OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY CORRESPONDENCE CONTROL TICKET

Date Printed: Jan 30, 2002 11:27

To: Virgilio, NMSS Appropriate Action

PAPER NUMBER:	LTR-02-0053	LOGGING DATE:	01/30/2002	
ACTION OFFICE:	EDO			CYS: EDO DEDMRS
				DEDR DEDM AO
AUTHOR:	Douglas Zipes			
AFFILIATION:	ACC			
ADDRESSEE:	Richard Meserve			
SUBJECT:	Implementation of training and experience 10 CFR Pt 35	requirements-		
ACTION:	Appropriate			
DISTRIBUTION:	RF, Chrm, Comrs.			
LETTER DATE:	01/25/2002			
ACKNOWLEDGED	No			
SPECIAL HANDLING:	OCM #9163			
NOTES:				
FILE LOCATION:	Adams			
DATE DUE:	DATES	SIGNED:		

Template: SECg-017

ERido: SECTOI



Heart House 9111 Old Georgetown Road Bethesda, MD 20814-1699 USA 301-897-5400 800-253-4636 Fax: 301-897-9745 http://www.acc.org

January 25, 2002

President

George A. Beller, MD

President-Elect Douglas P. Zipes, MD Immediate Past President

Arthur Garson, Jr., MD, MPH Vice President

W. Bruce Fye, MD, MA Secretary

James T. Dove, MD

Treasurer Michael J. Wolk, MD

Chair, Board of Governors James T. Dove, MD

Trustees

Joseph S. Alpert, MD Morton F. Arnsdorf, MD George A. Beller, MD Robert O Bonow MD Robert M. Califf, MD Melvin D. Cheitlin, MD Michael H. Crawford, MD Pamela S. Douglas, MD James T. Dove, MD Bernard W. D. Fong, MD W. Bruce Fye, MD, MA Arthur Garson, Jr., MD, MPH Raymond J. Gibbons, MD John W. Hirshfeld, Jr., MD Sharon A. Hunt, MD Spencer B. King, III, MD Costas T. Lambrew. MD Marian C. Limacher, MD Bruce D. Lindsay, MD, ex officio Ben D. McCallister, MD Joseph V. Messer, MD Steven E. Nissen, MD Richard L. Popp, MD Robert Roberts, MD George W. Vetrovec, MD L. Samuel Wann, MD, ex officio W. Douglas Weaver, MD William S. Weintraub, MD Michael J. Wolk, MD Douglas P. Zipes, MD

Executive Vice President Christine W. McEntee The Honorable Richard A. Meserve Chairman U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North Building 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

Re: Implementation of Training and Experience Requirements

Dear Chairman Meserve:

The American College of Cardiology and the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology support the NRC's revisions to 10 C.F.R. Part 35, as adopted on October 23, 2000. We believe the NRC was diligent and thorough in soliciting the input of affected and interested parties during its rulemaking process. The final rule reflects a thoughtful balance between the costs and benefits of regulating diagnostic nuclear medicine.

The cardiology community's major interest in the revised 10 CFR Part 35 lies in the modifications made in the training and experience requirements. We believe the new standards are far more realistic for training nuclear cardiologists as authorized users.

Despite a lengthy and thorough rulemaking process, opponents of the revisions to 10 C.F.R. Part 35 convinced the Senate to adopt a year-long ban on the implementation of the new rule. After the cardiology community voiced its objections, Congress enacted legislation allowing implementation of the training and experience requirements while directing the NRC to report to Congress by January 31, 2002 why the regulatory "burden" on the use of nuclear diagnostic medicine cannot be further reduced.

We urge the commission to use the authority granted by Congress to place the training and experience requirements in effect as soon as possible. Any further delay in the implementation of the new training and experience requirements will affect improved access to nuclear cardiology training and the delivery of nuclear cardiology services that the new rule will permit in a safe environment.



Heart House 9111 Old Georgetown Road Bethesda, MD 20814-1699 USA 301-897-5400 800-253-4636 Fax: 301-897-9745 http://www.acc.org

Honorable Richard A. Meserve, January 25, 2002, Page Two

We support 10 C.F.R. Part 35 as promulgated by the NRC and hope that the commission will use the authority granted by Congress to implement the training and experience requirements as promptly as possible.

Sincerely,

Douglas P. Zipes, MD, FACC President, American College of Cardiology

VVQ

C:

Gary V. Heller, MD, Ph.D President, American Society of Nuclear Cardiology

Chris McEntee Karen Collishaw Wayne Powell William A. Van Decker, MD, FACC Timothy M. Bateman, MD, FACC Steven Carter

President

George A. Beller, MD **President-Elect** Douglas P. Zipes, MD **Immediate Past President** Arthur Garson, Jr., MD, MPH

Vice President W. Bruce Fye, MD, MA

Secretary James T. Dove, MD

Treasurer Michael J. Wolk, MD

Chair, Board of Governors James T. Dove, MD

Trustees

Joseph S. Alpert, MD Morton F. Arnsdorf, MD George A. Beller, MD Robert O. Bonow, MD Robert M. Califf, MD Melvin D. Cheitlin, MD Michael H. Crawford, MD Pamela S. Douglas, MD James T. Dove, MD Bernard W. D. Fong, MD W. Bruce Fye, MD, MA Arthur Garson, Jr., MD, MPH Raymond J. Gibbons, MD John W. Hirshfeld, Jr., MD Sharon A. Hunt, MD Spencer B. King, III, MD Costas T. Lambrew, MD Marian C. Limacher, MD Bruce D. Lindsay, MD. ex officio Ben D. McCallister, MD Joseph V. Messer, MD Steven E. Nissen, MD Richard L. Popp, MD Robert Roberts, MD George W. Vetrovec, MD L. Samuel Wann, MD, ex officio W. Douglas Weaver, MD William S. Weintraub, MD Michael J. Wolk, MD Douglas P. Zipes, MD **Executive Vice President**

Christine W. McEntee



7

Bethesda, MD 20814-1699 USA



The Honorabole Richard A. Meserve Chairman U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North Building 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20852

20852+2733 13

Jac Jall Hander, Jack Jack and a fait and a flat and a state of a fait and a state of the state

÷