January 12, 2002

James F. Mallay Standards Steering Committee American Nuclear Society Framatome ANP 3315 Old Forest Road Lynchburg, VA 24506

Dear Mr. Mallay:

I wish to inform you that Dr. Donald E. Carlson is resigning as a member of the ANS 5.1 decay heat working group of the ANS-19 subcommittee. Dr. Carlson has been reassigned to another position within the NRC to assume significant responsibility for advanced reactor reviews.

I would like to nominate Mr. G. Norman Lauben as the authorized NRC representative on the 5.1 working group. Mr. Lauben is currently working on decay heat as it relates to 10CFR 50.46, and already works closely with the current chairman of the working group, Dr. Michaele C. Brady Raap.

It is requested that you process Dr. Carlson's resignation and Mr. Lauben's nomination at the same time.

In accordance with OMB Circular A-119, "Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities," February 19, 1998, the participation on a committee of an authorized NRC representative does not connote agency agreement with, or endorsement of, decisions reached by the committee, or of standards approved and published as a result of the committee's efforts. Agency representatives participating on standards developing groups will, to the extent possible, ascertain the views of the agency on matters of interest and will express views that are consistent with established agency views.

Correspondence to Mr. Lauben should be addressed to:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Mr. G. Norman Lauben M/S T-10K08 Washington, D.C. 20555 Voice: 301-415-6762 Fax: 301-415-5160 e-mail: gnl1@nrc.gov

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Michael E. Mayfield NRC Standards Executive Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research James F. Mallay Standards Steering Committee American Nuclear Society Framatome ANP 3315 Old Forest Road Lynchburg, VA 24506

Dear Mr. Mallay:

I wish to inform you that Dr. Donald E. Carlson is resigning as a member of the ANS 5.1 decay heat working group of the ANS-19 subcommittee. Dr. Carlson has been reassigned to another position within the NRC to assume significant responsibility for advanced reactor reviews.

I would like to nominate Mr. G. Norman Lauben as the authorized NRC representative on the 5.1 working group. Mr. Lauben is currently working on decay heat as it relates to 10CFR 50.46, and already works closely with the current chairman of the working group, Dr. Michaele C. Brady Raap.

It is requested that you process Dr. Carlson's resignation and Mr. Lauben's nomination at the same time.

In accordance with OMB Circular A-119, "Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities," February 19, 1998, the participation on a committee of an authorized NRC representative does not connote agency agreement with, or endorsement of, decisions reached by the committee, or of standards approved and published as a result of the committee's efforts. Agency representatives participating on standards developing groups will, to the extent possible, ascertain the views of the agency on matters of interest and will express views that are consistent with established agency views.

Correspondence to Mr. Lauben should be addressed to:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Mr. G. Norman Lauben M/S T-10K08 Washington, D.C. 20555 Voice: 301-415-6762 Fax: 301-415-5160 e-mail: gnl1@nrc.gov

Sincerely, /**RA**/ Michael E. Mayfield NRC Standards Executive Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

## Distribution:

See Attached List C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 4.0\PDF Output\Info. ANS 5.1.mbr02.wpd

\*See previous concurrence

OAR in ADAMS? (Y or N) \_\_\_\_\_ ADAMS ACCESSION NO.: ML020220025 \_\_\_\_\_ TEMPLATE NO. RES-006 \_\_\_\_\_ Publicly Available? (Y or N) \_\_\_\_\_ DATE OF RELEASE TO PUBLIC \_\_\_\_\_ SENSITIVE? \_\_\_\_\_ N\_\_\_ To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without enclosures "E" = Copy with enclosures "N" = No copy

OFFICE	REAHFB	SMSAB	C:SMSAB	DD:DSARE	D:DSARE	D:DET
NAME	DCarlson:mb	NLauben	JRosenthal	CAder	FEltawila CAder for	MMayfield
DATE	01/08/02*	01/08/02*	01/08/02	01/10/ 02*	01/10/02*	01/12/02*

## Letter to James Mallay

Distribution: SMSAB R/F DSARE R/F Dcarlson R/F NLauben R/F CAder PNorian

Suriya Ahmad Standards Administrator American Nuclear Society 555 North Kensington Avenue La Grange Park, IL 60526, USA

Tawfik Raby Chairman, ANS Consensus Committee N-17 National Institute of Standards and Technology Reactor Bldg (235), Room A148 100 Bureau Drive, Stop 8561 Gaithersburg, MD 20899-8561

Dimitrios Cokinos Chairman, ANS-19 Subcommittee Brookhaven National Laboratory Building 197C P.O. Box 5000 Upton, NY 11973-5000

Michaele C. Brady Raap Chairman, ANS5.1 Decay Heat Working Group Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 902 Battelle Boulevard P.O. Box 999, MSIN K8-34 Richland, WA 99352