May 11, 2001

MEMORANDUM TO: Stuart A. Richards, Director

Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1 /RA/

Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER

DISTRICT (NPPD), THE LICENSEE FOR COOPER NUCLEAR

STATION

DATE & TIME May 15, 2001

11:00 am to 12:00 Noon

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike

Room O-7B2

Rockville, Maryland

PURPOSE: General discussion on licensing actions related to Cooper Nuclear Station

PARTICIPANTS:* Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear

Reactor Regulation (NRR).

NRR NPPD

Mohan Thadani
Robert Gramm
Stuart Richards
John Swailes
John McDonald
Jerome Ranalli

Michael Boyce

Docket No. 50-298

cc: See next page

CONTACT: Mohan Thadani

(301) 415-1476

^{*}Meetings between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, intervenors, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to Commission Policy Statement on "Staff Meetings Open to the Public: Final Policy Statement," 65 Federal Register 56964, 9/20/2000.

MEMORANDUM TO: Stuart A. Richards, Director

Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1

/RA/

Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER

DISTRICT (NPPD), THE LICENSEE FOR COOPER NUCLEAR

STATION

DATE & TIME May 15, 2001

11:00 am to 12:00 Noon

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike

Room O-7B2 Rockville, Maryland

PURPOSE: General discussion on licensing actions related to Cooper Nuclear Station

PARTICIPANTS:* Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear

Reactor Regulation (NRR).

NRR NPPD

Mohan Thadani John Swailes
Robert Gramm John McDonald
Stuart Richards Jerome Ranalli
Michael Boyce

Docket No. 50-298

cc: See next page

CONTACT: Mohan Thadani

(301) 415-1476

*Meetings between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, intervenors, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to Commission Policy Statement on "Staff Meetings Open to the Public: Final Policy Statement," 65 Federal Register 56964, 9/20/2000.

<u>DISTRIBUTION</u>: See attached list ACCESSION NUMBER: ML011310173

OFFICE	PDIV-1/PM	PDIV-1/LA	PDIV-1 SC	PDIV PD
NAME	MThadani	MMcAllister	RGramm	RGramm for SRichards
DATE	5/11/01	5/11/01	5/11/01	5/11/01

DISTRIBUTION FOR MEETING NOTICE DATED: May 11, 2001

<u>HardCopy</u>

PUBLIC

OWFN Receptionist

TWFN Receptionist

MThadani

MMcAllister

E-mail

BSheron/MBanerjee (RidsNrrAdpt)

JZwolinski/CCarpenter (RidsNrrDlpm)

SRichards (RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv)

RGramm (RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv1)

MKing

RidsOpaMail

RidsRgn4MailCenter (KBrockman)

SMorris

BHenderson

PMNS

RidsOgcMailCenter

RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter

Cooper Nuclear Station

CC:

Mr. G. R. Horn Sr. Vice President of Energy Supply Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, NE 68601

Mr. John R McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P. O. Box 499 Columbus, NE 68602-0499

Assistant Nuclear Licensing and Safety Manager Nebraska Public Power District P. O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321

Dr. William D. Leech Manager-Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P. O. Box 657 Des Moines, IA 50303-0657

Mr. Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P. O. Box 80869 Lincoln, NE 68501-0869

Mr. Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P. O. Box 98922 Lincoln, NE 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, NE 68305

Ms. Cheryl K. Rogers, Program Manager Nebraska Health & Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P. O. Box 95007 Lincoln, NE 68509-5007

Mr. Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, MO 65102

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 218 Brownville, NE 68321

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 1000 Arlington, TX 76011

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P. O. Box 116 Jefferson City, MO 65101

Chief, Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, KS 66620

Mr. J. H. Swailes Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P. O. Box 98 Brownville, NE 68321