MEMORANDUM TO: John Zwolinski, Director Division of Licensing Project management Office of Nuclaer Reactor Regualtion

FROM: Gary M. Holahan, Director Division of Systems Safety and Anaylsis Office of Nuclaer Reactor Regualtion

SUBJECT: ISSUANCE OF TECHNICAL STUDY OF SPENT FUEL POOL ACCIDENTS FOR DECOMMISSIONING PLANTS FOR PUBLIC COMMENT

In April 1999, the Technical Working Group (TWG) was tasked to formulate a risk-informed technical basis regarding spent fuel pool (SFP) accidents for decommissioning plants in support of rulemaking activities.

The study began with a two-month effort which included a review existing information, estimate of the impacts on existing critical decay times, and a detailed assessment of risk for decommissioning plants. The preliminary work for the study was issued in June 1999 due to stakeholder interest. Subsequently, we have had many interactions with stakeholders to address their comments and concerns. Also, additional technical work was scheduled in support of the initial TWG effort; work in the thermal hydraulics area is continuing through January. However, preliminary results have been incorporated into this report. And an independent technical quality review of the draft study and stakeholder input has been conducted. All these activities have been incorporated into this final report.

The report includes three main outputs. The first area, and the focus of the study, is the riskinformed technical basis for spent fuel pool accidents at decommissioning plants that can be used to develop rulemaking in several planned areas, including emergency preparedness, safeguards, and insurance indemnification. The second is proposed interim guidance that could be used for exemptions while rulemaking is proceeding. This information is intended to enhance predictability and efficiency in the regulatory process for decommissioning plants in the designated areas. The third output identifies areas of conservatism or large uncertainty that may be considered for research if more specificity is needed or desired in the future.

CONTACT: Tanya Eaton, SPLB/DSSA 301-415-3610

CONCURRENCE:

T Eaton G Hubbard J Hannon R Barrett J Wermeil T Quay R Gallo (acting for) B Boger J Stronsnider G Holahan B Sheron S Collins W Travers G Holahan

DISTRIBUTION:

ACRS Commission

W Travers

S Collins R Zimmerman **B** Sheron G Holahan T Collins **R** Barrett J Wermeil E Weiss L Kopp J Staudenmeier A Ulses G Kelly M Cheok E Throm J Hannon S West G Hubbard D Jackson T Eaton **B** Thomas Suzie Black S Richards M Masnik **R** Dudley W Huffman P Ray **B** Boger F Gillespie T Quay R Corriera D Dorman R Gallo F Kantor R Rosano J O'Brien D Barss **R** Pederson **R** Skelton J Stronsnider G Bagchi R Rothman

۰.

DRAFT

DRAFT

DRAFT

CONCURRENCE:

Each section will get a copy - each branch will need to return ONE copy with BC concurrence.

Parallel: DSSA-SPLB DSSA-SPSB DSSA-SRXB	Hannon (FP, SFPs) Barrett (PRA) Wermeil (Critic and T/H)
DIPM-IOLB DIPM-IQMB	(acting for) Gallo (EP?, worker protection, safeguards) Quay (MR and QA)
DLPM PDIV-D	Richards (FYI) - need concurrence or just copy to?
DE	Strosnider (seismic)

Next: DIPM - Boger

Next: DSSA- Holahan