

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

#### **REGION IV**

### 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

June 20, 2001

William A. Eaton, Vice President Operations - Grand Gulf Nuclear Station Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

SUBJECT: SUMMARY OF END-OF-CYCLE PERFORMANCE ASSESSMENT MEETING

FOR THE GRAND GULF NUCLEAR STATION

Dear Mr. Eaton:

This refers to the public meeting conducted at the Grand Gulf Nuclear Station on June 14, 2001, between you, your staff, and the NRC. The participants discussed the results of the NRC's end-of-cycle assessment of Grand Gulf's performance for the period April 2, 2000, through March 31, 2001.

The NRC presented the overall assessment results based on inspection findings and performance indicators. The presentation also included a brief overview of the reactor oversight process.

The attendance list is enclosed with this summary (Enclosure).

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at <a href="http://www.nrc.gov/NRC/ADAMS/index.html">http://www.nrc.gov/NRC/ADAMS/index.html</a> (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

Should you have any questions concerning this matter, we will be pleased to discuss them with you.

Sincerely,

/RA/

David N. Graves, Chief Project Branch A Division of Reactor Projects

Docket No: 50-416 License No: NPF-29 Enclosure: Attendance List

cc w/enclosure:
Executive Vice President
and Chief Operating Officer
Entergy Operations, Inc.
P.O. Box 31995
Jackson, Mississippi 39286-1995

Wise, Carter, Child & Caraway P.O. Box 651 Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Winston & Strawn 1400 L Street, N.W. - 12th Floor Washington, DC 20005-3502

Sam Mabry, Director Division of Solid Waste Management Mississippi Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 10385 Jackson, Mississippi 39209

President, District 1 Claiborne County Board of Supervisors P.O. Box 339 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

General Manager Grand Gulf Nuclear Station Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

The Honorable Richard leyoub Attorney General Department of Justice State of Louisiana P.O. Box 94005 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9005

Office of the Governor State of Mississippi Jackson, Mississippi 39201 Mike Moore, Attorney General Frank Spencer, Asst. Attorney General State of Mississippi P.O. Box 22947 Jackson, Mississippi 39225

Dr. F. E. Thompson, Jr. State Health Officer State Board of Health P.O. Box 1700 Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Robert W. Goff, Program Director Division of Radiological Health Mississippi Dept. of Health P.O. Box 1700 Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1700

Vice President
Operations Support
Entergy Operations, Inc.
P.O. Box 31995
Jackson, Mississippi 39286-1995

Director, Nuclear Safety and Regulatory Affairs Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Vice President, Operations Grand Gulf Nuclear Station Entergy Operations, Inc. P.O. Box 756 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Supervisor, District 2 Claiborne County 202 Magnolia Lane Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Supervisor, District 5 Claiborne County Route 1, Box 296 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150 Vice President, District 4
Claiborne County Board
of Supervisors
P.O. Box 196
Hermanville, Mississippi 39086

Claiborne County Tax Assessor/Collector P.O. Box 469 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

Mayor Town of Port Gibson P.O. Box 607 Port Gibson, Mississippi 39150

James E. Maher, Director Mississippi Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 4501, Fondren Station Jackson, Mississippi 39296-4501

Mayor City of St. Joseph P.O. Box 217 St. Joseph, Louisiana 71366

Edwin Preis, Mayor City of Newellton P.O. Box 477 Newellton, Louisiana 71357

Rick Foster, Director Tensas Office of Emergency Preparedness P.O. Box 768 St. Joseph, Louisiana 71366

Ronald Wascom, Administrator State Liaison Officer Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 82135 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70884-2135 Federal Emergency Management Agency, Region IV ATTN: John B. Copenhaver Regional Director 3003 Chamblee Tucker Road Atlanta, Georgia 30341

Assistant Director
Military Department
Office of Emergency Preparedness
P.O. Box 44217
Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Entergy Operations, Inc.

-6-

Electronic distribution from ADAMS by RIV:
Regional Administrator (EWM)
DRP Director (KEB)
DRS Director (ATH)
Senior Resident Inspector (TLH4)
Branch Chief, DRP/A (DNG)
Senior Project Engineer, DRP/A (DBA)
Section Chief, DRP/TSS (PHH)
RITS Coordinator (NBH)

## R:\ GG\2001\GG6-14MS-DRP.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/A	C:DRP/A		
DBAllen;tbh	DNGraves		
/RA/	/RA/		
6/19/01	6/19/01		

### **ENCLOSURE**

## **Attendance List**

## <u>Licensee</u>

- W. Eaton, Vice President, Operations
- J. Roberts, Director, Nuclear Safety Assurance
- G. Sparks, Manager, Operations
- C. Bottemiller, Manager, Plant Licensing

## Other Officials

- R. Goff, Mississippi Dept. of Health
- S. Anderson, Mississippi Dept. of Health
- S. Wilson, Louisiana Office of Emergency Preparedness
- C. Short, Vice President, Claiborne County Board of Supervisors

## **NRC**

- D. Graves, Chief, Project Branch A
- T. Hoeg, Senior Resident Inspector
- P. Alter, Resident Inspector