

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

March 12, 2001

J. H. Swailes, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

SUBJECT: MEETING WITH COOPER NUCLEAR STATION

Dear Mr. Swailes:

This refers to the meeting conducted in the Region IV office on March 6, 2001. This meeting was conducted to discuss the licensee's process to revise its overall protective strategy and to introduce the new security manager. The attendance list is enclosed with this summary.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," Part 2, Title 10, Code of Federal Regulations, a copy of this letter and its enclosures will be available electronically for public inspection in the NRC Public Document Room or from the Publicly Available Records (PARS) component of NRC's document system (ADAMS). ADAMS is accessible from the NRC Web site at http://www.nrc.gov/NRC/ADAMS/index.html (the Public Electronic Reading Room).

Should you have any questions concerning this matter, we will be pleased to discuss them with you.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Gail M. Good, Chief Plant Support Branch Division of Reactor Safety

Docket: 50-298 License: DPR-46

Enclosure: Attendance List Nebraska Public Power District

cc w/enclosure: G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Energy Supply Nebraska Public Power District 1414 15th Street Columbus, Nebraska 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

S. R. Mahler, Assistant Nuclear Licensing and Safety Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Dr. William D. Leech Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657

Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-0869

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman Nemaha County Board of Commissioners Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305 Nebraska Public Power District

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, Kansas 66620 Nebraska Public Power District

Electronic distribution from ADAMS by RIV: ADAMS Distribution Code (IE45) Regional Administrator (EWM) DRP Director (KEB) DRS Director (ATH) C:DRS/PSB (GMG) Inspector, DRS/PSB (DWS1) Senior Resident Inspector (JAC) Branch Chief, DRP/C (CSM) Senior Project Engineer, DRP/C (DPL) Section Chief, DRP/TSS (PHH) RITS Coordinator (NBH)

RIV:DRS\PSB	C:PSB				
DWSchaefer:nh	GMGood				
03/12/01	03/12/01				
OFFICIAL RECORD COPY		T=T	elephone	E=E-mai	I F=Fax

DOCUMENT NAME: R:_CNS\2001\CN03-06-01MS-PSB.WPD

-4-

ENCLOSURE

NEBRASKA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT

Security Program March 6, 2001

ATTENDANCE LIST (Please Print Clearly)					
NAME	ORGANIZATION	POSITION/TITLE			
Zane Easley	Cooper Nuclear Station	Security Manager			
Bryan Dettman	Cooper Nuclear Security Manager (outgoing) Station				
Dale Powers	NRC, Region IV	Senior Technical Analyst			
Gail M. Good	NRC, Region IV	Chief, Plant Support Branch			
Charlie Marschall	NRC, Region IV	Chief, Project Branch C, Division of Reactor Projects			
A. Bruce Earnest	NRC, Region IV	Sr. Physical Security Inspector			
Dennis Schaefer	NRC, Region IV	Physical Security Inspector			