

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

March 11, 2002

THIS LETTER WAS ISSUED TO THOSE ON THE ATTACHED DISTRIBUTION LIST

SUBJECT: NOTIFICATION OF UPCOMING MEETING

Dear

1

Each year, an integrated assessment of plant performance is conducted, based upon the risk significance of the inspection findings of the NRC's resident and region-based inspectors, and the insights gained from the licensee-provided performance indicators. The results are then communicated with the public through a public meeting held in the locality of each reactor power plant. Nationally, plants with significant performance shortcomings are reviewed by the NRC's senior management and discussed with the Commission in a public meeting in Rockville, Maryland.

We have completed the assessments associated with this year's inspections and performance indicators for Grand Gulf Nuclear Station. The results can be found at <u>http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/GG1/gg1_chart.html</u>. We have also scheduled a public meeting to discuss the results. The meeting for Grand Gulf Nuclear Station is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. (CDT), April 11, 2002, at the Claiborne County Civil Defense, 2033 Hwy 18 East, Port Gibson, MS.

In conjunction with this meeting, we are offering all local decision-makers an opportunity to meet separately with the NRC representative immediately following the public meeting. This opportunity is intended to provide you a forum to ask any questions which you may have, and to let you meet personally the NRC personnel with whom you would interface in the event of an emergency at the nuclear power plant.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be made available electronically for public inspection in the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <u>http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html</u> (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

I hope you find this opportunity responsive to your needs and I look forward to personally greeting you at the meeting. Should you have any questions concerning this initiative, please contact me at 601/437-4620.

Sincerely,

Timothy L. Hoeg Senior Resident Inspector Grand Gulf Nuclear Station

INDIVIDUAL LETTERS WERE SENT TO:

Ms. Amelda Arnold, Mayor Town of Port Gibson P.O. Box 466 Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Eddie Walls, Jr. P.O. Box 239 Port Gibson, MS 39150

Ms. Vera Johnson Ward 2 605 Greenwood St. Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Kenneth Davis Ward 3 305 Cedar St. Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Thomas Russum Ward 4 P.O. Box 400 Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Robert Ritchey, Jr. Ward 5 109 Woodstock St. Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Michael A White Ward 6 206 Mimosa St. Port Gibson, MS 39150

Ms. Cathi Dodgen City Clerk 1064 Old Colony Road Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Melvin H. McFatter City Attorney 617 Market St. Port Gibson, MS 39150 Ms. Mary Jones Claiborne County Tax Assessor/Collector P.O. Box 469 Port Gibson, MS 39150Ms. Bobbie Young,

Director Port Gibson/Claiborne County Civil Defense P.O. Box 558 Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. James Johnson Claiborne County Election Commissioner, District # 1 338 Gordon Station Annex Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. James Gray Claiborne County Election Commissioner, District #2 P.O. Box 105 Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Gary Knight Claiborne County Election Commissioner, District #3 116 Willows Lane Port Gibson, MS 39150

Ms. Corlean Hughes Claiborne County Election Commissioner, District #4 P.O. Box 161 Hermanville, MS 39086

Mr. Coney Johnson Claiborne County Election Commissioner, District #5 2045 Hwy 61 North Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Albert Butler, President of Board District #1 Claiborne County Supervisor P.O. Box 614 Port Gibson, MS 39150 Mr. Charlie Norrell, Supervisor District #2, Claiborne County 1045 Magnolia Lane Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. William Moore, Supervisor District #3, Claiborne County P.O. Box 645 Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Charles Shorts, Vice-President of Board District #5, Supervisor, Claiborne County 4007 Pine Grove Road Port Gibson, MS 39150

Ms. Martha Lott, Supervisor District #4, Claiborne County P.O. Box 279 Port Gibson, MS 39150

Mr. Edward Brown, Mayor Town of St. Joseph P.O. Box 217 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Mr. A. E. Tindell Board of Alderpersons District A P.O. Box 164 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Mr. Jack . Grace, Jr. Board of Alderpersons District B P.O. Box 75 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Mr. Jimmy S. Clark Board of Alderpersons District C P.O. Box 467 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Ms. Telma Bradford Board of Alderpersons District D P.O. Box 127 St. Joseph, LA 71366 Mr. Greg Neuroth Board of Alderpersons District E P.O. Box 242 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Mr. Phil Watson Town Attorney P.O. Box 26 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Ms. Mercedes Williams Acting Municipal Clerk P.O. Box 217 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Ms. Maria Cooper, Mayor Town of Waterproof P.O. Box 35 Waterproof, LA 71375

Mr. Robert Bethel, III Town Council Member P.O. Box 135 Waterproof, LA 71375

Ms. Bertha Brown Town Council Member P.O. Box 576 Waterproof, LA 71375

Ms. Clara Robinson Town Council Member P.O. Box 121 Waterproof, LA 71375

Mr. Herbert Williams Town Council Member P.O. Box 106 Waterproof, LA 71375 Mr. Ervin Sell Town Council Member P.O. Box 366 Waterproof, LA 71375

Ms. Connie McKeel Town Council Member P.O. Box 139 Waterproof, LA 71375

Mr. Rufus Merritt Tensas Parish Police Jurors District 1 Rt. 12, Box 65 Newellton, LA 71357

Mr. Sam Dillard Tensas Parish Police Jurors District 2 P.O. Box 131 Newellton, LA 71357

Mr. James Nicholson, President Tensas Parish Police Jurors District 3 P.O. Box 196 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Mr. William Trevillion Tensas Parish Police Jurors District 4 HC-61, Box 276 Waterproof, LA 71375

Ms. Ples Bell Tensas Parish Police Jurors District 5 P.O. Box 384 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Mr. Thomas Hale Tensas Parish Police Jurors District 6 HC-61, Box 162 Waterproof, LA 71375 Mr. Woodrow W. Wiley, Jr., Vice-President Tensas Parish Police Jurors District 7 P.O. Box 33 Waterproof, LA 71375

Mr. Alex Davis, Mayor Town of NewIlton P.O. Box 774 NeweIlton, LA 71357

Mr. Edwin Britt, Pro Tem Board of Alderpersons P.O. Box 398 Newellton, LA 71357

Ms. Clara Bass Board of Alderpersons P.O. Box 266 Newellton, LA 71357

Mr. Billy Mitchell Board of Alderpersons P.O. Box 632 Newellton, LA 71357

Mr. Kent Morgan Board of Alderpersons P.O. Box 684 Newellton, LA 71357

Mr. David Delaney Board of Alderpersons P.O. Box 621 Newellton, LA 71357

Mr. James Paxton Town Attorney P.O. Box 97 St. Joseph, LA 71366

Ms. Ronda King City Clerk P.O. Box 477 Newellton, LA 71357 Mr. Ronnie Musgrove, Governor Office of the Governor State of Mississippi Jackson, MS 39201

Mr. Mike Moore, Attorney General State of Mississippi P.O. Box 220 Jackson, MS 39205

Mr. Frank Spencer, Asst. Attorney General State of Mississippi P.O. Box 220 Jackson, MS 39205

Dr. F. E. Thompson, Jr. State Health Officer State Board of Health P.O. Box 1700 Jackson, MS 39205

Mr. Robert W. Goff, Program Director Division of Radiological Health P.O. Box 1700 Jackson, MS 39215-1700

Mr. Phil Bass, Director Office of Pollution control Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 10385 Jackson, MS 39209

Mr. Mike Foster, Jr., Governor Office of the Governor P.O. Box 94004 State of Louisiana Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9004

Mr. Richard leyoub, Attorney General Department of Justice State of Louisiana P.O. Box 94005 Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9005

Mr. Rick Foster, Director Emergency Management for Tensas Parish P.O. Box 768 St. Joseph, LA 71366 Mr. Cris Roberie Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 82135 Baton Rouge, LA 70884-2135

Col. Mike Brown, Asst. Director Military Department LA Office of Emergency Preparedness P.O. Box 44217 Baton Rouge, LA 70804