March 22, 2002

**MEMORANDUM TO:** Janet R. Schlueter, Chief

> High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety

and Safeguards

FROM: James W. Andersen, Project Manager

Projects and Engineering Section

High-Level Waste Branch

Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety

and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE

/RA/

ON THE PRECLOSURE SAFETY ANALYSIS GUIDE

DATE/TIME of MEETING: April 25 - 26, 2002 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (ET)

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

> Conference room O-4B6 11555 Rockville Pike

Rockville, Maryland 20852

INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 301-231-5536. PASSCODE 5351#

PURPOSE: Discuss DOE's Preclosure Safety Analysis Guide.

AGENDA: Attached

PARTICIPANTS: **NRC** DOE Nevada **NV Counties** 

AGil **INavis** JSchlueter SFrishman JAndersen TGunter et al. et al.

et al. PHarrington

DHaught et al.

\* Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public," 65 Federal Register 56964, dated September 20, 2000. The revised policy states that public notice of staff meetings open to the public will be provided via the Internet at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Web site. Members of the public can also contact the staff toll free at 1-800-397-4209.

CC:

R. Loux, State of Nevada

S. Frishman, State of Nevada

L. Barrett, DOE/Washington, DC

A. Brownstein, DOE/Washington, DC

S. Hanauer, DOE/Washington, DC

C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC

J. Carlson, DOE/Washington, DC

N. Slater, DOE/Washington, DC

A. Gil, YMPO

R. Dyer, YMPO

S. Brocoum, YMPO

R. Davis, YMPO

S. Mellington, YMPO

C. Hanlon, YMPO

T. Gunter, YMPO

K. Hess, BSC

D. Krisha, BSC

S. Cereghina, BSC

N. Williams, BSC

M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC

D. Beckman, BSC/B&A

B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

I. Navis, Clark County, NV

E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV

A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV

G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV

L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV

A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV

A. Remus, Inyo County, CA

M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV

R. Massey, Lander County, NV

L. Stark, Lincoln County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV

A. Funk, Mineral County, NV

J. Shankle, Mineral County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

J. McKnight, Nye County, NV

D. Weigel, GAO

W. Barnard, NWTRB

R. Holden, NCAI

A. Collins, NIEC

R. Arnold, Pahrump Paiute Tribe

J. Larson, White Pine County

R. Clark, EPA

F. Marcinowski, EPA

R. Anderson, NEI

R. McCullum, NEI

S. Kraft, NEI

J. Kessler, EPRI

D. Duncan, USGS

R. Craig, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc

S. Echols

N. Rice, NV Congressional Delegation

T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation

J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation

S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation

J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV

R. Bahe, Benton Paiute Indian Tribe

- I. Zabarte, W.S.N.C.
- C. Anderson, Las Vegas Paiute Tribe
- J. Birchim, Yomba Shoshone Tribe
- L. Jackson, Timbisha Shoshone Tribe
- C. Meyers, Moapa Paiute Indian Tribe
- V. Miller, Fort Independence Indian Tribe
- A. Bacock, Big Pine Paiute Tribe of the Owens Valley
- R. Quintero, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada (Chairman, Walker River Paiute Tribe)
- M. Bengochia, Bishop Paiute Indian Tribe
- J. Egan, Egan & Associates, PLLC

- C. Bradley, Kaibab Band of Southern Paiutes
- R. Joseph, Lone Pine Paiute-Shoshone Tribe
- L. Tom, Paiute Indian Tribes of Utah
- E. Smith, Chemehuevi Indian Tribe
- J. Charles, Ely Shoshone Tribe
- D. Crawford, Inter-Tribal Council of Nevada
- H. Blackeye, Jr., Duckwater Shoshone Tribe
- D. Eddy, Jr. Colorado River Indian Tribes
- J. Leeds, Las Vegas Indian Center
- W. Briggs, Ross, Dixon & Bell

March 22, 2002

MEMORANDUM TO: Janet R. Schlueter, Chief

High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety

and Safeguards

FROM: James W. Andersen, Project Manager

Projects and Engineering Section

High-Level Waste Branch
Division of Waste Management
Office of Nuclear Material Safety

and Safeguards

SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

AND U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE

/RA/

ON THE PRECLOSURE SAFETY ANALYSIS GUIDE

DATE/TIME of MEETING: April 25 - 26, 2002 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. (ET)

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Conference room O-4B6 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852

# INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 301-231-5536, PASSCODE 5351#

PURPOSE: Discuss DOE's Preclosure Safety Analysis Guide.

Agenda: Attached

PARTICIPANTS: NRC DOE Nevada NV Counties

JSchlueter AGil SFrishman INavis JAndersen TGunter et al. et al.

et al. PHarrington

DHaught et al.

### **DISTRIBUTION:**

FILE CENTER HLWB r/f DWM r/f ACNW PUBLIC LSN CNWRA CWReamer TEssig SWastler ACampbell CAbrams WMaier LChandler DDambly

MYoung SGagner OSRs BSpitzberg

S:\DWM\HLWB\gdh1\MeetingNotices\042502TEonPreclosure.wpd ML020810228

	HLWB		HLWB		HLWB		
	DHiggs		JAndersen		NKStablein		
	03/21/02		03/21/02		03/22/02		

OFFICE NAME DATE

<sup>\*</sup> Meetings and technical exchanges between NRC and DOE are open to members of the public, petitioners, interveners, or other interested parties wishing to attend as observers pursuant to the spirit of "Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public," 65 Federal Register 56964, dated September 20, 2000. The revised policy states that public notice of staff meetings open to the public will be provided via the Internet at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Web site. Members of the public can also contact the staff toll free at 1-800-397-4209.

#### DRAFT AGENDA NRC/DOE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE

### DISCUSSION OF DOE'S PRECLOSURE SAFETY ANALYSIS GUIDE

APRIL 25-26, 2002

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION CONFERENCE ROOM O-4B6 11555 ROCKVILLE PIKE ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND

# INTERESTED PARTIES MAY PARTICIPATE IN THE TECHNICAL EXCHANGE VIA TELECON BY CALLING 301-231-5539, PASSCODE 5351#

Proposed agenda topics include:

- 1) DOE presentation of its Preclosure Safety Analysis Guide
- 2) DOE discussion of examples to highlight different sections