

Entergy Operations, Inc. 1340 Echelon Parkway P.O. Box 31995 Jackson, MS 39286-1995 Tel 601 368 5290

Jerry W. Yelverton Chief Executive Officer

April 2, 2001

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Document Control Desk Washington, DC 20555-0001

Subject:

Withdrawal of Recently Submitted Application for Indirect Transfers of

Control of Facility Operating Licenses and Material License

Arkansas Nuclear One - Units 1 & 2 Docket Nos. 50-313 & 50-368

License Nos. DPR-51 & NPF-6

River Bend Station Docket No. 50-458 License No. NPF-47

James A. FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant

Docket No. 50-333 License No. DPR-59

Indian Point Nuclear Generating

Unit Nos. 1, 2, and 3

License Nos. DPR-5, DPR-26, and

DPR-64

Docket Nos. 50-003, 50-247, and

50-286

CNRO-2001-00017

Grand Gulf Nuclear Station

Docket No. 50-416 License No. NPF-29

Waterford Steam Electric Station - Unit 3

Docket No. 50-382 License No. NPF-38

Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station

Docket Nos. 50-293 and 030-34378 License Nos. DPR-35 and 20-07626-04

On March 1, 2001, Entergy Nuclear FitzPatrick, LLC, Entergy Nuclear Indian Point 3, LLC, Entergy Nuclear Indian Point 2, LLC, Entergy Nuclear Generation Company, Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc., Entergy Mississippi, Inc., and Entergy Operations, Inc., (EOI) for itself and as agent for Entergy Gulf States, Inc., Entergy Louisiana, Inc., Entergy Arkansas, Inc., and System Energy Resources, Inc., filed an application seeking the consent of the NRC under 10 CFR 50.80 to the indirect transfers of control of Facility Operating Licenses NPF-47 (River Bend Station, Unit 1), NPF-38 (Waterford Steam Electric Station, Unit 3), DPR-51 (Arkansas Nuclear One, Unit 1), NPF-6 (Arkansas Nuclear One, Unit 2), NPF-29



Withdrawal of Application for Indirect Transfers of Control of Facility Operating Licenses CNRO-2001-00017

April 2, 2001

Page 2 of 3

(Grand Gulf Nuclear Station, Unit 1), DPR-59 (James A. FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant), DPR-64 (Indian Point Nuclear Generating Unit No. 3), DPR-35 (Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station), Materials License 20-07626-04 (Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station), DPR-5 (Indian Point Nuclear Generating Unit No. 1) and DPR-26 (Indian Point Nuclear Generating Unit No. 2). These indirect transfers were to occur as a result of the merger between FPL Group, Inc. (FPL Group) and Entergy Corporation (Entergy), and a reorganization within the merged company that would result in EOI becoming a direct wholly owned subsidiary of the new holding company formed by the merger. 1

On April 2, 2001, FPL Group and Entergy mutually agreed to terminate the merger agreement. Therefore, Entergy withdraws its application for indirect license transfers and the related license amendment applications. If you have any questions pertaining to this letter, please contact Entergy's counsel Douglas E. Levanway, 601-968-5524 or Mark Wetterhahn, 202-371-5703.

This letter contains no commitments.

yours truly, Juny w yelvato

Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of Entergy Nuclear FitzPatrick, LLC, Entergy Nuclear Indian Point 3, LLC, Entergy Nuclear Indian Point 2, LLC, Entergy Nuclear Generation Company, Entergy Nuclear Operations, Inc. and Entergy Operations, Inc., (for itself and as agent for Entergy Gulf States, Inc., Entergy Louisiana, Inc., Entergy Arkansas, Inc., System Energy Resources, Inc.)

CC:

(see next page)

¹ Entergy letter CNRO-2001-00008, "Application for Indirect Transfers of Control of Facility Operating Licenses and Material License," dated March 1, 2001

Withdrawal of Application for Indirect Transfers of Control of Facility Operating Licenses CNRO-2001-00017
April 2, 2001
Page 3 of 3

cc:

Mr. C. G. Anderson (N-GSB)

Mr. R. J. Barrett (K-IP3-I111)

Mr. R. M. Bellamy (P-PILG-12)

Mr. W. A. Eaton (G-ESC3-VPO)

Mr. R. K. Edington (R-GSB-40)

Mr. J. F. Groth (IP1 and IP2)

Mr. J. T. Herron (W-GSB-300)

Mr. P. D. Hinnenkamp (M-ECH-579)

Mr. D. C. Hintz (L-ENT-28B)

Mr. M. R. Kansler (K-WPO-H721)

Mr. J. R. McGaha (M-ECH-65)

Ms. C. C. Shanks (M-ELEC-10A)

Mr. T. A. Sullivan (K-JAF-J111)

Mr. G. J. Taylor (M-ECH-65)

Mr. T. W. Alexion NRR Project Manager (ANO-2)

Mr. R. L. Bywater, NRC Senior Resident Inspector (ANO)

Mr. P. D. Drysdale, NRC Senior Resident Inspector (IP3)

Mr. T. R. Farnholtz, NRC Senior Resident Inspector (W-3)

Mr. T. L. Hoeg, NRC Senior Resident Inspector (GGNS)

Mr. N. Kalyanam, NRR Project Manager (W-3)

Mr. E. W. Merschoff, NRC Region IV Regional Administrator

Mr. P. D. Milano, NRR Project Manager (IP2)

Mr. J. L. Minns, NRR Project Manager (IP1)

Mr. H. J. Miller, NRC Region I Regional Administrator

Mr. W. E. Moody, NRR Project Manager (RBS)

Mr. T. W. Pruett, NRC Senior Resident Inspector (RBS)

Mr. R. A. Rasmussen, NRC Senior Resident Inspector (FitzPatrick)

Mr. W. J. Raymond, NRC Senior Resident Inspector (IP2)

Mr. W. D. Reckley, NRR Project Manager (ANO-1)

Mr. L. A. Reyes, NRC Region II Regional Administrator

Mr. S. P. Sekerak, NRR Project Manager (GGNS)

Mr. G. S. Vissing, NRR Project Manager (FitzPatrick)

Mr. A. B. Wang, NRR Project Manager (Pilgrim)

Mr. R. S. Wood, NRC Senior Licensing Financial Policy Advisor

Mr. G. F. Wunder, NRR Project Manager (IP3)