Stephan Brocoum, Assistant Manager Office of Licensing and Regulatory Compliance U.S. Department of Energy Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office P.O. Box 30307 North Las Vegas, NV 89036-0307

SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE AND MANAGEMENT MEETING ON PRE-CLOSURE SAFETY (JULY 24-26, 2001)

Dear Mr. Brocoum:

Enclosed are the meeting summary highlights agreed upon during the July 24-26, 2001, Technical Exchange and Management meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the U.S. Department of Energy. The main purpose of the meeting was to discuss several Pre-Closure Safety issues. The meeting was held in Las Vegas, Nevada.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact the technical lead for pre-Closure Safety, Mr. Banad Jagannath or the Senior Project Manager for issue closure, Mr. James Andersen. Mr. Jagannath can be reached at (301) 415-6653 and Mr. Andersen at (301) 415-5717.

Sincerely,

/RA/

C. William Reamer, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: Summary Highlights of NRC/DOE Technical Exchange and Management Meeting on Pre-Closure Safety

cc: See attached distribution list

Stephan Brocoum, Assistant Manager Office of Licensing and Regulatory Compliance U.S. Department of Energy Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office P.O. Box 30307 North Las Vegas, NV 89036-0307

## SUBJECT: U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION/U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY TECHNICAL EXCHANGE AND MANAGEMENT MEETING ON PRE-CLOSURE SAFETY (JULY 24-26, 2001)

Dear Mr. Brocoum:

Enclosed are the meeting summary highlights agreed upon during the July 24-26, 2001, Technical Exchange and Management meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and the U.S. Department of Energy. The main purpose of the meeting was to discuss several Pre-Closure Safety issues. The meeting was held in Las Vegas, Nevada.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact the technical lead for pre-Closure Safety, Mr. Banad Jagannath or the Senior Project Manager for issue closure, Mr. James Andersen. Mr. Jagannath can be reached at (301) 415-6653 and Mr. Andersen at (301) 415-5717.

Sincerely, /RA/

C. William Reamer, Chief High-Level Waste Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: Summary Highlights of NRC/DOE Technical Exchange and Management Meeting on Pre-Closure Safety

cc: See attached distribution list

DISTRIBUTION:									
File Center	NMSS r/f	DWM r/f	HLWB r/f	EPAB r/f	DBrooks				
CWReamer	NStablein	MComar	LCampbell	TAhn	JBradbury				
NColeman	PJustus	BLeslie	TMcCartin	MNataraja	JPohle				
JTrapp	SWastler	JFirth	OSR	DHiggs	JCiocco				
ACCESSION #: ML012290017									

DOCUMENT NAME: S\DWM\HLWB\JWA\MEETING SUMMARY 07-24-01.WPD

OFC	HLWB		HLWB		HLWB	
NAME	JAndersen jwa		KStablein nks		CWReamer cwr	
DATE	08/14/01		08/14/01		08/14/01	

## OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

ACNW: YES X NO \_\_\_\_ Delete file after distribution: Yes \_\_\_ No \_\_\_

1) This document should be made available to the PUBLIC: JWA 08/14/01

2) This document is related to the HLW program. It should be placed in the LSS: JWA 08/14/01

cc: R. Loux, State of Nevada	R. Massey, Lander County, NV			
S. Frishman, State of Nevada	J. Pitts, Lincoln County, NV			
L. Barrett, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV			
A. Brownstein, DOE/Washington, DC	A. Funk, Mineral County, NV			
S. Hanauer, DOE/Washington, DC	J. Shankle, Mineral County, NV			
C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC	L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV			
J. Carlson, DOE/Washington, DC	M. Murphy, Nye County, NV			
N. Slater, DOE/Washington, DC	J. McKnight, Nye County, NV			
A. Gil, YMPO	D. Weigel, GAO			
R. Dyer, YMPO	W. Barnard, NWTRB			
S. Brocoum, YMPO	R. Holden, NCAI			
R. Clark, YMPO	A. Collins, NIEC			
S. Mellington, YMPO	R. Arnold, Pahrump County, NV			
C. Hanlon, YMPO	J. Larson, White Pine County			
T. Gunter, YMPO	R. Clark, EPA			
K. Hess, BSC	F. Marcinowski, EPA			
D. Krisha, BSC	R. Anderson, NEI			
S. Cereghina, BSC	R. McCullum, NEI			
N. Williams, BSC	R. Henning, BSC			
M. Voegele, BSC/SAIC	S. Kraft, NEI			
S. Echols, Winston & Strawn	J. Kessler, EPRI			
B. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee	D. Duncan, USGS			
J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau	R. Craig, USGS			
D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV	W. Booth, Engineering Svcs, LTD			
E. von Tiesenhausen, Clark County, NV	J. Curtiss, Winston & Strawn			
A. Kalt, Churchill County, NV	N. Rice, NV Congressional Delegation			
G. McCorkell, Esmeralda County, NV	T. Story, NV Congressional Delegation			
L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV	J. Reynoldson, NV Congressional Delegation			
A. Johnson, Eureka County, NV	S. Joya, NV Congressional Delegation			
A. Remus, Inyo County, CA	J. Pegues, City of Las Vegas, NV			
M. Yarbro, Lander County, NV	L. Lehman, T-REG, Inc.			
I. Zabarte, W.S.N.C.				