

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

March 8, 2001

NOTICE OF LICENSEE MEETING

Name of Licensee: Nebraska Public Power District

Name of Facility: Cooper Nuclear Station

Docket: 50-298

EA No.: EA-00-248

Date and Time March 29, 2001 of Meeting: 1-5 p.m. (CST)

Location of Meeting: Region IV office

Training Conference Room

Arlington, Texas

611 Ryan Plaza Dr., Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011-8064

and via video conference link:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

One White Flint 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, MD 20858-2738

Purpose of Meeting: The purpose of this Regulatory Conference is to discuss the risk

significance of a potentially yellow finding and associated apparent

violations involving programmatic environmental qualification design, implementation, and documentation deficiencies addressed in NRC Inspection Report 50-298/00-07.

NRC Attendees: Region IV

- E. Merschoff, Regional Administrator
- K. Brockman, Director, Division of Reactor Projects (DRP)
- A. Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS)
- E. Collins, Deputy Director, DRP
- C. Marschall, Chief, Project Branch C, DRP
- W. Jones, Chief, Project Branch E, DRP
- M. Vasquez, Enforcement Specialist
- K. Kennedy. Senior Reactor Analyst. DRS
- J. Clark, Senior Resident Inspector, DRP
- D. Loveless, Senior Project Engineer, DRP

Office of Executive Director of Operations (EDO)

S. Morris, Regional Coordinator

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR)

- D. Coe, Chief, Reactor Inspection Section, Division of Inspection Program Management (DIPM)
- M. Thadani, Project Manager, Division of Licensing and Project Management
- J. Knox, Senior Electrical Engineer, Division of Engineering
- P. Schemanski, Senior Electrical Engineer, Division of Engineering

Office of Enforcement

C. Nolan, Enforcement Specialist

Licensee Attendees:

- G. Horn, Senior Vice President, Energy Supply
- J. Swailes, Vice President, Nuclear Energy
- J. McDonald, Plant Manager
- N. Wetherell, Senior Manager, Engineering
- M. Boyce, Manager, Licensing
- C. Markert, Manager, Engineering Support
- D. Buman, Assistant Manager, Design Engineering
- R. Wachowiak, Supervisor, Risk Management
- R. Wise, Environmental Qualification Engineer, Contech, Inc.

NOTES:

(1) This meeting is open to attendance by members of the general public. Members of the public who wish to attend by video conference need to contact Mohan Thadani at 301-415-1476.

(2) NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify Charles Marschall at 817-860-8185 by COB on March 23, 2001.

Approved By: ____/RA/____

Charles S. Marschall, Chief Project Branch C Division of Reactor Projects

CC:

J. H. Swailes, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Energy SupplyNebraska Public Power District 1414 15th StreetColumbus, Nebraska 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

S. R. Mahler, Assistant Nuclear Licensing and Safety Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Dr. William D. Leech Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657

Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-0869 Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Chairman
Nemaha County Board of Commissioners
Nemaha County Courthouse
1824 N Street
Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Sue Semerena, Section Administrator Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, Kansas 66620

E-Mail To

LPL

() NRC Attendees

PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

P. Longdo

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP OEMAIL D/OE

VLO Vonna Ordaz

TXR T. Reis

C. Hackney, RSLO CAH G. Sanborn, EO GFS M. Vasquez, ES GMV B. Henderson, PAO BWH JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF, TBH **DRP** Division LMB, NLH **DRS** Division CMS, JAK **DNMS** Division JLP J. Pellet

R:\ CNS\CN3-29MN-DRP.wpd

RIV:PE:DRP/C	PAO	RSLO	D:ACES	C:DRP/C
WCSifre;df	BWHenderson	CAHackney	GFSanborn	CSMarschall
/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/	/RA/
3/7/01	3/8/01	3/8/01	3/8/01	3/8/01