MEMORANDUM TO: Christopher I. Grimes, Chief

License Renewal and Standardization Branch

Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs, NRR

FROM: Raj K. Anand, Project Manager /RA/

License Renewal and Standardization Branch

Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs, NRR

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING ON NUCLEAR POWER PLANT LICENSE

RENEWAL RULEMAKING

DATE & TIME: Thursday, June 28, 2001

9:00 a.m. - 12:00 Noon.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852

Room 0-12 B4

PURPOSE: The Commission requested in its August 28, 1999 Staff Requirements

Memorandum responding to SECY 99-148, *Credit for Existing Programs for License Renewal*, that the staff "prepare a detailed analysis and provide recommendations to the Commission on whether it would be appropriate to resolve generic technical issue, including any credit for existing programs, by rulemaking". This meeting is to gather comments from stakeholders on whether it is appropriate to revise the license renewal rule. The meeting agenda is in ADAMS: ML011700253.

PARTICIPANTS:* NRC UCS NEI

C. Grimes D. Lochbaum D. Walters

M. Malloy et al. et al.

R. Weisman P.T. Kuo et al.

CONTACT: Raj K. Anand, NRR

415-1146

*Meetings between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, intervenors, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to the Commission Policy Statement on "Staff Meetings Open to the Public: Final Policy Statement," 65 Federal Register 56964, 9/20/2000.

MEMORANDUM TO: Christopher I. Grimes, Chief

License Renewal and Standardization Branch

Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs, NRR

FROM: Raj K. Anand, Project Manager /RA/

License Renewal and Standardization Branch

Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs, NRR

SUBJECT: PUBLIC MEETING ON NUCLEAR POWER PLANT LICENSE

RENEWAL RULEMAKING

DATE & TIME: Thursday, June 28, 2001

9:00 a.m. - 12:00 Noon.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland 20852

Room 0-12 B4

PURPOSE: The Commission requested in its August 28, 1999 Staff Requirements

Memorandum responding to SECY 99-148, *Credit for Existing Programs for License Renewal*, that the staff "prepare a detailed analysis and provide recommendations to the Commission on whether it would be appropriate to resolve generic technical issue, including any credit for existing programs, by rulemaking". This meeting is to gather comments from stakeholders on whether it is appropriate to revise the license renewal rule. The meeting agenda is in ADAMS: ML011700253.

PARTICIPANTS:* NRC UCS NEI

C. Grimes D. Lochbaum D. Walters M. Mallov et al.

R. Weisman P.T. Kuo et al.

CONTACT: Raj K. Anand, NRR

415-1146

DISTRIBUTION:

See next page

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 4.0\PDF Output\public meeting.wpd

OFFICE	LA:DRIP	PM:RLSB;DRIP	BC:RLSB:DRIP
NAME	EGHylton	RKAnand	CIGrimes
DATE	6/19/01	6/19/01	6/20/01

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

DISTRIBUTION:

^{*}Meetings between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, intervenors, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to the Commission Policy Statement on "Staff Meetings Open to the Public: Final Policy Statement," 65 Federal Register 56964, 9/20/2000.

HARD COPY

RLSB RF

E. Hylton

OWFN Receptionist

E-MAIL:

PUBLIC

- J. Johnson
- W. Borchardt
- D. Matthews
- C. Carpenter
- C. Grimes
- W. Beckner
- B. Zalcman
- J. Strosnider
- G. Bagchi
- K. Manoly
- W. Bateman
- J. Calvo
- C. Holden
- P. Shemanski
- S. Rosenberg
- G. Holahan
- T. Collins
- B. Boger
- G. Galletti
- B. Thomas
- J. Moore
- R. Weisman
- M. Mayfield
- A. Murphy
- W. McDowell
- S. Droggitis
- S. Duraiswami

RLSB Staff

- A. Thadani
- R. Zimmerman
- C. Julian
- R. Gardner
- D. Chyu
- M. Modes
- J. Vora

OPA

PMNS

S. Bozin

NUCLEAR ENERGY INSTITUTE

Mr. Joe Bartell U.S. Department of Energy NE-42 Washington, D.C. 20585

Mr. Richard P. Sedano, Commissioner State Liaison Officer Department of Public Service 112 State Street Drawer 20 Montipelier, Vermont 05620-2601

Mr. Douglas J. Walters Nuclear Energy Institute 1776 I Street, N.W., Suite 400 Washington, DC 20006-3708 DJW@NEI.ORG

National Whistleblower Center 3238 P Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20007-2756

Mr. Stephen T. Hale Florida Power & Light Company 9760 S.W. 344 Street Florida City, Florida 33035

Mr. Frank Gregor ASME Nuclear Codes & Standards LCM Engineering 2103 Otter Court Tarpon Spring, Florida 34689

Mr. Barth W. Doroshuk President and Chief Operating Officer Constellation Nuclear Services, Inc. Calvert Cliffs Nuclear Power Plant 1650 Calvert Cliffs Parkway Lusby, MD 20657

Mr. Gary Leidich, Vice President Institute of Nuclear Power Operations 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339-5957 Mr. Robert Gill
Duke Energy Corporation
Mail Stop EC-12R
P.O. Box 1006
Charlotte, NC 28201-1006

Mr. Charles R. Pierce Southern Nuclear Operating Co. 40 Inverness Center Parkway BIN B064 Birmingham, AL 35242

Mr. David Lochbaum Union of Concerned Scientists 1707 H Street, NW Suite 600 Washington, DC 20006-3919

Mr. Garry Young Entergy Operations, Inc. Arkansas Nuclear One 1448 SR 333 GSB-2E Russellville, Arkansas 72802

Mr. Mark P. Oncavage 12200 S.W. 110th Avenue Miami, Florida 33176-4520

Ms. Joette Lorion 13015 SW 90 Court Miami, Florida 33176

Ms. Susan L. Hiatt, Director Ohio Citizens for Responsible Energy 6275 Munson Road Mentor, OH 44060-2406

Mr. Roger A. Newton
Assistant to the Manager – Industry and
Strategic Issues
Wisconsin Electric Power Company
P.O. Box 2046 (Room P128)
Milwaukee, WI 53201

Mr. Andrew C. Kadak, President American Nuclear Society 555 No. Kensington Ave. LaGrange Park, IL 60526

Mr. Dave Horvath, Chairman IEEE Working Group 3.4 Advent Engineering Services, Inc. 24 Frank Lloyd Wright Drive Lobby A P.O. Box 555 Ann Arbor, MI 48106-0555

Mr. Charles A. Zalesiak, Chairman ACI Committee 349 Virginia Power 1538 Westshire Lane Richmond, VA 23233

Dr. Edwin Lyman, Director Nuclear Control Institute (NCI) 1000 Connecticut Ave, Suite# 410 Washington D.C. 20036 Mr. Brian Erler, Chairman ACI/ASME Joint Committee 359 Sargent & Lundy 55 E. Monroe Street Chicago, IL 60601

Mr. John J. Carey Electric Power Research Institute 3412 Hillview Ave. P.O. Box 10412 Palto Alto, CA 94303

Mr. Nestor Lawankiv, Director of Engineering American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC) One East Walker Drive, Suite 3100 Chicago, IL 60601-2001