April 10, 2002

MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief

High-Level Waste Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: Manny Comar, Project Manager /RA/

**Projects and Engineering Section** 

High-Level Waste Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION AND

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY MANAGEMENT MEETING

(REVISED TO INCLUDE AGENDA)

DATE/TIME: April 19, 2002

8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (PT) 11:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. (ET)

LOCATION: BSC

Room 915

9960 Covington Cross

Las Vegas, NV

And via video conference to:

U.S. Department of Energy U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Forrestal Building Conference Room T-2B5
Room 7F-091 11545 Rockville Pike
1000 Independence Ave, SW Rockville, MD 20852

Washington, DC 20585

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 702-295-6081

PURPOSE: Discuss management issues, describe progress in program, discuss

management concerns

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS: NRC DOE Nevada NV Counties

JGreeves MChu SFrishman INavis BReamer LBarrett et. al. et. al.

et. al. ABrownstein

et. al.

<sup>\*</sup> Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public," 65 Federal Register 56964, dated September 20, 2000. The revised policy states that public notice of staff meetings open to the public will be provided via the Internet at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Web site. Members of the public can also contact the staff toll free at 1-800-397-4209. Memorandum to J. Schlueter from M. Comar dated April 10, 2002

CC:

R. Loux, State of Nevada

S. Frishman, State of Nevada

M. Chu, DOE/Washington, DC

L. Barrett, DOE/Washington, DC

A. Brownstein, DOE/Washington, DC

S. Hanauer, DOE/Washington, DC

C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC

J. Carlson, DOE/Washington, DC

N. Slater, DOE/Washington, DC

A. Gil, YMPO

R. Dyer, YMPO

S. Brocoum, YMPO

R. Davis, YMPO

S. Mellington, YMPO

C. Hanlon, YMPO

T. Gunter, YMPO

K. Hess, BSC

D. Krisha, BSC

S. Cereghina, BSC

N. Williams, BSC

M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC

D. Beckman, BSC/B&A

B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

I. Navis, Clark County, NV

E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV

A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV

G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV

L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV

A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV

A. Remus, Inyo County, CA

M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV

I. Zabarte, W.S.N.C.

R. Massey, Lander County, NV

L. Stark, Lincoln County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV

A. Funk, Mineral County, NV

J. Shankle, Mineral County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

J. McKnight, Nye County, NV

D. Weigel, GAO

W. Barnard, NWTRB

R. Holden, NCAI

A. Collins, NIEC

R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe

J. Larson, White Pine County

R. Clark, EPA

F. Marcinowski, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

R. Craig, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc

S. Echols

N. Rice, NV Congressional Delegation

T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation

J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation

S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation

J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV

R. Bahe, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes

R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe

- C. Anderson, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe
- L. Jackson, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- V. Miller, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- A. Bacock, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- R. Quintero, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada (Chairman, Walker River Paiute Tribe)
- M. Bengochia, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan & Associates, PLLC

- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- J. Charles, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada
- H. Blackeye, Jr., Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- D. Eddy, Jr. Colorado River Indian Tribes
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell

# Agenda

### DOE/NRC Quarterly Management Meeting April 19, 2002

8:30AM- 12:30 PM (PT) 11:30PM - 3:30 PM (ET)

## BSC Room 915 9960 Covington Cross Las Vegas, NV

### And via video conference to:

U.S. Department of Energy Forrestal Building, Room 7F-091 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Conference Room T-2B5 11545 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

### INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 702-295-6081

8:30 am	Introductions	All
8:40 am	<ul><li>DOE Program / Project Update</li><li>Program Update</li><li>Project Update</li></ul>	DOE Chu Dyer
9:20 am	NRC Program Update	NRC
9:40 am	LA Planning Status	Brocoum
10:00 am	OCRWM Management Improvement Initiative	Ziegler
10:45 am	OCRWM Concerns Program Update	Dyer
11:15 am	QA Management Issues	DOE/NRC
11:45 am	Status of KTI Agreement Items	Brocoum
12:00 noon	Action Item Status	DOE/NRC
12:15 pm	Closing Remarks	All
12:30 pm	Adjourn	

April 10, 2002

MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief

High-Level Waste Branch
Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

FROM: Manny Comar, Project Manager /RA/

Projects and Engineering Section

High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION AND U.S.

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY MANAGEMENT MEETING (REVISED TO

INCLUDE AGENDA)

DATE/TIME: April 19, 2002

8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. (PT) 11:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. (ET)

LOCATION: BSC

Room 915

9960 Covington Cross

Las Vegas, NV

And via video conference to:

U.S. Department of Energy U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Forrestal Building Conference Room T-2B5
Room 7F-091 11545 Rockville Pike
1000 Independence Ave, SW Rockville, MD 20852

Washington, DC 20585

#### INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 702-295-6081

PURPOSE: Discuss management issues, describe progress in program, discuss

management concerns

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS: NRC DOE Nevada NV Counties

JGreeves MChu SFrishman INavis BReamer LBarrett et. al. et. al.

et. al. ABrownstein

et. al.

#### **DISTRIBUTION:**

File Center	JGreeves	CWReamer	JSchleuter	HLWB r/f	ACNW
PUBLIC	OSR	CNWRA	LSN	LChandler	DDambly
MYoung	ACampbell	TEssig	SWastler	SGagner	LChandler
BSpitzberg	WMaier RIV	CAbrams	AULGS	PMNS	<b>FCameron</b>

**REPRO** 

S:\DWM\HLWB\gdh1\MeetingNotices\04192QAMgmtMtgRevised.wpd ML021000679

OFFICE	HLWB	HLWB	HLWB	
NAME	DHiggs	MComar	NKStablein	
DATE	04/09/02	04/10 /02	04/10/02	

<sup>\*</sup> Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public," 65 Federal Register 56964, dated September 20, 2000. The revised policy states that public notice of staff meetings open to the public will be provided via the Internet at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Web site. Members of the public can also contact the staff toll free at 1-800-397-4209.