

UNITED STATES

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

January 28, 2002

NOTICE OF LICENSEE MEETING

Name of Licensee: Nebraska Public Power District

Name of Facility: Cooper Nuclear Station

Docket: 50-298

Date and Time February 7, 2002 of Meeting: 09:00 a.m. (CST)

Location of Meeting: Arbor Manor Conference Room

1617 Central Ave.

Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Purpose of Meeting: The purpose of this Regulatory Performance Meeting is to discuss

the performance issues, underlying causes, and corrective actions for the degraded emergency preparedness cornerstone which resulted

from the following two white inspection findings:

(1) Failure of the formal critique process to identify performance problems related to a risk-significant emergency planning

standard, and

(2) Ineffective corrective actions to prevent recurrence of a dose

assessment performance weakness.

NRC Attendees: Art Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS)

Gail Good, Chief, Plant Support Branch (PSB), DRS

Ryan Lantz, Senior Emergency Preparedness Inspector, PSB, DRS

Michael Hay, Resident Inspector, Division of Reactor Projects

Licensee Attendees: J. Bednar, Coordinator, Emergency Preparedness Training

M. Boyce, Senior Manager, Regulatory Affairs

G. Casto, Manager, Emergency Preparedness

M. Coyle, Assistant Vice President, Nuclear

R. Gardner, Senior Manager, Quality Assurance

B. Houston, Manager, Quality Assurance Operations

J. Hutton, Plant Manager

D. Kunsemiller, Manager, Risk and Regulatory Affairs

D. Linnen, Senior Manager, Training

J. Peters, Nuclear Support Licensing

D. Wilson, Vice President, Nuclear

NOTES:

- (1) This meeting is open to attendance by members of the general public.
- (2) NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify Gail Good at 817-860-8215 by COB on January 31, 2002.

Approved By: /RA/
Arthur T. Howell III, Director
Division of Reactor Safety

CC:

D. L. Wilson, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Energy Supply Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, Nebraska 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

D. F. Kunsemiller, Risk and Regulatory Affairs Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Dr. William D. Leech Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657 Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-0869

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, Kansas 66620 Presiding Commissioner Atchison County P.O. Box 280 Rock Port, Missouri 64482

Sheriff Atchison County Sheriff's Office 511 West Clay Rock Port, Missouri 64482

Sheriff 1805 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Training, Exercises, & Evaluation Branch Chief Federal Emergency Management Agency Region VII 2323 Grand Blvd., Suite 900 Kansas City, Missouri 64108-2670

Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health Lucas State Office Building 321 12th Street Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075

Gary McNutt, Deputy Director, Radiation Control Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0570

Electronic distribution:

ATH Director, Division of Reactor Safety
GMG Chief, DRS, Plant Support Branch (PSB)
REL Senior Emergency Preparedness Inspector
MCH2 Cooper Senior Resident Inspector, DRP

EWM RIV Regional Administrator

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP

MCT M. Thadani, Project Manager, NRR

OEMAIL D/OE

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

WMM W. Maier, RSLO G. Sanborn, EO GFS M. Vasquez, ES GMV **BWH** B. Henderson, PAO JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF, TBH **DRP** Division LMB, NLH **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division

DOCUMENT NAME: R:_CNS\CN2-5-02MN-DRS.wpd

RIV:PSB	C:DRS\PSB	PAO	RSLO	D:ACES
JBNicholas:nlh	GMGood	BWHenderson	WMMaier	GFSanborn
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/
01/17/02	01/17/02	01/17/02	01/28/02	01/17/02
C:DRP\C	D:DRS			
KMKennedy	ATHowell III			
/RA/	/RA/			
01/26/02	01/28/02			