

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

March 12, 2002

NOTICE OF LICENSEE MEETING

Name of Licensee: Nebraska Public Power District (NPPD)

Name of Facility: Cooper Nuclear Station

Docket: 50-298

Date and Time April 2, 2002 of Meeting: 7 p.m. (CDT)

Location of Meeting: Brownville Concert Hall

Atlantic Avenue & 2nd Street

Brownville, NE 68321

Purpose of Meeting: This is the end-of-cycle public meeting between the NRC and

Nebraska Public Power District to present and discuss

performance results of Cooper Nuclear Station for the period of April 1 through December 31, 2001. Members of the public may observe the meeting and will have the opportunity to meet the

NRC representatives to comment and ask questions.

NRC Attendees: Elmo Collins, Deputy Director, Division of Reactor Projects

Kriss Kennedy, Chief, Branch F, Division of Reactor Projects

Mike Hay, Senior Resident Inspector

Licensee Attendees: Guy Horn, Senior Vice President of Nuclear and Enterprise

Effectiveness

Dave Wilson, Vice President/Chief Nuclear Officer Mike Coyle, Assistant Vice President, Nuclear Energy Jim Hutton, Plant Manager, Cooper Nuclear Station Rick Gardner, Senior Manager, Quality Assurance

Paul Caudill, Manager, Engineering and Technical Services

NOTES:

(1) This meeting is open to attendance by members of the general public.

(2) NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify Kriss Kennedy at (817) 860-8144 by COB on March 25, 2002.

Approved By: ____/RA/

Kriss M. Kennedy, Chief Project Branch F Division of Reactor Projects

CC:

David L. Wilson, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Nuclear and Enterprise Effectiveness Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th StreetColumbus, Nebraska 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

D. F. Kunsemiller, Risk and Regulatory Affairs Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Dr. William D. Leech Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657

Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-0869 Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Deputy Director for Public Policy Department of Natural Resources 205 Jefferson Street Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1366

Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health 401 SW 7th Street, Suite D Des Moines. Iowa 50309 Marlin Logan
Presiding Commissioner
Atchison County
P.O. Box 280
Rock Port, Missouri 64482

Dennis Martin, Sheriff Atchison County Sheriff's Office 511 West Clay Rock Port, Missouri 64482

Loras Baumhover, Sheriff 1805 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Dick Hainje, Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency Region VII 2323 Grand Blvd., Suite 900 Kansas City, Missouri 64108-2670

Daniel K. McGhee
Bureau of Radiological Health
Iowa Department of Public Health
Lucas State Office Building
321 12th Street
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075

Gary McNutt, Director, Radiation Control Program Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0570

Robert Leopold, State Liaison Officer Nebraska Health and Human Services Department of Regulation and Licensure Assurance 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007 E-Mail Distribution by Region IV:
() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP

MCT M. Thadani, Project Manager, NRR

OEMAIL D/OE VLO V. Ordaz

TJF T. Frye, NRR Enforcement Coordinator

TXR T. Reis

WAM W. Maier , RSLO GFS G. Sanborn, EO RXW R. Wise, ES

BWH B. Henderson, PAO
JAC1, CJG RA Secretaries
LAO, DLF, TBH DRP Division
LMB, NLH DRS Division
CMS, JAK, BST1 DNMS Division
JLP J. Pellet, IRM
LPL P. Longdo

S:\DRP\DRPDIR\EOC 2002\Meeting Notices\CNS EOC 4-2-02 MN.wpd

RIV:C:DRP/F	PAO	RSLO	Signature	
KMKennedy;df	BWHenderson	WAMaier	KMKennedy	
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	
Review	3/12/02	3/11/02	3/12/02	