March 29, 2001

MEMORANDUM TO: William D. Travers

Executive Director for Operations

FROM: Ashok C. Thadani, Chairman

/RA/

PRA Steering Committee

SUBJECT: CHANGES IN PRA STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

As you know, the PRA Steering Committee (PRA SC) is composed of office-level managers, with the committee having the following responsibilities:

- Review of inter-office Risk-Informed Regulation Implementation Plan (RIRIP) activities
 to provide guidance and coordination on priority, resource allocation, and schedules
 related to agency risk-informed activities as well as resolution of inter-office issues
 compromising activity quality or schedules.
- Resolution of policy issues identified in the course of accomplishing RIRIP activities
 which do not require Commission approval, and raising policy issues requiring such
 approval, with recommendations, to the appropriate level.
- Identification of new activities to be included in the RIRIP (and office-specific operating plans)
- Interaction with the public and senior industry management on topics of mutual interest.

Recent organizational changes have resulted in changes to the PRA SC membership. Specifically, the following changes have been made:

- Martin Virgilio replaces William Kane
- Frank Congel replaces William Borchardt, and
- Roy Zimmerman replaces Margaret Federline.

The current membership of the PRA SC is attached.

Attachment: As stated

cc: PRA SC members

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\edomemo.wpd

Distribution: DRAA Chron, PRAB r/f, Cunningham, Cunningham r/f, King, Thadani/Zimmerman

* Previously concurred.

OAR in ADAMS? (Y or N) Y ADAMS ACCESSION NO.:

TEMPLATE NO. RES-RES-006 Publicly Available? (Y or N) Y

DATE OF RELEASE TO PUBLIC SENSITIVE? N

OFFICE	PRAB		DRAA:D		RES:DD		RES:D		
NAME	*Cunningham		*King		*Zimmerman		*Thadani		
DATE	3/27/01		3/28/01		3/29/01		03/27/01		

USNRC PRA Steering Committee

(March 2001)

Ashok C. Thadani, Chair Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research

Samuel J. Collins, Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Martin J. Virgilio, Director Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Luis A Reyes, Regional Administrator Region II

Frank J. Congel, Director Office of Enforcement

Joseph R. Gray, Associate General Counsel for Licensing Office of the General Counsel

Roy P. Zimmerman, Deputy Director Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research