MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief

High-Level Waste Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: Jeffrey A. Ciocco, Project Manager /RA/

Projects and Engineering Section

High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE ON THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN REVIEW PLAN, REVISION 2, DRAFT

REPORT FOR COMMENT

DATE/TIME: June 4, 2002

9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (PT)

LOCATION: U.S. Department of Energy

Conference Room 915 9960 Covington Cross Drive Las Vegas, Nevada 89144

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 702-295-6082

PURPOSE: Discuss DOE's questions and comments on the Yucca Mountain Review

Plan, Revision 2, Draft Report For Comment

AGENDA: See attached

PARTICIPANTS: NRC DOE Nevada NV Counties

JSchlueter TGunter SFrishman INavis JCiocco SMorris et al. et. al.

et. al. et. al.

^{*} Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public," 65 Federal Register 56964, dated September 20, 2000. The revised policy states that public notice of staff meetings open to the public will be provided via the Internet at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Web site. Members of the public can also contact the staff toll free at 1-800-397-4209.

Memorandum to J. Schlueter from J. Ciocco dated May 15, 2002 cc: R. Loux, State of Nevada R. Massey, Lander County, NV S. Frishman, State of Nevada L. Stark, Lincoln County, NV M. Chu, DOE/Washington, DC M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV L. Barrett, DOE/Washington, DC A. Funk, Mineral County, NV C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC J. Shankle, Mineral County, NV

S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, DC	L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV	
N. Slater, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Murphy, Nye County, NV	
C. Newbury, YMPO	J. McKnight, Nye County, NV	

R. Dyer, YMPO	D. Weigel, GAO	
J. Ziegler, YMPO	W. Barnard, NWTRB	

R. Murthy, YMPO R. Holden, NCAI S. Mellington, YMPO A. Collins, NIEC

S. Mellington, YMPO
A. Collins, NIEC
C. Hanlon, YMPO
R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe
T. Gunter, YMPO
J. Larson, White Pine County
K. Hess, BSC
R. Clark, EPA

D. Krisha, BSC F. Marcinowski, EPA
S. Cereghin, BSC R. Anderson, NEI
N. Williams, BSC R. McCullum, NEI

N. Williams, BSC R. McCullum, NEI
M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC S. Kraft, NEI

D. Beckman, BSC/B&A
 J. Kessler, EPRI
 B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee
 D. Duncan, USGS
 J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau
 R. Craig, USGS

I. Navis, Clark County, NV W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD
E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc

A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV
 S. Echols
 G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV
 N. Rice, NV Congressional Delegation
 T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation
 A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV
 J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation

A. Remus, Inyo County, CA S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation

M. Yarbro, Lander County, NVJ. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NVI. Zabarte, W.S.N.C.R. Bahe, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Anderson, Las Vegas Paiute TribeJ. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone TribeC. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern PaiutesR. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

- L. Jackson, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- V. Miller, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- A. Bacock, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- R. Quintero, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada (Chairman, Walker River Paiute Tribe)
- M. Bengochia, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan & Associates, PLLC
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell

- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- J. Charles, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada
- H. Blackeye, Jr., Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- D. Eddy, Jr. Colorado River Indian Tribes
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- G. Runkle, DOE, Washington, DC

DRAFT AGENDA

NRC/DOE Technical Exchange on Yucca Mountain Review Plan, Revision 2, Draft Report for Comment June 4, 2002

9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (PT) Conference Room 915 9960 Covington Cross Drive Las Vegas, Nevada 89144

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE BY TELECON BY CALLING 702-295-6082

9:00 a.m. 9:10 a.m.	INTRODUCTION Comments form Observers	NRC/DOE Others
9:20 a.m.	YMRP General Information, Sections 1, 2, 3 - DOE Comments - NRC Response	NRC/DOE
10:00 a.m.	Break	
10:15 a.m.	YMRP Section 4.1 - DOE Comments - NRC Response	NRC/DOE
11:00 a.m.	YMRP Section 4.2 - DOE Comments - NRC Response	NRC/DOE
11:45 a.m.	Morning Discussion Summary	NRC/DOE
Noon	Lunch	
1:30 p.m.	YMRP Sections 4.3 and 4.4 - DOE Comments - NRC Response	NRC/DOE
2:15 p.m.	YMRP Section 4.5 - DOE Comments - NRC Response	NRC/DOE
3:00 p.m.	Break	
3:15 p.m.	Discussion Regarding the YMRP Table of Contents - DOE Comments - NRC Response	NRC/DOE
4:00 p.m.	NRC Feedback to date	NRC
4:15 p.m.	Schedule for YMRP Rev 3	NRC/DOE
4:30 p.m. 5:00 p.m.	Meeting Summary ADJOURN	NRC

MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter. Chief

High-Level Waste Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: Jeffrey A. Ciocco, Project Manager

Projects and Engineering Section

High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE ON THE YUCCA MOUNTAIN REVIEW PLAN, REVISION 2, DRAFT

REPORT FOR COMMENT

DATE/TIME: June 4, 2002

9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (PT)

LOCATION: U.S. Department of Energy

Conference Room 915 9960 Covington Cross Drive Las Vegas, Nevada 89144

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 702-295-6082

PURPOSE: Discuss DOE's questions and comments on the Yucca Mountain Review

Plan, Revision 2, Draft Report For Comment

AGENDA: See attached

PARTICIPANTS: NRC DOE Nevada NV Counties

JSchlueter TGunter SFrishman INavis JCiocco SMorris et al. et. al.

et. al. et. al.

DISTRIBUTION:

FILE CENTER HLWB r/f DWM r/f **ACNW PUBLIC OSRs** LSN CNWRA CWReamer **TEssig** SWastler **BSpitzberg** WMaier LChandler **DDambly MYoung** SGagner **CAbrams** TMcCartin JAndersen

S:\DWM\HLWB\gdh1\MeetingNotices\060402TEonYMRP.wpd ML021350581

OFFICE	HLWB*	HLWB*	HLWB*	
NAME	DHiggs	JCiocco	NKStablein	
DATE	05/15/02	05/15/02	05/15/02	

^{*} Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public," 65 Federal Register 56964, dated September 20, 2000. The revised policy states that public notice of staff meetings open to the public will be provided via the Internet at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Web site. Members of the public can also contact the staff toll free at 1-800-397-4209.