August 20, 2001

Mr. Robert Clark
Acting Director
Office of Quality Assurance
Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE APRIL 17, 2001, QUALITY ASSURANCE AND KEY

TECHNICAL ISSUE STATUS MANAGEMENT MEETING

Dear Mr. Clark:

Enclosed are the minutes of the April 17, 2001, Quality Assurance and Key Technical Issue Status Management Meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and representatives of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) (Enclosure 1). Also enclosed are the agendas (Enclosure 2); attendance lists (Enclosure 3); and briefing materials (Enclosure 4).

The purpose of the April 17, 2001, meeting was to discuss items of mutual interest about Quality Assurance (QA) and those areas contributing to the resolution of QA problems. The Key Technical Issues (KTI) portion of the meeting was to discuss issues related to KTI agreements and associated activities. The meeting was held at the DOE office in Las Vegas, Nevada, with participation via video conference at NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland; DOE Headquarters, Washington, D.C. and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Kien Chang of my staff at (301) 415-6612.

Sincerely,

/RA/

C. William Reamer, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosures: 1. Meeting minutes

2. Agendas

3. Attendance lists4. Briefing materials

cc: See attached list

Mr. Robert Clark
Acting Director
Office of Quality Assurance
Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management
U.S. Department of Energy
1000 Independence Avenue, S.W.
Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE APRIL 17, 2001, QUALITY ASSURANCE MANAGEMENT

MEETING

Dear Mr. Clark:

Enclosed are the minutes of the April 17, 2001, Quality Assurance and Key Technical Issue Status Management Meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and representatives of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) (Enclosure 1). Also enclosed are the agendas (Enclosure 2); attendance lists (Enclosure 3); and briefing materials (Enclosure 4).

The purpose of the April 17, 2001, meeting was to discuss items of mutual interest about Quality Assurance (QA) and those areas contributing to the resolution of QA problems. The Key Technical Issues (KTI) portion of the meeting was to discuss issues related to KTI agreements and associated activities. The meeting was held at the DOE office in Las Vegas, Nevada, with participation via video conference at NRC Headquarters in Rockville, Maryland; DOE Headquarters, Washington, D.C. and the Center for Nuclear Waste Regulatory Analyses in San Antonio, Texas.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Kien Chang of my staff at (301) 415-6612.

Sincerely, /RA/ C. William Reamer, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosures: 1. Meeting minutes

2. Agendas

3. Attendance lists

4. Briefing materials

cc: See attached list

DISTRIBUTION: File Center HLWB r/f ACNW PUBLIC LSS OSR CNWRA DBrooks SWastler TCarter LCampbell TMatula

DOCUMENT NAME: S:\DWM\HLWB\gdh1\041701QAMtgMinutes

ADAMS NUMBER: ML012350126

OFFICE	HLWB	HLWB	HLWB	HLWB
NAME	DHiggs gdh	KChang kcc	NKStablein nks	CWReamer cwr
DATE	8/16/01	8/16/01	8/16/01	08/20/01

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

This document should be made available to the PUBLIC.

This document is related to the HLW program. It should be placed in the LSS.

Letter to R. Clark from C. W. Reamer dated	August 20, 2001	
cc: R. Loux, State of Nevada	R. Massey, Lander County, NV	
S. Frishman, State of Nevada	J. Pitts, Lincoln County, NV	
L. Barrett, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV	
A. Brownstein, DOE/Washington, DC	A. Funk, Mineral County, NV	
S. Hanauer, DOE/Washington, DC	J. Shankle, Mineral County, NV	
C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC	L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV	
J. Carlson, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Murphy, Nye County, NV	
N. Slater, DOE/Washington, DC	J. McKnight, Nye County, NV	
A. Gil, YMPO	D. Weigel, GAO	
R. Dyer, YMPO	W. Barnard, NWTRB	
S. Brocoum, YMPO	R. Holden, NCAI	
R. Clark, YMPO	A. Collins, NIEC	
S. Mellington, YMPO	R. Arnold, Pahrump County, NV	
C. Hanlon, YMPO	J. Larson, White Pine County	
T. Gunter, YMPO	R. Clark, EPA	
K. Hess, BSC	F. Marcinowski, EPA	
D 1/11 - D00	D. A. J NEI	

R. Anderson, NEI

R. McCullum, NEI

R. Henning, BSC

J. Kessler, EPRI

R. Craig, USGS

D. Duncan, USGS

W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD

N. Rice, NV Congressional Delegation

T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation

S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation

J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV

L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.

J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation

J. Curtiss, Winston & Strawn

S. Kraft, NEI

D. Krisha, BSC

S. Cereghina, BSC

M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC

S. Echols, Winston & Strawn

D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV

A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV

L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV

A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV

M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV

A. Remus, Inyo County, CA

I. Zabarte, W.S.N.C.

B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee

E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV

G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

N. Williams, BSC