Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444

Mr. Robert J. Harrison President and Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dear Mr. Harrison:

SUBJECT: SEABROOK NUCLEAR STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2 - GDC 4 EXEMPTION REQUEST

This is in response to your letters dated August 9, 1984, February 1, 1985 and March 22, 1985 on the subject of exemption from certain provisions of 10 CFR Part 50, Appendix A, GDC 4. Pending Commission consideration of a rule change on this matter, the staff is currently processing only schedular exemption requests that would allow delayed action on the affected components for a period of two refueling outages or until final action on the rule. The staff position is reflected in the schedular exemptions granted recently to Catawba, Unit 2, Shearon Harris, Unit 1 and Millstone, Unit 3.

If you wish to change your request so that we can act on it soon, please inform us accordingly. Please contact Victor Nerses at (301) 492-7238 if you have any questions.

Sincerely.

151

Thomas M. Novak, Assistant Director for Licensing Division of Licensing

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION

Docket File NRC PDR

JPartlow BGrimes EJordan

Local PDR PRC System

NSIC

LB#3 Reading RPerlis, ELD 8507180277 850708 PDR ADOCK 05000443 A PDR

ACRS (16)

*Previously concurred:

DL:LB#3

DL:LB#3

OELD *RPerlis

TMNovak

*VNerses:dh 06/12/85

*GWKnighton 06/14/85

06/23/85

Mr. Robert J. Harrison
President and Chief Executive Officer
President and Chief Executive Officer
Public Service Company of New Hampshire
Post Office Box 330
Post Office Box Hampshire 03105
Manchester, New Hampshire

Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01839

Robert A. Backus, Esq. O'Neil, Backus and Spielman 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Ms. Beverly A. Hollingworth
7 A Street
Hampton Beach, New Hampshire 03842

William S. Jordan, III
Diane Curran
Harmon, Weiss & Jordan
20001 S Street, NW
Suite 430
Washington, DC 20009

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esq.
Office of the Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Division
One Ashburton Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq.
General Counsel
Public Service Company of New Hampshire
Post Office Box 330
Post Office New Hampshire
Manchester, New Hampshire

Regional Administrator - Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

E. Tupper Kinder, Esq.
G. Dana Bisbee, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General
Office of Attorney General
208 State Hosue Annex
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Resident Inspector Seabrook Nuclear Power Station c/o US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 700 Post Office Box Rook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. John DeVincentis, Director
Engineering and Licensing
Yankee Atomic Electric Company
1671 Worchester Road
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701

Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors 30 South 17th Street Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

Mr. Philip Ahrens, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. Warren Hall
Public Service Company of
New Hampshire
Post Office Box 330
Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League Ms. Jane Doughty 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Ms. Letty Hett Town of Brentwood RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Roberta C. Pevear Town of Hampton Falls, New Hampshire Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Ms. Sandra Gavutis Town of Kensington, New Hampshire RDF 1 East Kingston, New Hampshire 03827

Chairman, Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

Mr. Angie Machiros, Chairman Board of Selectmen for the Town of Newbury Newbury, Massachusetts 01950

Ms. Rosemary Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Richard E. Sullivan Mayor, City of Newburyport Office of the Mayor City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Mr. William B. Derrickson Senior Vice President Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 700, Route 1 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Mr. Alfred V. Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, MA 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U. S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Senator Gordan J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Charles Cross, Esq. Shaines, Mardrigan and McEaschern 25 Maplewood Avenue Post Office Box 366 Portsmouth, NH 03801

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chaiman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission
825 North Capital Street, NE
Room 8105
Washington, D. C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney
New Hampshire Yankee Division
Public Service of New Hampshire
Company
7910 Woodmont Avenue
Bethesda, Maryland 20814