Mr. R. Anderson Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Management Company, LLC 700 First Street Hudson, WI 54016

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS THE CURRENT STATUS AND ISSUES FOR

THE SIX PLANTS IN THE NUCLEAR MANAGEMENT COMPANY

Dear Mr. Anderson:

On April 18, 2002, Mr. J. Dyer, Regional Administrator of NRC Region III, and members of his staff met with you and Messrs. Cowan and Weinkam of your staff in the Region III office in Lisle, Illinois. The purpose of the meeting was to discuss the current status and issues for the six plants that are part of the Nuclear Management Company.

At this meeting, you and your staff presented your assessment of the six plants in the Nuclear Management Company. The assessment included a rating of each plant in eight categories: Engineering, Maintenance, Work Management, Equipment Performance, Unit Operations, Nuclear Oversight, Organizational Effectiveness, and Leadership. Within most of these categories, there were subcategories that were also rated. Your assessment method appeared to be an effective means for you and other senior NMC officials to gauge the performance of the important functional areas at each of the six plants. We appreciated the opportunity at the meeting to review the results of your efforts.

Enclosed is the list of NRC personnel who attended the meeting. In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and the enclosure will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records System (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html">http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</a> (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

R. Anderson -2-

Please contact me at (630) 829-9631 if you have any questions about this meeting.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Roger D. Lanksbury, Chief Branch 5 Division of Reactor Projects

Enclosure: List of NRC Attendees

Docket Nos. 50-305, 50-266, 50-301, 50-282, 50-306, 50-263, 50-331, 50-255 License Nos. DPR-43, DPR-24, DPR-27, DPR-42, DPR-60, DPR-22, DPR-49, DPR-20

cc w/encl: M. Warner, Site Vice President, Kewaunee

and Point Beach Nuclear Plants T. Coutu, Manager, Kewaunee Plant

D. Graham, Director, Bureau of Field Operations Chairman, Wisconsin Public Service Commission

State Liaison Officer

R. Grigg, President and Chief Operating Officer, WEPCo T. Webb, Licensing Manager

D. Weaver, Nuclear Asset Manager

T. Taylor, Plant Manager A. Cayia, Site Director

J. O'Neill, Jr., Shaw, Pittman,

Potts & Trowbridge

K. Duveneck, Town Chairman

Town of Two Creeks

A. Bie, Chairperson, Wisconsin Public Service Commission S. Jenkins, Electric Division

Wisconsin Public Service Commission

M. Nazar, Site Vice-President,

Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant

## See Continued Distribution

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\Branch 5\NMCmeetingsum.wpd

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box:"C" = Copy without enclosure "E" = Copy with enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	RIII	RIII	RIII	
NAME	MKunowski:dtp	RLanksbury	GGrant	
DATE	05/01/02	05/01/02	05/01/02	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

# **Distribution Continued**

Plant Manager, Prairie Island

Site Licensing Manager

Nuclear Asset Manager

J. Malcolm, Commissioner, Minnesota

Department of Health

State Liaison Officer, State of Wisconsin

Tribal Council, Prairie Island Indian Community

J. Silberg, Esquire

Shawn, Pittman, Potts, and Trowbridge

A. Neblett, Assistant Attorney General

Office of the Attorney General

S. Bloom, Administrator

Goodhue County Courthouse

Commissioner, Minnesota Department

of Commerce

J. Forbes, Site Vice-President,

Monticello Nuclear Generating Plant

J. Purkis, Plant Manager

Nuclear Asset Manager

Site Licensing Manager

Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Health

J. Silberg, Esquire

Shaw, Pittman, Potts, and Trowbridge

R. Nelson, President

Minnesota Environmental Control Citizens

Association (MECCA)

Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

D. Gruber, Auditor/Treasurer

Wright County Government Center

Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Commerce

A. Neblett, Assistant Attorney General

G. Van Middlesworth, Site Vice-President,

**Duane Arnold Energy Center** 

E. Protsch, Executive Vice President -

Energy Delivery, Alliant;

President, IES Utilities, Inc.

Robert G. Anderson, Plant Manager

State Liaison Officer

Chairperson, Iowa Utilities Board

The Honorable Charles W. Larson, Jr.

Iowa State Representative

# See Continued Distribution

# **Distribution Continued**

D. Cooper, Site Vice President, Palisades Nuclear Plant

R. Fenech, Senior Vice President, Nuclear

Fossil and Hydro Operations

L. Lahti, Manager, Licensing

A. Udrys, Esquire, Consumers Energy Company

S. Wawro, Nuclear Asset Director, Consumers Energy Company

W. Rendell, Supervisor, Covert Township

Office of the Governor

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

Department of Attorney General (MI)

R. Anderson

- 5 -

# **ADAMS Distribution**

WDR

DFT

JGL1

BAW

TJK3

SXM1

BLM

DSH

 $Rids Nrr Dipm \\ Iipb$ 

GEG

HBC

JFL

PGK1

SPR

SXB3

PFP

JAL3

DRPIII

**DRSIII** 

PLB1

JRK1

### **Enclosure**

# NRC Attendees

J. E. Dyer Regional Administrator

J. L. Caldwell Deputy Regional Administrator

G. E. Grant Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

S. A. Reynolds Deputy Director, DRP

J. A. Grobe Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS)

R. D. Lanksbury Chief, Branch 5 (Prairie Island, Point Beach, Kewaunee), DRP

J. R. Creed Safeguards Manager, DRS

R. N. Gardner Chief, Engineering Branch, DRS

G. C. Wright Project Engineer, Branch 2 (Duane Arnold, Monticello), DRP

D. Passehl Project Engineer, Branch 6 (Palisades), DRP

M. Castanedo Reactor Engineer, Branch 5, DRP

M. A. Kunowski Project Engineer, Branch 5, DRP

R.V. Schmitt Radiation Specialist, DRS

V. Mitlyng Public Affairs Officer, RIII