April 4, 2002

Mr. R. Anderson Chief Nuclear Officer Nuclear Management Company, LLC 700 First Street Hudson, WI 54016

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS THE CURRENT STATUS AND ISSUES FOR

THE SIX PLANTS IN THE NUCLEAR MANAGEMENT COMPANY

Dear Mr. Anderson:

This letter confirms the discussion between Mike Kunowski of the Region III staff and Ed Weinkam of your staff to have a routine management meeting at the Region III office at 801 Warrenville, Lisle, IL 60532, at 2:00 p.m. (CDT) on Thursday, April 18, 2002. The purpose of this meeting is to discuss the current status and issues for the six plants that are part of the Nuclear Management Company. This meeting will be open for public observation.

We will gladly discuss any questions you may have concerning this matter.

Sincerely,

/RA by Michael Kunowski Acting for/

Roger Lanksbury, Chief Branch 5 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket Nos. 50-305, 50-266, 50-301, 50-282, 50-306, 50-263, 50-331, 50-255 License Nos. DPR-43, DPR-24, DPR-27, DPR-42, DPR-60, DPR-22, DPR-49, DPR-20

See Attached Distribution

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\Branch 5\ML020940765.wpd

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box:"C" = Copy without enclosure "E"= Copy with enclosure"N"= No copy

OFFICE	RIII	RIII		RIII	RIII	
NAME	MKunowski	RLanksbury		BBurgess	TVegel	
DATE	04/04/02	04/04/02	•	04/04/02	04/04/02	

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

cc: M. Warner, Site Vice President, Kewaunee and Point Beach Nuclear Plants

T. Coutu, Manager, Kewaunee Plant

D. Graham, Director, Bureau of Field Operations Chairman, Wisconsin Public Service Commission

State Liaison Officer

R. Grigg, President and Chief Operating Officer, WEPCo

T. Webb, Licensing Manager

D. Weaver, Nuclear Asset Manager

T. Taylor, Plant Manager

A. Cayia, Site Director

J. O'Neill, Jr., Shaw, Pittman,

Potts & Trowbridge

K. Duveneck, Town Chairman

Town of Two Creeks

A. Bie, Chairperson, Wisconsin

Public Service Commission

S. Jenkins, Electric Division

Wisconsin Public Service Commission M. Nazar, Site Vice-President,

Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant

Plant Manager, Prairie Island

Site Licensing Manager

Nuclear Asset Manager

J. Malcolm, Commissioner, Minnesota

Department of Health

State Liaison Officer, State of Wisconsin

Tribal Council, Prairie Island Indian Community

J. Silberg, Esquire

Shawn, Pittman, Potts, and Trowbridge

A. Neblett, Assistant Attorney General

Office of the Attorney General

S. Bloom, Administrator

Goodhue County Courthouse

Commissioner, Minnesota Department

of Commerce

J. Forbes, Site Vice-President,

Monticello Nuclear Generating Plant

J. Purkis, Plant Manager

Nuclear Asset Manager

Site Licensing Manager

Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Health

J. Silberg, Esquire

Shaw, Pittman, Potts, and Trowbridge

R. Nelson, President

Minnesota Environmental Control Citizens

Association (MECCA)

Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

D. Gruber, Auditor/Treasurer

Wright County Government Center

Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Commerce

A. Neblett, Assistant Attorney General

G. Van Middlesworth, Site Vice-President,

Duane Arnold Energy Center

E. Protsch, Executive Vice President -

Energy Delivery, Alliant;

President, IES Utilities, Inc.

Robert G. Anderson, Plant Manager

State Liaison Officer

Chairperson, Iowa Utilities Board

The Honorable Charles W. Larson, Jr.

Iowa State Representative

D. Cooper, Site Vice President,

Palisades Nuclear Plant

R. Fenech, Senior Vice President, Nuclear

Fossil and Hydro Operations

L. Lahti, Manager, Licensing

A. Udrys, Esquire, Consumers Energy Company

S. Wawro, Nuclear Asset Director, Consumers Energy Company

W. Rendell, Supervisor, Covert Township

Office of the Governor

Michigan Department of Environmental Quality

Department of Attorney General (MI)

ADAMS Distribution

WDR

DFT

JGL1

BAW

TJK3

SXM1

BLM

DSH

RidsNrrDipmlipb

GEG

HBC

JFL

PGK1

SPR

SXB3

PFP

JAL3

DRPIII

DRSIII

PLB1

JRK1