Mr. Joseph Ziegler, Acting Assistant Manager of Licensing and Regulatory Compliance Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy P.O. Box 364629, MS 523 North Las Vegas, NV 89036-8629

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE APRIL 19, 2002, MANAGEMENT MEETING

Dear Mr. Ziegler:

Enclosed is the meeting summary of the April 19, 2002, Management Meeting between the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to discuss the status of various management and programmatic issues concerning Yucca Mountain, Nevada. The meeting minutes consist of the meeting minutes summary; agenda; attendance list; OCRWM Concerns Program Update; Status of KTI Agreement Items; and Action Items.

The meeting was held at the DOE office in Las Vegas, Nevada, and via video conference to the NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland, and DOE office in Washington, DC, and via telecon to the NRC Region IV office in Arlington, Texas; and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas.

If you have any questions regarding the enclosed meeting minutes, please contact Ted Carter of my staff at (301) 415-6684.

Sincerely, /RA/

Janet R. Schlueter, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosures: Management Meeting summary

cc: See attached list

Letter to J. Ziegler from J. Schlueter dated	lay 3, 2002				
cc: R. Loux, State of Nevada	R. Massey, Lander County, NV				
S. Frishman, State of Nevada	L. Stark, Lincoln County, NV				
M. Chu, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV				
L. Barrett, DOE/Washington, DC	A. Funk, Mineral County, NV				
C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC	J. Shankle, Mineral County, NV				
S. Gomberg, DOE/Washington, DC	L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV				
N. Slater, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Murphy, Nye County, NV				
A. Gil, YMPO	J. McKnight, Nye County, NV				
R. Dyer, YMPO	D. Weigel, GAO				
S. Brocoum, YMPO	W. Barnard, NWTRB				
R. Murthy, YMPO	R. Holden, NCAI				
S. Mellington, YMPO	A. Collins, NIEC				
C. Hanlon, YMPO	R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe				
T. Gunter, YMPO	J. Larson, White Pine County				
K. Hess, BSC	R. Clark, EPA				
D. Krisha, BSC	F. Marcinowski, EPA				
S. Cereghin, BSC	R. Anderson, NEI				
N. Williams, BSC	R. McCullum, NEI				
M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC	S. Kraft, NEI				
D. Beckman, BSC/B&A	J. Kessler, EPRI				
B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee	D. Duncan, USGS				
J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau	R. Craig, USGS				
I. Navis, Clark County, NV	W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD				
E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV	L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc				
A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV	S. Echols				
G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV	N. Rice, NV Congressional Delegation				
L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV	T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation				
A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV	J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation				
A. Remus, Inyo County, CA	S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation				
M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV	J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV				

- I. Zabarte, W.S.N.C.
- C. Anderson, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe
- L. Jackson, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- V. Miller, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- A. Bacock, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- R. Quintero, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada (Chairman, Walker River Paiute Tribe)
- M. Bengochia, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan & Associates, PLLC
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell

- R. Bahe, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe
- C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes
- R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- J. Charles, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada
- H. Blackeye, Jr., Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- D. Eddy, Jr. Colorado River Indian Tribes
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center

Mr. Joseph Ziegler, Acting Assistant Manager of Licensing and Regulatory Compliance Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy P.O. Box 364629, MS 523 North Las Vegas, NV 89036-8629

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE APRIL 19, 2002, MANAGEMENT MEETING

Dear Mr. Ziegler:

Enclosed is the meeting summary of the April 19, 2002, Management Meeting between the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to discuss the status of various management and programmatic issues concerning Yucca Mountain, Nevada. The meeting minutes consist of the meeting minutes summary; agenda; attendance list; OCRWM Concerns Program Update; Status of KTI Agreement Items; and Action Items.

The meeting was held at the DOE office in Las Vegas, Nevada, and via video conference to the NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland, and DOE office in Washington, DC, and via telecon to the NRC Region IV office in Arlington, Texas; and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas.

If you have any questions regarding the enclosed meeting minutes, please contact Ted Carter of my staff at (301) 415-6684.

Sincerely,

Janet R. Schlueter, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: Management Meeting summary

cc: See attached list

DISTRIBUTION:

DPC LSN TEssig	HLWB r/f CNWRA SWastler		DWM r/f CWReam BSpitzberg		ACNW JSchleuter WMaier, RIV	PUBLIC KStablein LChandler		OSRs DBrooks DDambly		
MYoung	DHiggs	CAbrams 2MgmtMtgMinutes		Acampbell	AUI	_GS	DDambiy			
OFFICE			HLWB		HLWB	HLWB				
NAME	DHiggs* TCa		TCarter*	rter*		NKStablein*		JRSchlueter*		
DATE	05/03/02		05/03 /02		05/03/02	05/03/02				

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY