

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

June 7, 2001

S. K. Gambhir, Division Manager Nuclear Operations Omaha Public Power District Fort Calhoun Station FC-2-4 Adm. P.O. Box 399 Hwy. 75 - North of Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023-0399

SUBJECT: CORRECTION TO ANNUAL ASSESSMENT LETTER

Dear Mr. Gambir:

On May 29, 2001, the NRC staff issued the annual assessment letter for your Fort Calhoun Station. Unfortunately, this letter incorrectly characterized the plant's performance during the last assessment cycle. The letter stated that the performance indicator for occupational radiation safety had changed to White in the first quarter of the assessment cycle. In fact, this performance indicator had been White in the first calendar quarter of 2000 and was restored to Green prior to the beginning of the assessment cycle. Therefore, all performance inputs throughout the assessment cycle were within the licensee control band (Green). I regret any inconvenience this may have caused.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Charles S. Marschall, Chief Project Branch C Division of Reactor Projects

Docket: 50-285 License: DPR-40

cc w/enclosure: Mark T. Frans, Manager Nuclear Licensing Omaha Public Power District Fort Calhoun Station FC-2-4 Adm. P.O. Box 399 Hwy. 75 - North of Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023-0399

James W. Chase, Division Manager Nuclear Assessments Fort Calhoun Station P.O. Box 399 Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023

Richard P. Clemens, Manager - Fort Calhoun Station Omaha Public Power District Fort Calhoun Station FC-1-1 Plant P.O. Box 399 Hwy. 75 - North of Fort Calhoun Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023

James R. Curtiss Winston & Strawn 1400 L. Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005-3502

Chairman Washington County Board of Supervisors Washington County Courthouse P.O. Box 466 Blair, Nebraska 68008

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Sheriff Douglas County Hall of Justice 17th and Farnam Omaha, Nebraska 68102

Chairman Douglas County Board of Commissioners Civic Center 1819 Farnam Omaha, Nebraska 68183

Director Douglas County E M Civic Center EOC, Room 114 Omaha, Nebraska 68183

Civil Defense Director Harrison County 116 North 2nd Avenue Logan, Iowa 51546

Sheriff Harrison County Sheriff's Department Logan, Iowa 51546

Chairman Harrison County Board of Supervsiors Court House Logan, Iowa 51546

Mayor, City of Missouri Valley City Hall 223 E. Erie Missouri Valley, Iowa 51555

Emergency Management Coordinator Pottawattamie County 227 S. 6th Street, Court House Council Bluffs, Iowa 51501

Chairman Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors 227 South 6th Street Council Bluffs, Iowa 51501

Civil Defense Director Washington County Courthouse P.O. Box 466 Blair, Nebraska 68008

Sheriff Washington County Courthouse 1535 Culfax Blair, Nebraska 68008

President Blair City Council 218 S. 16th Street Blair, Nebraska 68008

Mayor, City of Blair 218 South 16th Street Blair, Nebraska 68008

Mayor, City of Fort Calhoun P.O. Box 448 Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023

President Fort Calhoun City Council P.O. Box 448 Fort Calhoun, Nebraska 68023

Civil Defense Director Region 5/6 435 N. Park Avenue, Room B101 Fremont, Nebraska 68025

John A. Miller, Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency Region VII 2323 Grand Blvd., Suite 900 Kansas City, Missouri 64108-2670

Chief, Bureau of Energy Efficiency, Auditing, and Research Utilities Division Iowa Department of Commerce Lucas State Office Building, 5th Floor Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Donald A. Flater, Chief Bureau of Environmental Health Iowa Department of Public Health Lucas State Office Building, 1st Floor Des Moines, Iowa 50319

Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Gary McNutt, Deputy Director Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Missouri Public Service Commission ATTN: Bruce Deering, Manager -Electric Department 301 W. High P.O. Box 360 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Electronic distribution from ADAMS by RIV: Regional Administrator (EWM) DRP Director (KEB) DRS Director (ATH) Senior Resident Inspector (WCW) Branch Chief, DRP/C (CSM) Senior Project Engineer, DRP/C (DPL) Section Chief, DRP/TSS (PHH) Jim Isom, Pilot Plant Program (JAI) Sampath Malur, Pilot Plant Program (SKM) RidsNrrDipmlipb

S:\DRP\DRPDIR\EOC 5-01\FCS Correction.wpd

RIV:SPE:DRP/C	C:DRP/C			
DPLoveless;df	CSMarschall			
CSMarschall for	/RA/			
6/7/01	6/7/01			
OFFICIAL RECORD COPY		 Telephone	E=E-mail	F=Fax

-6-