U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION I NOTICE OF SIGNIFICANT LICENSEE MEETING

March 7, 2002

Meeting No. 02-11

Licensee: North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation

Facility: Seabrook Unit 1

05000443 Docket No.:

Date and Time: Friday, March 29, 2002, at 1:00 p.m.

Location: Seabrook Community Center

> 311 Lafavette Road Seabrook, NH 03874

Purpose: The NRC staff and North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation

management will discuss the results of the NRC's assessment of the safety

performance at the Seabrook Station for the period April 1, 2001 to December 31, 2001. This assessment is described in the Annual Assessment Letter, dated March 4, 2002 and can be found at:

http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/LETTERS/seab 2001g4.pd

The NRC staff will also provide an overview of the NRC's Reactor Oversight Process. Detailed PI and inspection finding information can be found at: http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/SEAB1/seab1 chart.html .

NRC Attendees: A. Blough, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP), Region I

C. Cowgill, Branch Chief, DRP, Region I

G. Dentel, Senior Resident Inspector, Seabrook Unit 1

North Atlantic Energy Service

Corporation Attendees: T. Feigenbaum, Executive Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer

J. Vargas, Director of Engineering

B. Plummer, Manager of Operations

G. St. Pierre. Station Director

J. Peschel, Manager of Regulatory Programs

J. Sobotka, Oversight Manager

NOTE: This meeting is open to the public for observation. Members of the public may provide comments or questions in writing in advance of the meeting. They may be sent to USNRC, Attn: Curtis J. Cowgill, 475 Allendale Road, King of Prussia, PA 19406. Attendance by additional NRC personnel should be made know by March 26, 2002, via telephone call to Curtis J. Cowgill, Chief, Projects Branch 6 at (610) 337-5233. Handicapped persons requiring assistance to attend or participate in the meeting shall make their requests known no later than two business days prior to the meeting.

/RA A. McMurtray for/

Approved by:

Curtis J. Cowgill, Chief Projects Branch No. 6 Division of Reactor Projects

Distribution:

T. Feigenbaum, Executive Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer State of New Hampshire Regional Administrator Secretary, RI Deputy Regional Administrator Secretary, RI DRP Division Secretary, RI DRS Division Secretary, RI DNMS Division Secretary, RI DRM Division Secretary, RI DRM Division Secretary, RI Region I Receptionist

<u>Distribution</u> (Via E-Mail):

- W. Travers, Executive Director for Operations, OEDO
- W. Kane, Deputy Executive Director for Regulatory Programs, OEDO
- T. Bergman, Region I Coordinator, OEDO
- S. Collins, Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR)
- D. Matthews, Director, Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs, NRR
- J. Zwolinski, Director, Division of Licensing Project Management, NRR
- J. Johnson, Deputy Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research
- E. Adensam, NRR
- G. Wunder, NRR
- V. Nerses, NRR

PMNS

NRCWEB

- D. Screnci, PAO
- N. Sheehan, PAO
- G. Matakas, ORA
- R. Bores, ORA
- D. White, SAO
- W. Lanning, DRS
- R. Crlenjak, DRS
- G. Dentel, DRP

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 4.0\PDF Output\2002SBMN.wpd

After declaring this document "An Official Agency Record" it will be released to the Public.

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	RI:DRP	RI:DRP		
NAME	Jenison/KMJ	Cowgill/CJC1		
DATE	03/07/02	03/07/02		

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY