health, 246 N. High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43215 attn. Roger L. Suppes. If you have any questions regarding this request, please contact Roger L. Suppes, Chief, Bureau of Radiation Protection at 614-644-2727.

J. Nick Baird, MD, Director of Health

CF: Carol O'Claire, State Liaison Officer
Roger L. Suppes, Bureau of Radiation Protection
Ashtabula County Health Commissioner, Ray Saporito

Add: Kothy Gibson

Ashtabula County EMA Director, Ed Somppi
Columbiana County Health Commissioner, Bob Morehead
Columbiana County EMA Director, Jay Carter
East Liverpool City Health Commissioner, Gary Ryan
Geauga County Health Commissioner, Robert Weisdack
Geauga County EMA Director, Dale B. Wedge
Lake County Health Commissioner, Joel Lucia
Lake County EMA Director, Robert Archer
Lucas County Health Commissioner, David Grossman, MD
Ottawa County Health Commissioner, Nancy Osborn
Ottawa County EMA Director James Greer