March 12, 2002

Mr. Mano Nazar Site General Manager Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant Nuclear Management Company, LLC 1717 Wakonade Drive East Welch, MN 55089

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING TO DISCUSS ANNUAL ASSESSMENT

PRAIRIE ISLAND NUCLEAR GENERATING PLANT

Dear Mr. Nazar:

This letter confirms the discussion between Steve Ray of this office and Robert Alexander of your staff to have a routine management meeting at the Prairie Island Training Center at 11:00 a.m. (CST) on Thursday, March 28, 2002. The purpose of this meeting is to discuss the results of the NRC's annual assessment of the performance of the Prairie Island Nuclear Generating Plant. This meeting will be open for public observation.

We will gladly discuss any questions you may have concerning this matter.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Roger Lanksbury, Chief Branch 5 Division of Reactor Projects

Docket Nos. 50-282; 50-306 License Nos. DPR-42; DPR-60

See Attached Distribution

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\EOC Ltrs\2002\Mtg Notices\PRAI 02 eoc mtg ltr.wpd

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without enclosure "E" = Copy with enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	RIII	RIII			
NAME	MKunowski/co	RLanksbury			
DATE	03/ /02	03/ /02			

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

M. Nazar -2-

cc: Plant Manager, Prairie Island

R. Anderson, Executive Vice President and

Chief Nuclear Officer

Site Licensing Manager

Nuclear Asset Manager

J. Malcolm, Commissioner, Minnesota

Department of Health

State Liaison Officer, State of Wisconsin

Tribal Council, Prairie Island Dakota Community

J. Silberg, Esquire

Shawn, Pittman, Potts, and Trowbridge

A. Neblett, Assistant Attorney General

Office of Attorney General

S. Bloom, Administrator

Goodhue County Courthouse

Commissioner, Minnesota Department

of Commerce

K. Kuhlmann, Council Administrator

A. Kohnen, President, Prairie Island

Community Center

F. Wipperling, Goodhue County Sheriff

G. Brown, Emergency Management Director

R. Wilhelm, Chair, Pierce County Board of Directors

D. Maher, Chair, Dakota County Board of Commissioners

The Honorable Romeo Cyr

G. Fried, Emergency Management Director

R. Mallon, Chair, Goodhue County

Board of Commissioners

J. Hines, Pierce County Sheriff

D. Gudmundson, Dakota County Sheriff

INPO

M. Nazar -3-

ADAMS Distribution:

WDR

DFT

H. Nieh, OEDO

THB

Project Director, NRR

Project Manager, NRR

RidsNrrDipmlipb

J. Caldwell, RIII

G. Grant, RIII

B. Clayton, RIII

SRI Prairie Island

DRP III

DRSIII

PLB1

JRK1

BAH3