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Cardelia Maupin -
Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1O
1 White Flint North o 5
11555 Knockville Pike o
Rockville, Maryland 20852 J7

Dear Cardelia:

This is an update on Minnesota’s progress in preparation to enter into an agreement with the U.S.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to take over the regulation of radioactive materials

licensing.

By way of review, in 1997, a bill was passed enabling the Governor to enter into an agreement
with the NRC to initiate the process of preparing to become an Agreement State. To assist in the
process, an Advisory Committee of current license holders and interested parties was formed in
September 1997. Three subgroups - medical, industrial and research and development - were
formed to look into these areas in greater detail. Meetings with the subgroups were held
periodically in 1998. In late 1998 and the first few months of 1999 an Advisory Committee
formed from members of each of the three subgroups began meeting to discuss several more
general areas of concern. As some very early thoughts of how to write the proposed rules were
put on paper, the Advisory Committee was kept informed.

The radiation staff continues to draft the new rule, Chapter 4731, that incorporates current State
and applicable NRC rules. This draft rule will be submitted to the NRC State and Tribal
Programs office in June 2001 along with the accompanying documentation on licensing and
inspection procedures. The NRC will review this draft request by September 2001.

The Health Department’s budget bill being considered by the Minnesota Legislature establishes
the fee structure for the licenses and extends the August 2002 deadline of getting approval as an
Agreement State to August 2003. This extended deadline is designed only to give us some
flexibility in working with NRC. A copy of the draft bill language is enclosed.

We will provide an opportunity for you to see the draft rule Chapter 4731 this summer and if
there is a need to meet with you to answer your questions and comments.
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For your information there have been some changes in the MN Department of Health. During
1999, Judith Ball, the previous Manager of the Asbestos, Indoor Air, Lead and Radiation Section
resigned and moved to Arizona.

As the new Manager for the Section, I joined the Health Department in January 2000. Sue
McClanahan continues to supervise the Radiation Unit. In addition, in January 2001 the
Radiation Unit moved to the Snelling Office Park (SOP) building at 1645 Energy Park Drive, St
Paul, MN 55108. This is the building in which the Advisory Committee meetings were held. A
list of the new telephone numbers for the Radiation Unit is enclosed.

Please call if you have any questions or comments. I look forward to working with you.

Sincerely,

e Y
Linda Bruemmer, Manager J M -{*0 I/JM

Asbestos, Indoor Air, Lead and Radiation

Environmental Health Division M A""/ -
P.O. Box 64975 'I’o —

St. Paul, Minnesota 55164-0975 M "MW/
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1 sudbd. 2. [PUMP BOIST.] (a) A person may not upe

license or

2 such as a pdxp hoist for an activity requiring~8

3 registration uhr_ _ﬁf”ﬁells or borings, seal

(b} A persoﬁ must,:kbi‘_for the registration on forms

presciibéd by the.'éﬁmissionezxi‘d submit a $56 $75 registration

fee,

\ *] 0~ [+,] (4] [

(c).-fregistration is valid for ong

10 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2000, section 144.1202,

year.

11 subdivision 4, is amendéd to read:

12 Subd. 4. [AGCREEMENT; CONDITIONS OF IMPLEMENTATION, ] (a) An
13 agreement entered into before August 2, 2662 2003, must remain
14 in effect uﬁtil terminafed under the Atomic Energy Act of 1954,
15 United states,Code; title 42, section 2021, paragraph (5). The
16 governor may not enter into an initial agreement with the

17 ©Nuclear Regulatory Commission after August 1, 2682 2003. If an
18 agreement is not enﬁered into by August 1, 2602 2003, any rules
19 adopted under this section are repealed effective August 1, 2002
20 2003. '

21 {b) An agreement authorized under subdivision 1 must be

22 approved by law before it may be implemented.

23 Sec. 29. {144.1205] [RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL; SOURCE AND

24 SPECIAL NUCLEAR MATERIAL; FEES; INSPECTION.}

25 Subdivision 1. [APPLICATICN AND LICENSE RENEWAL FEE.] When

26 a license is required for radicactive material or source or

27 special nuclear material by a rule adopted under section

28 144.1202, subdivision 2, an application fee according to

29 gsubdivision 4 must be paid upon initial application for a

30 license. The licensee must renew the license 60 days before the

31 expiration date of the license by paying a license renewal fee

32 egual to the application fee under subdivision 4. The

33 expiration date of a license is the date setlby the United

34 States Nuclear Regulatory Commission before transfer of the

35 licensing program under section 144.1202 and thereafter as ; K

36 specified by rule of the commissioner of health.

Article 2 Section 29 20



@ N1 o Wt w N

w0

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
.17
i8
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36

02/08/01 [REVISOR ] EB/DN  01-1792

Subd. 2. [ANNUAL FEE.] A licensee must pay an annual fee

at least 60 days before the anniversary date of the issuance of

the license. The annual fee is an amount equal to 80 percent of

the application fee under subdivision 4, rounded to the nearest

whole dollar.

. subd. 3. [FEE CATEGORIES; INCORFCRATION OF FEDERAL

LICENSING CATEGORIES.] (a) Fee categories under this section are

equivalent to the licensing categories used by the United States

Nuclear Regulatory Commission under Code of Federal Requlations,

title 10, parts 30 to 36, 39, 40, 70, 71, and 150, except as

provided in paragraph (b).

(b) The category of "Academic, small" is the type of

license required for the use of radiocactive materials in a

teaching institution. Radicactive materials are limited to ten

radionuclides not to exceed a total activity amount of one curie.

Subd. 4. [APPLICATION FEE.] A licensee mﬁst pay an

application fee as follows:

Radicactive material, Applicatioh - U.S. Nuclear Regulatory

source .and fee Commission licensing

special material category as reference

Type A broadscope $20,000 Medical institution type A

Type B broadscope $15,000 Research and development
type B

Type C broadscope $10,000 Academic type C

Medical use $4,000 Medical

Medical institution

Medical private practice’

Mobile nuclear

medical laboratory $4,000 Mobile medical laborafory

Medical special use

sealed sources $6,000 Teletherapy

High dose rate remote

afterloaders
Stereotactic

radiosurgery devices

Article 2 Section 29 21
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1 In vitro testing $2,300
2
3 Measuring gauge,
4 sealed sources $2,000
5
6
-7
8 Gas chromatographs $1,200
9 Manufacturing and
10 .distribution $14,700
11
12 Distribution oniy $8,800
13
14
15 OQOther services $1,500
16 Nuclear medicine
17 pharmacy $4,100
18 Waste disposal 9,400
19
20
21
22 Waste storage only $7,000
23
24 Industrial
25 radiography $8,400.
26 '
27
28
29 Irradiator -
30 self-shielded $4,100.
31
32 Irradiator -
33 less than 10,000 Ci $£7.,500
34 |
35 Irradiator -
36 more than ;0,000 Ci $11,500

Article 2

Section 29

22

[REVISOR ] EB/DN 01-1792

In vitro testing

laboratories

Fixed gauges
Portable gauges

Analytical instruments

Measuring systems -~ other

Gas chromatographs

Manufécturing and

distribution ~ other

~Distribution of

radicactive material

for commercial use only

Other services

Nuclear pharmacy

Waste disposal service

prepackage

Waste disposal service

processing/repackage

To receive and store

radicactive material waste

Industrial radiography

fixed location

Industrial radiography

portable/temporary sites

Irradiators self-shielded

less than 10,000 curies

Irradiators less than

10,000 curies

Irradiators greater than
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10,000 curies

Research and

development,

no distribution $4,100 Research and development
Radioactive material

possession only $1,000 .~ Byproduct possession only
Source material © 81,000 Source material shielding

Special nuclear

material, less than

200 grams §1,000 Séecial nuclear material

plutonium—neutron sources

less than 200 grams

Pacemaker

manufacturing $1,000 Pacemaker byproduct

and/or special nuclear

material - medical

vinstitution
General license
distribution $2,100 . General license
| distribution
General license
distribution, exempt $1,500 General license
distribution -

certain exempt items

" Academic, small $1,000 Possession limit of ten

radionuclides, not to

exceed a total of one curie

of activity

Veterinary $2,000 Veterinary use
Well logging $5,000 Well logging

Subd, 5. [PENALTY FOR LATE PAYMENT.] An annual fee or a

license renewal fee submitted to the commissioner after the due

date specified by rule must be accompanied bf an additional

amount equal to 25 percent of the fee due.

Subd. 6. [INSPECTIONS.] The commissioner of health shall

make periodic safety inspections of the radiocactive material and

Article 2 Section 29 23
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source and special nuclear material of a licensee. The

commissioner shall prescribe the frequency of safety inspections

by rule.,
Subd. 7. [RECOVERY OF REINSPECTION cosT.) 1f the

commissioner finds serious violations of public health standards

during an inspection under subdivision 6, the licensee must pay

all costs associated with subsequent reinspection of the

source. The costs shall be the actual costs incurred by the

commissioner and include, but are not limited to, labor,

transportation, per diem, materials, legal fees, testing, and

monitoring costs.

Subd. 8. [RECIPROCITY FEE.] A licensee submitting an

application for reciprocal recognition of a materials license

igsued by another agreement state or the United States Nuclear

Regﬁlatory commission for a period of 180 days or less during a

calendar year must pay one-half of the application fee specified

under subdivision 4. For a period of 181 days or more, the

licensee must pay the entire application fee under subdivision 4.

‘subd. 9. [FEES FOR LICENSE AMENDMENTS.] A licensee must

pay a fee to amend a license as follows:

(1) to amend a license requiring no license review

including, but not limited to, facility name change or removal

of a previously authorized user, no fee;

(2) to amend a license requiring review including, but not

limited to, addition of isotopes, procedure changes, new

authorized users, or a new radiation safety officer, $200; and

(3) to amend a license requiring review and a site visit

jincluding, but not limited to, facility move or addition of

processes, $400.

Minnesota Statuteges 2000, section 144.122, is

original aya'renewal permits, licenseég, registrations, and

Article 2 Section 30 24



Dolezal-Hennigan, Alice - 651.643.2142
Doerr, Chuck - 651.643.2137
Donakowski, Tim - 651.643.2128
Goepferd, John - 651.643.2133
Hawkinson, June - 651.643.2131
Holtz, Darrel - 651.643.2134
Jefferson, Johnetta - 651.643.2146
Leland, Tina - 651.643.2147
McClanahan, Sue - 651.643.2127
Peterson, Ron - 651.643.2139

Shaw, Marge - 651.643.2136
VanHorn, Dan - 651.643.2129

Verke, Craig - 651.643.2138
Radiation Receptionist - 651.643.2151
Radiation Fax - 651.643.2152

New Address:

Minnesota Dept. of Health
Radiation Unit

1645 Energy Park Drive, Suite 300
St. Paul, MN 55108



