IN RESPONSE, PLEASE REFER TO: M011114A

November 14, 2001

MEMORANDUM FOR: John F. Cordes, Director Office of Commission Appellate Adjudication Karen D. Cyr General Counsel FROM: Annette L. Vietti-Cook, Secretary /RA/ SUBJECT: STAFF REQUIREMENTS - AFFIRMATION SESSION, 8:55 A.M., WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 14, 2001, COMMISSIONERS' CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE WHITE FLINT NORTH, ROCKVILLE, MARYLAND (OPEN TO PUBLIC ATTENDANCE)

<u>I.</u> <u>SECY-01-0153 - International Uranium (USA) Corp. White Mesa Uranium Mill Review of LBP-01-15</u>

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order responding to an appeal of LBP-01-15 in which the Presiding Officer denied Petitioner Glen Canyon Group of the Sierra Club's hearing request for lack of standing. The Memorandum and Order affirms LBP-01-15.

(Subsequently, on November 14, 2001, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

II. SECY-01-0180 - Private Fuel Storage (Independent Spent Fuel Storage Installation) Docket No. 72-22-ISFSI; Review of LBP-01-19, 53 NRC 416 (May 31, 2001)

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order responding to CLI-01-15 in which the Commission accepted review of the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel's referred ruling on the threshold probability for a design basis air crash event at an independent spent fuel storage installation (ISFSI). The Memorandum and Order affirms the Board's ruling in LBP-01-19 that the threshold probability for design basis events should be set at one in a million (1 x 10⁻⁶) for ISFSIs.

(Subsequently, on November 14, 2001, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

III. SECY-01-0181 - U.S. Enrichment Corporation; Pace's Petition for Review of Director's Decision on the Paducah Upgrade Amendment

The Commission approved a Memorandum and Order responding to PACE's petition for review of Director's Decision issued on June 14, 2001, which denied the April 17, 2001 petition filed by PACE. The Memorandum and Order denies the appeal of PACE's petition.

(Subsequently, on November 14, 2001, the Secretary signed the Memorandum and Order.)

cc: Chairman Meserve Commissioner Dicus Commissioner Diaz Commissioner McGaffigan Commissioner Merrifield EDO OGC CFO OCAA OCA OIG OPA Office Directors, Regions, ACRS, ACNW, ASLBP (via E-Mail) PDR