October 18, 2001

The Honorable Harry Reid, Chairman Subcommittee on Transportation, Infrastructure, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Mr. Chairman:

The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1990, as amended, requires the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to collect fees and annual charges to recover approximately 98 percent of its budget authority, less the amount appropriated to the NRC from the Nuclear Waste Fund and the General Fund for fiscal year 2001. Consistent with past practice, we are providing you the status of fee collection activities for fiscal year 2001. Public Law 106-377 appropriated \$487,400,000 to the NRC for fiscal year 2001 of which \$21,600,000 was derived from the Nuclear Waste Fund and is excluded from license fee revenues and \$3,200,000 was appropriated for regulatory reviews and other assistance provided to the Department of Energy and other Federal agencies which also is excluded from license fee revenues.

In fiscal year 2001, NRC collected fees and other charges that offset \$453,348,000 (100 percent of the amount to be collected) or 98 percent of its budget authority. Because of the uncertainties with the timing of collections, an additional \$1.7 million was collected and will be used to reduce the total fees assessed in fiscal year 2002.

Sincerely,

/**RA**/

Richard A. Meserve

cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

Identical letters to:

The Honorable Harry Reid, Chairman Subcommittee on Transportation, Infrastructure, and Nuclear Safety Committee on Environment and Public Works United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator James M. Inhofe

The Honorable Joe Barton, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Air Quality Committee on Energy and Commerce United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Rick Boucher

The Honorable Sonny Callahan, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Peter J. Visclosky

The Honorable Harry Reid, Chairman Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development Committee on Appropriations United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Pete V. Domenici

The Honorable Joseph I. Lieberman, Chairman Committee on Governmental Affairs United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Fred Thompson

The Honorable Dan Burton, Chairman Committee on Government Reform United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative Henry Waxman

The Honorable Jim Nussle, Chairman Committee on the Budget United States House of Representatives Washington, D.C. 20515 cc: Representative John M. Spratt, Jr.

The Honorable Kent Conrad, Chairman Committee on the Budget United States Senate Washington, D.C. 20510 cc: Senator Pete V. Domenici