## March 7, 2002

## U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION **REGION I** NOTICE OF SIGNIFICANT MEETING

No. 02-010

Licensee: Dominion Nuclear Connecticut, Inc.

Facilities: Millstone Units 2 and 3

Docket Nos.: 05000336 and 05000423

Time/Day/Date: 7:00 p.m., Thursday, March 21, 2002

Location: Waterford Town Hall

> 15 Rope Ferry Road Waterford, CT 06385

Purpose: Joint Meeting with Nuclear Energy Advisory Council (NEAC) to discuss

> implementation of the Reactor Oversight Process and answer questions regarding the Millstone plant performance, as described in the Annual Assessment Letter, dated March 4, 2002. This assessment can be found at: http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/LETTERS/mill 2001g4.pdf.

Detailed PI and inspection finding information related to the Reactor

Oversight Process can be found at:

http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/MILL2/mill2 chart.html and http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/MILL3/mill3 chart.html .

NRC Attendees: A. Blough, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)

C. Cowgill, Chief, Projects Branch 6, DRP

A. Cerne, Senior Resident Inspector, Millstone Unit 3

B. Sienel, Resident Inspector, Millstone Unit 2

**NEAC Attendees:** E. Woolacott, Co-Chair

> J. Markowicz, Co-Chair Other NEAC Members

NOTE: This meeting is a public meeting held jointly with NRC and NEAC. Feedback from the public concerning how well the NRC communicated its message will be solicited. For additional information regarding this meeting, please call Curtis Cowgill, Chief, Projects Branch 6, at (610) 337-5233. Handicapped persons requiring assistance to attend the meeting shall make their requests known no later than two business days prior to the

meeting.

/RA A. McMurtray for/

Approved by:

Curtis J. Cowgill, Chief Projects Branch 6 Division of Reactor Projects

## Distribution:

W. Matthews. Vice President and Senior Nuclear Executive - Millstone

E. Woolacott, NEAC

J. Markowicz, NEAC

State of Connecticut

C. Cowgill, DRP

K. Jenison, DRP

T. Haverkamp, DRP

Regional Administrator Secretary, RI

Deputy Regional Administrator Secretary, RI

DRP Division Secretary, RI

DRS Division Secretary, RI

DNMS Division Secretary, RI

DRM Division Secretary, RI

Region I Receptionist

Region I Docket Room (with concurrences)

## Distribution (Via E-Mail):

- W. Travers, Executive Director for Operations, OEDO
- W. Kane, Deputy Executive Director for Regulatory Programs, OEDO
- T. Bergman, Region I Coordinator, OEDO
- S. Collins, Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR)
- D. Matthews, Director, Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs, NRR
- J. Zwolinski, Director, Division of Licensing Project Management, NRR
- J. Johnson, Deputy Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research
- E. Adensam, NRR
- D. Collins, NRR
- V. Nerses, NRR

**PMNS** 

**NRCWEB** 

- D. Screnci, PAO
- N. Sheehan, PAO
- G. Matakas, ORA
- R. Bores, ORA
- D. White, SAO
- W. Lanning, DRS
- R. Crlenjak, DRS
- S. Schneider, DRP
- A. Cerne, DRP

DOCUMENT NAME: C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 4.0\PDF Output\2002NEACMN.wpd After declaring this document "An Official Agency Record" it **will** be released to the Public.

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy

OFFICE	RI:DRP	RI:DRP		
NAME	Jenison/KMJ	Cowgill/ACM f/		
DATE	03/07/02	03/07/02		

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY