

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

## **REGION IV**

## 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

June 5, 2001

		NOTICE OF LICENSEE MEETING		
Name of Licensee:		Nebraska Public Power District		
Name of Facility:		Cooper Nuclear Station		
Docket:		50-298		
Date and Time of Meeting:		June 18, 2001 1-3 p.m. (CDT)		
Location of Meeting:		Region IV office Training Conference Room Arlington, Texas 611 Ryan Plaza Dr., Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064		
Purpose of Meeting:		The purpose of this Management Meeting is to discuss the status of Cooper Nuclear Station and other pertinent topics.		
NRC Attendees:		<ul><li>E. Merschoff, Regional Administrator</li><li>K. Brockman, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)</li><li>A. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Safety</li><li>E. Collins, Deputy Director, DRP</li><li>D. Loveless, Senior Project Engineer, DRP</li></ul>		
Licensee Attendees:		J. Swailes, Vice President, Nuclear Energy J. McDonald, Plant Manager J. Ranalli, Senior Manager, Engineering M. Boyce, Manager, Licensing		
NOTE	S:			
(1)	This meeting is open to attendance by members of the general public.			
(2)	NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify David Loveless at 817-860-8161 by COB on June 12, 2001.			
		Approved By:/RA/		

Charles S. Marschall, Chief

Division of Reactor Projects

Project Branch C

CC:

J. H. Swailes, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Energy SupplyNebraska Public Power District 1414 15th StreetColumbus, Nebraska 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

S. R. Mahler, Assistant Nuclear Licensing and Safety Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Dr. William D. Leech Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657

Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-0869

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street

Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, Kansas 66620

Presiding Commissioner Atchison County P.O. Box 280 Rock Port, Missouri 64482

Sheriff Atchison County Sheriff's Office 511 West Clay Rock Port, Missouri 64482

Sheriff 1805 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

John A. Miller, Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency Region VII 2323 Grand Blvd., Suite 900 Kansas City, Missouri 64108-2670 Daniel K. McGhee Bureau of Radiological Health Iowa Department of Public Health Lucas State Office Building 321 12th Street Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075

Gary McNutt, Deputy Director, Radiation Control Section for Environmental Public Health P.O. Box 570 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-0570

## R:\ CNS\CN6-18MN-DRP.wpd

in Eartain and an in a					
RIV:SPE:DRP/C	PAO	RSLO	C:DRP/C		
DPLoveless	BWHenderson	CAHackney	CSMarschall		
/RA/	CGORDON for	/RA/	/RA/		
6/4/01	6/4/01	6/4/01	6/5/01		

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

T=Telephone

E=E-mail

F=Fax