

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

March 7, 2002

THIS LETTER WAS ISSUED TO THOSE ON THE ATTACHED DISTRIBUTION LIST

SUBJECT: NOTIFICATION OF UPCOMING MEETING

Dear :

Each year, an integrated assessment of performance is conducted, based upon the risk significance of the inspection findings of the NRC's resident and region-based inspectors, and the insights gained from the licensee-provided performance indicators. The results are then communicated with the public through a public meeting held in the vicinity of each reactor power plant. Nationally, plants with significant performance shortcomings are reviewed by the NRC's senior management and discussed with the Commission in a public meeting in Rockville, Maryland.

We have completed the assessments associated with this year's inspections and performance indicators for the Callaway Plant. The results can be found at http://www.nrc.gov/NRR/OVERSIGHT/ASSESS/CALL/call_chart.html. We have also scheduled a public meeting to discuss the results. The meeting for the Callaway Plant is scheduled for 7 p.m. (CST) on April 22, 2002, at the Capitol Plaza Hotel, 415 North McCarty Street, Jefferson City, Missouri.

In conjunction with this meeting, we are offering all local decision-makers an opportunity to meet separately with the NRC manager immediately following the public meeting. This opportunity is intended to provide you a forum to ask any questions which you may have, and to let you meet personally the NRC personnel with whom you would interface in the event of an emergency at the nuclear power plant.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter will be made available electronically for public inspection in the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/reading-rm/adams.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

I hope you find this opportunity responsive to your needs and I look forward to personally greeting you at the meeting. Should you have any questions concerning this initiative, please contact me at 573/676-3181.

Sincerely,

Vincent G. Gaddy Senior Resident Inspector Callaway Plant

INDIVIDUAL LETTERS WERE SENT TO:

Mr. Dan I. Bolef, President
Ms. Kay Drey, Representative
Board of Directors Coalition
for the Environment
6267 Delmar Boulevard
University City, MO 63130

The Honorable Vernon McKague Mayor of Chamois Star Route Chamois, Missouri 65024

Elmer Senevey Presiding Commissioner Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, Missouri 65051

Richard Zeilman
Emergency Management
Director
Osage County Courthouse
P.O. Box 826
Linn, Missouri 65051

Carl Fowler Sheriff, Osage County Osage County Courthouse P.O. Box 826 Linn, Missouri 65051

Tim Diemler
Emergency Preparedness
Director
Callaway County/Fulton
P.O. Box 817
Fulton, Missouri 65251

Dennis Crane Sheriff, Callaway County P.O. Box 817 Fulton, Missouri 65251 Charles Korman
Presiding Commissioner
Montgomery County Courthouse
211 East Third
Montgomery City, Missouri 63361

Bob Bishop Emergency Management Director Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, Missouri 63361

Robert Davis Sheriff, Montgomery County Montgomery County Courthouse 211 East Third Montgomery City, Missouri 63361

Charles Schlottach
Presiding Commissioner
Gasconade County Courthouse
119 East First Street
Hermann, Missouri 65041

Richard Hudson
Emergency Preparedness
Director
Gasconade County Courthouse
P.O. Box 295
Hermann, Missouri 65041

Glenn Ebker Sheriff, Gasconade County Gasconade County Courthouse 119 East First Street Hermann, Missouri 65041

Fay Owsley
Gasconade County Public
Administrator
Gasconade County Courthouse
119 East First Street
Hermann, Missouri 65041

The Honorable Robert Craghead Mayor of Fulton Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, Missouri 65251 Roger Rice Deputy Chief of Police Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, Missouri 65251

William Johnson Fulton City Administrator Fulton City Hall P.O. Box 130 Fulton, Missouri 65251

The Honorable Samuel Birk Mayor of Morrison Route 1 Morrison, Missouri 65061

The Honorable Tom Shackelford Mayor of Mokane P.O. Box 41 Mokane, Missouri 65059

The Honorable Steve Wehrle Mayor of Rhineland P.O. Box 384 Rhineland, Missouri 65069

Robert Rankin
Eastern District Commissioner
Callaway County Courthouse
10 East 5th Street
Fulton, Missouri 65251

Rodney Garnett Western District Commissioner Callaway County Courthouse 10 East 5th Street Fulton, Missouri 65251

Lee Fritz Presiding Commissioner Callaway County Courthouse 10 East 5th Street Fulton, Missouri 65251