

## Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc.

Office of Executive Director ◆ 205 Capital Avenue ◆ Frankfort, KY 40601 Phone: 502/227-4543 ◆ Fax: 502/227-7862 ◆ Web Site: www.crcpd.org Central E-mail: staff@crcpd.org

February 22, 2002

Russell Salter, Director Technological Services Division Federal Emergency Management Agency 500 C Street, SW Washington, DC 20472

Dear Mr. Salter:

As Chairperson of the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, Inc. (CRCPD), I want to commend you for your outstanding support of the radiological emergency response program in the United States. Your personal commitment to an improved dialog among the federal community and state radiation protection programs was the driving force for streamlining evaluation of emergency response capability at the state and local level. The inclusion of state and local staff members on the Oversight Working Group provided a unique opportunity for discussion of issues that remain critically important to our state radiation protection programs. As Chair of the Federal Radiological Preparedness Coordinating Committee, you revitalized that important committee and opened appropriate portions of its discussions to the public. CRCPD welcomed the opportunity to provide a Liaison to attend the open portions of the FRPCC meetings. We have always participated in the subcommittees of the FRPCC and have seen significant results under your leadership in the areas of portal monitor and portable instrument guidance.

Our country's citizens are better protected from accidental or deliberate releases of radioactive material thanks to your dedicated service while with FEMA. On behalf of the CRCPD Board of Directors we thank you for your valuable service.

Sincerely,

Paul J. Merges, Ph.D. CRCPD Chairperson

**Board of Directors** 

Chairperson
Paul J. Merges, Ph.D.
New York

Chairperson-Elect Cynthia C. Cardwell Texas

Past Chairperson
Paul S. Schmidt
Wisconsin

Treasurer
Terry C. Frazee
Washington

Members-at-Large Ronald G. Fraass Kansas

Julia A. Schmitt Nebraska

Russell S. Takata Hawaii

Office of Executive Director

Executive Director Charles M. Hardin Kentucky

Administrative Officer
Patricia C. Gorman
Kentucky

RF/PJM/ss

cc: Bruce P. Baughman, Director, Office of National Preparedness Board of Directors

Ron Fraass, FRPCC Chair

Steve Woods, CRCPD Chair, Committee on Emergency Response Preparedness

A Partnership Dedicated to Radiation Protection