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Rule Making Activities

Department of Health

PROPOSED RULE MAKING
NO HEARING(S) SCHEDULED

New Fee Schedule for Radiation Protection Programs
LD. No. HLT-04-01-00003-P

PURSUANT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THE State Administrative Pro-
cedure Act, NOTICE is hereby given of the following proposed ruie:
Propased action: Amendment of sections 16.10, 16.21, 16.40, 16.41 and
16.50 of Title 10 NYCRR.

Statutory suthority: Public Health Law, section 225(5Xp) and ()
Subject: New fee schedule for radiation protection programs.

Purpose: To support the Department of Health's regulatory program for
X-ray registrants and radioactive materials licensees.
Sumolpmpondmk:hnlﬁofmesmsmmcweis
memdmmvisctheschednlaforfeuwbechmdwndnﬁonequip-
ment facilities registered by the department and to institute new fees to be
chugedmndioocﬁvemamiahumwhomwmbyme
department. The amendments affect sections 16.10, 16.21 and 16.50 of the
exisu‘nng16mm~omwwcdom16.40m1&41.mmm
these sections are summarized in the following: .
Section 16.10 - Inspections, surveys, checks and tests: vacating installa-
uons; securing radiation sources.

Paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of section 16.10 is amended to delete
all requirements dealing with the payment of fees.

Section 16.21 - Radiation installation; fees for inspection and other radia-
tion protection services,

Existing section 16.21 is repeaied in its eatirety and the mumber is
reserved.

A new Section 16.40 Fees is added with the following requirements:

Fee requirements: Uniess exempt, all facilities that are required
register their radiation equipment with the department, or to hold a radio-
acdvematainhlicenseisawdbythcdepummtequhdwpyfea.

Exemptions: Agencies of New York State and its poitical subdivi-
sions, except for hospitals and higher education academic institutions
openwdbymhmmexempt&omnufeu.m,mﬁonequip-
ment facilitics that are registered by New York City Department of Health
orholdaradioacﬁvemhhuoemebyNewYakCi:yDeplmmof
Hulmmnasubjecxmmm.unleudnymoboldamMmou
liccmeuwedbytbedepumlnmehmm.feunpplyonlywux
activities registered or licensed by the department.

nymemoffml’eammsedmﬂly,mdmtobepﬁdwimm
30 days from billing,

Prorating fees: Fees for a period other than one year will be prorated to
correspond to the period covered by the bill,

No refund policy: Except when a is not ired, no fees will
be payment required

Failure 1o pay fees: The department may not issue. or may suspend or
revoke an existing registration or a license if fees are not pad.

Fees charged by others: The amendment does not alter the ability of
NY City Department of Health or any county bealith: deparunent's ability to
charge fees for its regulatory activities, as long as these fees are consistent
with its authority to charge fees under the Public Heaith Law,

Also, Certified Radiation Equipment Safety Officers can continue to
charge fees for the inspection of X-ray equipment provided that such fees
do not exceed the estimated cost of their services.

Fees paid prior 1o the effective date of this amendment: When assessing
the naw fees, credit will be allowed for the portion of the registrauon fee
paid by a facility which covers a period which extends beyond the effectve
date of the new fee schedule.

Late payment of fees: A late payment charge will be assessed at the rate
of 1.5%for each 30 day late period or part thereof,

Section 16.41 Fee schedule.
A new section 16.41 is added with the followi requirements:
Fee Schedules for radiation equipment ftcih;‘l:ss:

Non-exempt radiation equipment facilities registered by the depar-
ment are assessed two types of fees; a registration fee that is the same for
all faciliies and an annual fee which varies according to the type of
equipment used by the registered facility. N

The proposed annual fees are as follows:

(a) Registration Fees. The annual registration fee is S5O for each
registration issued to a facility.

{b) Radiation Equipment Facility Fee Categories. For the purpose of
assessing annual fees, all radiation equipment facilities registered by the
department are categorized in one of six categories accoerding to the fol-
lowing:

Category I: Facilities with any five or more of the modalities listed
below;

Category II: Facilities with three or four modalities;

Category [II: Facilities with two medical modalities;

Category IV: Facilities with one medical modality and annual pauent
workload of 750 examinations or more;

Category V: Facilities with one medical modality and patient annual
workload of less than 750 examinations, and all other facilities with one or
two of the non-medical modalities except as listed under Category VI,

Category VI: Dental, podiatric, bone densitometry or veterinary facili-
tes.

Themodlliﬁutobeusedindeterminingthfeecmgory for registered
radiation equipment facilities are:

Medical Modalities: radiography, flucroscopy, computed tomography, an-
giography, stereotactic breast biopsy systems, Greaz/orthovoltage therapy
utilized on humans. )

Non-medical Modalities: radiograpby, fluoroscopy, andlytical equipment
(including electron microscopes, fluorescence analysis and x-ray diffrac-
tion equipment), computed tomography and particle accelerators, not uti-
lized on humans.

{c) Facility Fee Schedule for Radiation Equipment Facilities Routinely
Inspected by the Department. All radiation equipment facilities, not ex-
empe from fees, that are routinely inspected by the department shall. in
addition to the registration fee, be assessed annual fees according to the
following schedule:

Category [ facilities: $1,370
Category II facilities: $1,030
Category I facilities: § 60
Category IV facilities: $ 275
Category V facilities: $ 140

Category VI facilities: $ 75

(d) Fee Schedule for Radiation Equipment Facilities Routinely In-
specwdbynLocalHu!thDepumorbyaCaﬁﬁedRAqigqonEqmp-
ment Safety Officer. All registered radiation equipment facilities not ex-
emptfromfeuthnmmumlyimpemdby:quhamdemm
certified by the department to perform such inspections or by a certified
radiation equipment safety officer as directed by the ¢ shall, i
addition to the registration fee prescribed in subdivision (a) of this section,
be assessed an annual fee according to the following schedule:
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Category I facilities: §425
Category 11 facilities: $320
Category III facilities: $210
Category IV facilities: s 85
Category V facilities: $ 45
Category VI facilides: $ 15

(e) Fee Categories for Radioactive Materials Licensees and Radiation
Therapy Facilities. For the purpose of assessing annual fees, all facilities
holding licenses issued by the departm«i: for the use or possession of
radioactive matenals. and all facilives of..iating medical therapy accelera-
tors registered by the department are categorized in one or more of six
categories according to the following:

Category [: Facilities issued a broad scope medical license;

Category IL. Faculities isried a broad scope academic ot broad scope
research and development ficense;

Category III: Facilities issued a specific license which allows the use of
radioactive materiais for both auciear medicine and brachytherapy, or 2
license which authorizes the operation of a nuclear pharmacy in an institu-
ticn or a pharmaceutical productioa cyclogon;

Category I[V: Facilities operating a medical therapy accelerator and/or
facilities issued a spes fic license which authorizes the use of radioactive
materials in nuclear wnedicine, brachytherapy, mobile muclear medicine
service, teletherapy (including Co-60 teletherapy and gamma knife), re-
search and development, academic uses, veterinary medicine or large

Category V: Facilities issued a specific license which authorizes the
use of radioactive materials in a clinical laboratory, lead paint analyzers,
mobile nuclear medicine sites, leak tests, equipment calibration, seif
shielded irradiators, diagnostic sealed sources, and any other use not in-
cluded in categories I through VT as listed in this subdivision;

Category VI: Facilities issued a specific license for use of radioactive
materials in gas

joacti Therapy Fee Schedule. (1) Except

for facilities exempt from fees, all facilities that boid a radicactive materi-
als license issued by the i

Category [ facilities $5,265
Category 1 facilities: $3,510
Category [TI facilities: $1,400
Category IV facilities § 830
Category V facilities: $ 350

[V fee will be assessed for each of the following types of services author-
ized by a radicactive materials license or a registration of a medical
therapy accelerator:

- miclear pharmacy

therapy accelerators (Caregory IV)
veterinary medicine service (Camegory IV)
trradiazors (Casegory IV)
researclr and development, except for Category I and II licenses
(Category IV)

Tower, Rm. 2415,
Empire Stase Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-7488, FAX: (518) 473-
488, ¢-mail: regsqna@bealth state ny.us

Data, visws or srguments may be submitted to: Same as above.
Public comment will be received untll: 45 days afer publication of this

g.

authority for the regulatory radiation program is Public
Health Law sections 201(1)(!)“225(4)“225(5)@)“(@). These

give the department the aathority to register and inspect installations with

10

radistion equipment and to license and inspect the transfer, receipt, posses-
sion and use of radioactive materials, other than special nuclear materials
In quantities sufficient to form a critical mass. They also authorize the
depumgmtoctnmemgimdonfeunanemeedamofmperye-
and, subject to the approval by the commissioner and the director of the
Wm;emqummmh&ufam&wdmm
other radiation protection services not exceeding the estimated costs of
suchservm,axaptaﬁofdnhmoflmmwthembml
HedthSpecthevenueFund-Otha(SRO).Chlp(e-tlZ.P:nL,secdcn
22 of the laws of 1999 allows the deposit of the f : collected by the
department into the account of this SRO. :
Legislative Objectives

TheLegishmnlmcndedanubﬁcI-{uhhuwmwSStoempow
mwmmmmmmmmemofmm
unnecessary eXposure to patients, operators and the public. In the follow-
ing years, the department instituted & regulatory program in which entiti
operating radiation equipment or possessing or using radicactive materials
in medicine, education or basic resesrch were regulated by the department
or by an equivalent program by the New Yok City Department of Health,
The program is progressive, utilizing appropriste
and radiation protection criteria to ensure that the legisiative mandate of
protecting the public health and safety is fuifilled. »

Section 225(5Xq) of the Public Health Law also authorized the depart-
ment to recover the cost of the programs by charging adequate and reason-
abie fees for its regulatory activities. Such fees will enable the program to
maintain the staffing level required to conduct a program which meets the
legislative mandate. By establishing a Special Revenue Other fund in 1999
and eliminating all support from the general fund, the Legislature intended
the program to be funded through fees. ’
Needs and Benefits

The public and occupationally exposed individuals benefit from a
regulatory program which aims at optimizing the exposure needed to

patients keeping radistion doses as iow as reasonably
achievable. To that end the department has developed and implemented a
radiation protection which fosters the conduct of effective radia-
tion safety (RS) programs by all regulated entities and quality assurance
(QA) programs by medical and chiropractic facilities.

the department (CLHU) to conduct all or part of the mspection of installa-
York City Departnent of Health and Duschess, Nisgara, Rockiand, Suf-
folk, Ulser and Weschester County Health Departments inspect all instal-
sm County Health Department inspects medical and chivopractic x-ray

the CLHUs. Department staff condmct all inspections not carried out by
CLHU staff or by CRESOs. This inciudes all instaliations with radiaticn
cquipment, other thaa deatal, podiatric or veterinary facilities, in SO coun-
ties of the stass.

The department aleo issues licenses 10, and periodically inspects, ail
eatities outside New York City bounsdaries that possess or use radicactive
materials in medicine, education or basic ressarch. In addition o meeting
uwmmwamnwmﬂu

compatibility with the federal progeam is recmised wader & 1962 agreemene
between New York State and the US Atomic Bpargy Comurission, the
predecessor of the NRC, under which the NIC reljnquishes its suthority o

estimases that it aceds a smdY of 26 fulF thme eguivelent potitions a a tal
cost of about $2.5 million sasmally. Becanss of eninting fanding from other



NYS Register/January 24, 2001

Rule Making Activities

sources, ooly a portiot, equal to about 75%, of this cost needs to be
recovered through fees. The amount of $1,884,300 was appropriated in FY
2000-2001 budget for the radiation protecticn program SRO. Fee sched-
ules proposed in this amendment are designed to recover approximately
this amount annuaily.

Costs

Cost to State Government:

This proposal will generate revenue in the amount of $1,875,000/year
for the NYS Department of Health, which will allow it to continue to carry
out 1ts radiation protection program. and will result in an equal amount of
savings to the state general fund.

Existing regulations exempt all state government facilities from fees.
Under this proposal all state government facilities, except for hospitals and
higher education nsutunons operated by government agencies, will con-
tinue to be exempt from fecs. Non-exempe state facilities will be assessed
annuai fees, which range from $880 for 1 SUNY college to about $6,145
for a large university with a medical college and & hospital. Other facilities
will have annual fees that fall between these two extremes and which
depend upon the namre and complexity of their programs in which x-rays
or radioactive materials are used. There are 29 currently exempt state
operated hospitals and universities/colleges that will pay a total of $65,085
in fees. Of this total, $17.660 is for X-ray registrants and $47.425 for
radicactive materiais use.

Cost to Local Government:

Existing regulations exempt all local government facilities from fees.
Under this proposal all local government facilities. except for 27 commu-
nity hospitals and higher education institutions (11 have both radiation
equipment and radioactive materials license, 14 have radiation equipment
and two have radioactive materials licenses only), will continue to be
exempt from fees. Non-exempt local facilities wiil be assessed annnal fees
which range from $50 for a community coilege to about $3,650 for a large
county medical center. Other facilities will have annual fees that fall
between these two extremes and which depend upon the nature and com-
piexity of their programs in which x-rays or radioactive materials are used.
Cost to Private Regulated Parties:

There are about 10,400 private installations with radiation equipment
and about 500 radioactive materiai installations that are regulated by the
department and will be impacted by this fee proposal. Currently, entities
issued radicactive materials licenses by the department pay no fees. Radia-
O equIpMeEnt regisrants pay a registration fee at the rate of $20 annually
and an inspection fee, if inspected by the department, which ranges from
$86 to $286 every two to three years. This proposal will increase the fees
significantly to all private regulated entities. Fees were developed for the
radiation equipment registrants and radioactive material licensees pro-
grams separately based on the effort expended by the departmen: on the
respective programs. For each program, facilities were divided into six fee
categaries which are believed to provide an equitable estimate of the
department’s effort in regulating these entities.

Radioactive Material Licensees/Radiation Therapy [nstailations:

The proposed annual fees for these entities are as follows:

Fee Schedule for Radioactive Materials Facilities Licensed by NYS DOH

Annusl | Towal# | Privas
Category Example Fes Paying | [nsallation

I Large medical cemser $5.265 6 3
a Large university $3.510 13 7
m Hospitals providing $1,400 72 70

nuciear medicine and

brachytherapy
v Hospitals or physicians | $880 k2 3

providing nuclear

fici

v Clinicai Labaorssories 3350 36 34

I V1 | Gaschromsographs 13350 | 2 | o

Radiation Installations registered with New York Stase Department of
Health:

AAllpdvmimulh‘xianwimndhnoneunMm i
wnmmedepqmemwﬂlpuy;mmmfeeuunmofsmpayw
md_madd:uonglanmﬂfee.Becmxnmauimlhdomwithndnﬁm

by
weredevelopedfortheannulfea;onenppﬁawmoumtinelym-
spectedbythechDOH.ammeodufm!bouinSpectedbyaCU{U.or
by a CRESO. A registered radiation instailation will Pay a registation fee
plus the applicable annual fee in the schedule below:

Fee Schedule for Radiation Installations Registered with NYS DOH

State nspecied |Noa-State Inspected
Facilities Facilities
| Annuai | Number | Anaual | Number
Category Example Fee Paying Fee | Paying

i i
E 1 Large Hospital, $1.370 n $428 , 20
i ) University or |
i Radiology Practice |
! O |MediumHospitaior |$1030 | 147 | $320 | 112
f Radiology Practice !
i i Small Hospital ce $ 690 127 $210 116
! Radiology Practice
| IV | Physician. Chirapractor | $ 275 ®1 | s35 | 852
B - > 750 studies'yesr |
v Physician, Chiropracior | $ 140 pal | $45 ! 663
| - < 750 studies/year .
: VI Dentists $75 -0- $15 ' 7593

Ilshouldbenowdthuimulmiomnotinspectedbymedepmem
willalsopayaninspectionfeemdnCU{UaCRESOwhoperformstbeir
inspection. FeuauusedbyCI_HUadeRESO:varybycountyor
individual.

Local Government Mandates

Thinyfnciliﬁaopenmdbyloalgovmwinberequimdwpny
applicable fees as described above,

Paperwork

Thislmendmemrequirumgumdenﬁt’mwmmitmwpaymm
totbeDeplmem.lnordammduced:mmlzofpaymn.medepm-
ment will combine the registration fee with the annual fee in one annual
bill.
Duplication

misamndmentdoanotdupliwemyomummctfedenlmguh-
tions. The US FDA regulstes mammographty and imposes a fee on facili-
ties providing such services in NY State. In order to avoid duplication,
mammography was intentionally left cut from the list of modalities which
determine x-ray fee categories in this proposed amendment. A facility that
onlypmvﬂeumammoyuphymwmﬂoulymﬂriﬁmmon
fee, but will not be assessed an annual fee by the department.
Alternatives

One siternative is to keep the frequency of inspections and the sumber
ofmwwummym.ummmmedepm-
ment collects about $250.000 sanmally in registration and inspection fees

program. As indicated in “Needs and Benefits™ section above, the depart-
ment needs (o raise about 75% of its program cost from fees in order to
maincain a viable regulatory program.

Federal Standards

The proposal does not exceed any federal government standards.
Compliance Schedule

The NY State budget for FY 2000-2001 sssumes that the department
will support its regulatory program through the SRO established in that
budget. Therefore, the proposed fees will become effective upon adoption
of this amendment
Contact Person:

William Johnson, Department of Health, Division of Legal Affairs,
Office of Regulstory Reform, Corning Tower, Rm. 2415, Empire Stuse
Plaza, Albany, NY 12237, (518) 473-7488, FAX: (518) 473-7488, ¢-mail:
regsqna@heaith stase. iy .us
Comments submitted to department personnel other than this contact per-
son may not be included in any assessment of public comment issued for
this regulation.

Reguistory Flexibility Analysls
Effect on Small Business and Local Governments

1
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The proposed rule will apply to about 9.800 small businesses and 29
local government entities that operate radiation eq The small
businesses affected include about 6,000 dentists, 740 podiatrists, 740 vet-
erinarians, 1,340 physicians and 940 chiropractors. The local government
entities affected include 9 hospitais and 20 colleges and universities.

In addition, about 214 small businesses and 14 local government hospi-
tals and universiues, outside New York City, are issued radioactive materi-
als licenses by the deparument and will be affected by this rule. The smail
businesses inciude 22 clinical laborateries, about 164 physicians, 3 Red
Cross facilities, 8 veterinarians and | 7 research and development facilities.
Compliance Requirements

The only compliance requirement added by this rule is the payment of a
fee which will be billed angually: No reporting or recordkeeping is re-
quired other than the maintsnance of the record of payment.

Professional Services

No new professional services are required to meet the requiremnents of
this amendment.
Compliance Costs

The costs to the affected regulated entities relative to this amendment
are limited to the assessed fees. The fees were caiculated on the basis of the
deparument’s effort to regulate different types of entities. For installations
with radiation equipment, the fees vary depending upon the number of
radiation equipment modalities registered. For radioactive material licen-
sees, the fees vary depending upon the nature of their use of radicactive
materials. Medical facilities performing radiation therspy in addition to
using radioactive materials in diagnostic nuclear medicine are assessed a
higher fee than those that perform diagnostic procedures only.

Annual fees for radiation installations with radiation equipment that are
registered with the department

For installations with radiation equipment that are registered by the
department, the assessed fee depends upon whether the entities are in-
spected by the department staff or other inspecting parties. Eight county
health departments perform radiation equipment inspections within their
Jurisdiction and bill instailations for this function. Also, dental, podiatric
and veterinary facilities that are not inspected by county health department
staff are inspected by independent inspectors, Centified Radiation Equip-
ment Safety Officers (CRESO), certified for that purpose by the depart-
ment. As a resuit, two fee levels were developed for the same type of
installation, depending upon who routinely inspects them.

Dentists, podiatrists and veterinarians will experience an increase of
their annual radiation equipment fees from $20 to $6S. For 203 chiroprac-
tic facilities inspected by department staff the fee will increase from $50 to
$190 per year. For another 663 chiropractors who are inspected by county
health department staff, the increase will be from $20 w0 $§85 per year.
About 35 physicians who perform less than 750 x-ray examinations will
pay $190 in fees, and another 500 who perform more than 750 examina-
uons per year will pay $325 per year. The current fee paid by physicians
ranges from $50 to $65 per year. The 850 physicians not routinely in-
spected by the will see an increase in fees from $20 to $95
(<750 exams) or to $135 (>750 exams).

There are 132 radiologists and radiology clinics inspected by the de-
partment. The number of x-ray modalities used by these facilitics ranges
from one modality with a fee of $325, to five modalities with a fee of
$1,420 annuaily. Current fees for radiologists inspected by the department
range from about $50 to $85. A similar number of radiologists i
local heaith departments will see an increase in fees from $20 to $95 (coe
modality) to $475 (five modalities).

In addition, eieven hospitals and 13 colleges and universities operated
by local governments will no longer be exempted from paying radiation

equipment fees o the department. These include nine hospitals that are
inspected by the department staff and will be assessed fees ranging from
$125 t0 $1,420 anmually. Two other bospitals are inspected by CLHD staff
and will be assessed an annual fee of $475 each.

Seven colleges/universities opersted by local government are inspected
by department staff and will be assessed fees of $125 to $1,080 annuaily.
Six others are inspected by CLHD staff and will be assessed fees that range
from $63 to $370 annually.

Twenty-seven local/community hospitals and colleges will pay a toal
fee of $26,150 in fees. Of this o, $12,820 are for X-ray registrants and
$13,330 for radioactive materials users.

Annual fees for entities holding a radicactive maserial license issued by the
department and certain installations using accelerstors for medical therapy

No radioactive materials fees are currently paid by any of the regulated
entities. The amount of such fees that are proposed to be assessed o the
different small business and local government catities depend upoa the
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nawure of their use of the radioactive materials. The annual fees for smali
businesses will range from about $50 for a facility that only operazes a gas
chromatograph to $880 for physicians licensed to use radiocactive mazerials
in nuclear medicine or cardiology procedures. A clinical laboratory wiil be
assessed a fee of $350. Eight veterinary facilities using radicactive mateti-
ais in animal care will be assessed a fee of $880 each, American Red Croes
sites that use radioactive materials sources will be assessed a fee of $350
each. The cost o local government coileges using radicactive materiais
ranges from $50 to $880 for a college with a more invoived use of
radioactive materials in educationai and research programs. Fees to locai
government hospitals range from $830 for use in diagnostic nuclear
medicine to §3,160 for a large county medical center active 1n research,
clinical medicine and radiation therapy.
Minimizing Adverse [mpact

The estimated fee recovers about 75% of the total cost to the depart-
ment of its regulatory radiation protection program. Other sources of funds
are used to make up for the remaining 25% of the cost which reduces the
adverse fiscal impact on the regulated facilities. Also, government oper-
ated hospitals, colleges and universities that were previously exempted
from the fees will now be assessed fees which helps reduce the amount
charged to private facilities.
Feasibility Analysis

The proposed amendment will result in increased fees for regulated
entities, as described above. However, the amount of the fees assessed
depend upon the nature of the programs and, in some cases, the volume of
the services provided by facilities. Those providing a lower volume of x-
ray services will pay less than those providing a higher volume of x-ray
services of a wider range of services.
Small Business and Local Governmeat Participation

The fee scheduies proposed in this amendment were shared with all’
local health departments and 1S of the small businesses affected by the
pmpouLItwuaboshuedwimmeRadioloﬁalSocietyofNewYork
State, the New York State Chi Association, the New York State
Medical Society, all local of the Dental Society of New York
State, the Healthcare Association of New York State, the Campus Radia-
uonSafetyOtﬁealmdtheCanﬂedRmnonEqummSafetyOf-

WMM“O&WRWMM

The only compiiance requirement added by this rule is the payment of 2
fee which will be billed annuaily. No additional reporting, record keeping
or other compliance requirements are imposed by this amendment.
Raral Ares Flexibility Asalysis
Types and Estimated Number of Rural Areas

Approximately 2430 rural facilities statewide will be assessed higher
fees to support the regulatory program. These include about 85 hospitais
and clinics, 307 physicians, 144 chiropractors, 1230 dentists, 266 podia-
trists, 327 veterinarians, § clinical iaboratories and 46 educational facili-

ties.
Professionai Services
No additional professional services will be needed in rural areas in
order to comply with the proposed amendment.
Costs

orCRBSOs.mmeexcepnoudUhquy which conducts an x-ray
undamemspnadth

See Appendix printed in the back of this issee.

Minimizi : I
The estimased fee recovers about 75% of the twotal cost to the deparnt-
ment of the Other sources of fands are used

progran. make
uptummzssdummmumum
mmhwwmmwm
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State Medical Society, the Dental Society of New York State, the Health-
care Association of New York State, the Campus Radiation Safety Officers
and the Certified Radiation Equipment Safety Officers. These orgamza-
tions have membership from and interest in rural areas. Letters were sent o
about 20 individual practitioners, colleges and uruversities 1n rural areas.

Comments submitted to department personne! other than this contact
person may not be included in any assessment of public comment issued
for thus reguiation. '
Job Impact Statement
Nature of Impact

Some of the physicians who perform a small number of x-ray examina-
tons may disconunue their x-ray service or stop employing a radiologic
technologist 1n their offices hecause of the increase in fees.
Categories and Numbers, A fected

As most physicians with low x-ray workload have aiready discontinued
providing such services from their offices, the number of radiological
technoiogists’ jobs which may be eliminated as a resuit 1s expected 0 be
quite small (less Jian 5).
Regions of Adverse Impact

No specific region of the state is expected to be impacted by this
amendrment more than others, except that New York City facilities are not
affected by this proposal.
Minimizing Adverse Impact

Facilities most likely to feel the fiscal impact are the ones with a
smaller volume of x-ray studies. These facilities are assessed a smailer fee
than similar facilities with s larger number of patient exams. Thus, facili-
des with larger incomes from x-ray services carry a larger portion of the
fee burden.
Self-employment Oppormnities

The department uses CRESOs to perform x-ray inspections of dental,
podiatric and veterinary facilities outside counties with CLHUSs. The fees
assessed from these facilities are kept low (365 per year) and should not
result in the closing of any of these facilities. Therefore, no adverse impact
is expected which will reduce the seif-employment opportunities of the
CRESOs.

13



New Fee Schedule for Radiation Protection Programs

LD. No. HLT-04-01-00003-P APPENDIX
A
Fees for Installations with Radiation Equipment that are in Rural Counties
and Inspected by NYS DOH Staff
Type of Facilities Category | Est. Current | Proposed Number Total
Fee' Fee' Registered | Proposed Fee
Facility with 5 or more modalities (e.g. large { $133 $1420 0 0
hospital or university)
Facility with 3-4 modulities (e.g. medium 11 $103 $1080 75 $ 81,000
hospital, large radidlogy practice)
Facility with 2 modalities (e.g. smail hospital, 111 $83 $740 5 $ 3,700
small radiology practice) ' '
Physician, chiropractor >750 studies/year v $63 $325 271 $88.075
Physician, chiropractor <750 studies/year, A $47 $190 179 $34,010
colleges
Bone densitometer Vi $37 $125 21 $2,625
Dentist, veterinarians, podiatrists ° VI $20 $65 1,733 $112,645
Total — Under proposed fee $322,055
Under current fee $69,063
Increase $252,992

Fees for Installations with Radiation Equipment that are Located in Ulster County

and Inspected by Ulster County Health Dept. Staff *

Type of Facilities Category | Est. Curreat | Proposed | Number Total
Fee' Fee’ | Registered | Proposed Fee
Facility with 5 or more modalities (e.g. large [ $20 $ 475 0 0
hospital or university)
Facility with 3-4 modalities (e.g. medium I $20 $ 370 4 $ 1,430
hospital, large radiology practice)
Facility with 2 modalities (e.g. small hospital, HI $20 $ 260 1 $ 260
small radiology practice)
Physician, chiropractor >750 studies/year v $20 $ 135 13 $ 1,755
Physician, chiropractor <750 studies/year, v $20 $ 95 13 $ 1,235
colleges v A
Bone densitometer, dentist, veterinarians, VI $20 $ 65 110 $ 7,150
podiatrists
Total - Under proposed fee $ 11,880
Under curremt fee $ 2,820
Increase . $ 9,060
Increase including ail rural counties { | $ 262,052
' Includes $20 annual registration fee
? Includes $50 annual registration fee

} Normally inspected by and pay an additional inspection fee to CRESOs.
*Facilities pay an additional fee to Ulster County for inspection services
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Fees for Radioactive Materials Licensees and Radiation Installations that Use Accelerators

for Medical Therapy that are in Rural Counties

| ‘ Type of Facilities

p——

Category |

Proposed Fee

Number Licensed

Total Fees

Broad scope medical license

|

[
|

$5.265

0

o

Broad scope academic or broad scope and

research development license

|
i
1
!
i
;
i
|
|

I

$3.510

1

W
wa
AF
<o

Specific license which allows the use of
radioactive materials for both nuclear medicine
and brachytherapy, or a license which authorizes
the operation of a nuclear pharmacy at an

tnstitution pharmaceutical production cyclotron

11

$1,400

S

Facilities operating a medical therapy accelerator
and/or facilities issued a specific license which
authorizes the use of radioactive materials in
nuclear medicine, brachytherapy, mobile nuclear
medicine service, teletherapy (including Co-60
teletherapy and gamma knife), research and
development, academic uses, veterinary medicine

or large irradiators

v

5880

37

Specific license which authorizes the use of
radioactive materials in a clinical laboratory, lead
paint analyzers, mobile nuclear medicine sites,
leak tests, equipment calibration, seif shielded
irradiators, diagnostic sealed sources, and any
other use not included in categories I through VI

as listed in this subdivision.

$ 350

$1.750

Specific license for use of radioactive materials in

gas chromatographs.

Vi

$ 50

$50

Total

$ 37,870

Total New Radioactive Materials and X-Ray Fees
from rural areas.

$ 299,922 _

24



NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH -RADIATION PROTECTION FEE PROPOSAL
New language is underlined; brackets indicate deleted language.

Pursuant to the authority vested in the Public Health Council by Section 225 of the Public Health Law, Part 16
of the State Sanitary Code, as contained in Chapter 1 of Title 10 (Health) of the Official Compilation of Codes,
Rules and Regulations of the State of New York, is hereby amended as follows:

Paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of section 16.10 is amended to read as follows:

(1) Any radiation installation subject to the registration requirements of section 16.50(a) of this Part shall
be [surveved] inspected periodically to assure compliance with this Part and the maintenance of radiation
exposures as far below the limits set forth in this Part as is reasonably achievable. [The person who establishes.
maintains or operates such radiation installation shall, when the installation is inspected by the State Department
of Heaith or a health officer having jurisdiction, as provided in this paragraph, pay the inspection fee or fees
charged for the inspection pursuant to section 16.21 of this Part. Payment shall be made, within 30 days after
the billing date, to, and in the manner prescribed by, the department or the health officer having jurisdiction,
whichever made the inspection.] Except as otherwise provided in subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph, [such|
inspections shall be made at a frequency as specified in subparagraph (i) of this paragraph, with the first
inspection of an installation to be made at the time of the beginning of operation and subsequent inspections not
to exceed the maximum interval specified for such installation in subparagraph (i) of this paragraph. The
inspection shall be performed in a manner, and reported in writing on a form, prescribed by the department. The
person who makes the inspection shall include in such report all recommendations necessary to accomplish
compliance with this Part, and to reduce radiation exposure as far below the limits set forth in this Part as
reasonably achievable. The inspection shall be made by the department, the New York City Department of
Health or, as the department shall direct, by the appropriate county or part-county health officer having
Jurisdiction or by a certified radiation equipment safety officer. Such county or part county [,] health officer or
the New York City health commissioner shall make the inspection only under an inspection program that 1s
[conducted by him/her and] certified by the department in writing [to him/her] as approved and in effect. He/she
may make the inspection [him/herself] or have it made by [his/her] a duly authorized representative approved for
such purpose by both such health officer and the department. The operator of an installation required to be
mspected by a certified radiation equipment safety officer, shall be solely responsible for having all such required
inspections made. [The requirement of the payment of inspection fees shall not apply to the State of New York
or any political subdivision thereof or any agency or instrumentality of either.]

Existing subparagraph (iv) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of section 16.10 is hereby REPEALED.
Existing section 16.21 is REPEALED and reserved.
New section 16.40 is added to read as follows:

16.40 Fees

(a) General requirement. Unless exempt under subdivision (b) of this section, no person shall establish,
maintain or operate a radiation instaliation with radiation equipment, that is subject to the registration
requirements of section 16.50 of this Part, or hold a radioactive materiais license as required pursuant to the
licensing requirements of section 16.100 of this Part, except upon payment of the applicable fees prescribed in

this section and section 16.41 of this Part.




. (1) Agencies of the State of New York and its political subdivisions. except for hos itals
and higher education academic institutions operated bv such agencies. are exempt from the pavment of anv of

the fees prescribed in this section and section 16.41 of this Part.

(2) Any operator of a radiation installation that is registered with the New York Citv Department of Health
or any person that holds a radioactive material license issued bv the New York Citv Department of Health,
pursuant to section 16.50(j) and section 16.1(b)(3), respectivelv, of this Part is exempt from paving the fees
prescribed in this section and section 16.41 of this Part, unless thev also hold a registration certificate or a
radioactive material license issued by the department for which fees are applicable. In the latter case. the

applicable fees for the activities registered or licensed by the department shall be assessed.
(c) Payment of fees. (1) Each application for a radiation installation registration or for a new radioactive

matenal license, shall be accompanied by a remittance of the full amount of the applicable annual fees prescribed
in section 16.41 of this Part. Annual fees for each subsequent vear shall become due on each anniversarv date

thereafter, determined bv the date of original registration or license issued.

(2) Any operator of a radiation installation who holds a current radiation installation registration certificate
issued pursuant to this Part or any person who holds a current radioactive material license issued pursuant to this

Part, shall pay the prescribed annual fee as billed by the department. Payment of fees shall be made within the

30 day period immediately following the billing date. A late payment charge will be assessed at the rate of one
and one half percent for each 30 day late period or part thereof.

(3) The pavment of all fees prescribed by this Part shall be by check or money order made pavable to the New

York State Department of Health.

(d) Prorating fees. For administrative purposes, the department may alter the fee due date and charge a fee
for a period greater or less than one year. In such case the amount of the fee due will be prorated to correspond

to the length of the period covered by the bill.

() No refund policy. Except in those cases where the department has determined that a payment of fees is
not required, no fees, or portions thereof, paid to the department pursuant to this Part shall be refundable.

(f) Failure to pay prescribed fee. If an applicant for a license or registration fails to remit with such application

the full amount of the fees as prescribed by this Part, the department will not process the application and will
notify the applicant that the application will not be processed uniess fees are first paid. The department may
revoke, suspend or amend a registration or radioactive material license in whole or in part for failure to pav all
prescribed annual fees due.

(g) Registration fees charged by New York City Department of Health. Provided that a written schedule of
the registration fees to be charged by the New York City Department of Health. not to exceed $50 per vear per
installation, has been submitted, in the manner prescribed. to. and approved by, the State Commissioner of
Health, the New York City Department of Health is authorized to charge within its jurisdiction registration fees
as so approved. The State of New York or anv political subdivision thereof or any agency or instrumentalitv of
either are exempt from the payment of such fees.

(h) Fees charged by local health departments. Provided that a written schedule of the fees to be charged,




together with a written analysis of the estimated costs of its radiation protection regulatory program. has been
submitted to and approved bv the State Commissioner of Health, the New York Citv Department of Health or,
as the department shall direct, the appropriate county or part-county health officer having jurisdiction that
inspects installations with radiation equipment under a program of i inspection certified by the State Department
of Health. or anv countv. part-county or city health district that licenses and inspects radioactive matenals in
accordance with Section 16.1(b)}(3) of this Part. 1s authorized to charse adequate and reasonable fees for
inspection. licensing and/or other radiation protection services rendered, as applicable, not exceeding the
estimated costs of such services, except that. with the approval of the State Commussioner of Health. one or more
of such services mav be rendered without charge. The State of New York or anv political subdivision thereof or

any agencyv or instrumentality of either are exempt from the pavment of such fees.

(1) Fees charged by certified radiation equipment safety officers. A certified radiation equipment safetv officer

shall not charge, or propose to charge. a fee for an inspection in excess of a fair and reasonable amount as
determined bv the department. Such officer shall furnish to the department. upon request. information as to fees

charged or proposed to be charged by the officer. Such fees shall not exceed the estimated cost of services.
(1) Fees paid prior to the effective date of this section. Facilities that had paid fees which cover a period that

extends bevond the effective date of this section. shall be responsible for the difference between the prorated
amount of any fee previously paid for such period and that due under this section for such period.

New section 16.41 is added to read as follows:

16.41 Fee schedule.

Effective upon adoption, the annual fees assessab»le shall be as prescribed in this section.
(a) Registration fees. Except for entities exempt from fees under section 16.40(b)(1) of this Part, the annual

registration fee for radiation installations required to be registered with the department pursuant to section

16.50(a) of this Part is $50.

(b) Fee categories for radiation installations required to be registered with the department. For the purpose
of assessing annual fees, all radiation installations required to be registered with the department pursuant to

section 16.50(a) of this Part are categorized in one of the following six categories:

Categorv [: Radiation installations with any five or more of the modalities listed below.

Category II: Radiation installations with three or four of the modalities li low.

Category [II: _ Radiation installations with two of the medical modalities listed below.

Category IV: __ Radiation installations with one of the medical modalities listed below and annual patient

workload of 750 examinations or more.
Categorv V: Radiation installations with one of the medical modalities listed below and annual patient
workload of less than 750 examinations, and all other radiation installations with one or two of

the non-medical modalities listed below except as listed under Category V1.
Categorv VI.  Dental. podiatric. bone densitometry or veterinary installations.




The modalities to be used in determining the fee category for radiation installations required to be registered with
the department pursuant to section 16 50(a) of this Part are:

Medical Modalities: radiography, fluoroscopv. com uted tomographv. angiogra hy. stereotactic breast
biopsv svstems. and Grenz/orthovoltage therapy. utilized in humans,

Non-medical Modalities: radioeraphv fluoroscopy, analvtical equipment including electron microsco es

fluorescence analvsis and x-ray diffraction equipment), computed tomography and particle accelerators, not
utilized on hunians. )

{c) Fee schedule for radiation installations routinely inspected by the department. All radiation
installations required to be registered with the department pursuant to section 16.50(a) of this Part that are not
exempt from fees under section 16.40(b) of this Part and that are routinely inspected bv the department shall. in
addition to the registration fee prescribed in subdivision (a) of this section, be assessed annual fees according to
the following schedule:

Category [ radiation installations: $1.370
Categorv [I radiation installations: $1.030
Categorv [II radiation installations: $ 690
Category [V radiation installations: $ 275
Categorv V radiation installations: $ 140
Categorv VI radiation installations: § 75

d) Fee schedule for radiation installations routinely inspected
a certified radiation equipment safety officer. Al radiation installations required to be registered with the
department pursuant to section 16.5 O(a) of this Part that are not exempt from fees under section 16.40(b) of this
Part and that are routinely inspected by a county or part-county health officer having jurisdiction, as the
department shall direct. under a program certified by the department. or by a certified radiation equipment safetv
officer as directed by the department shall. in addition to the registration fee prescribed in subdivision (a) of this
section, be assessed an annual fee according to the following schedule:

Category I radiation installations: $ 425
Category II radiation installations: $ 320

Category 11 radiation installations: $210

Category [V radiation installations: $ 85
Categorv V radiation installations: $ 45
Categorv VI radiation installations: $ 15

(e) Fee categories for radioactive material licensees and radiation installations that use accelerators in medical
therapy. For the of assessi fees. all ns holding radioactive material li issued by the
department and all radiation installations that are required to be registered with the department, pursuant to
section 16.50(a) of this Part and that use accelerators in medical therapy are categorized in one or more of the
following six categories: :




Category . Persons issued a broad scope medical license.

Categorv II: Persons issued a broad scope academic or broad scogg} : research and development license.
Categorv III: Persons issued a specific license which allows the use of radioactive materials for both nuclear

medicine and brachvtherapy, or a license which authorizes the operation of a nuclear pharmacy
at an institution or a pharmaceutical production cvclotron.

Category [V: _Radiauon installations operating a medical therapy accelerator and/or persons issued a specific
license which authorizes the use of radioactive materials in nuclear medicine, brachvtherapv.
mobile nuclear medicine service, teletherapy (including Co-60 teletherapy and gamma knife).

. research and development, academic uses, veterinary medicine or large irradiators.

Categorv V: Persons issued a specific license which authorizes the use of radioactive materials in a clinical

laboratory, lead paint analvzers, mobile nuclear medicine sites, leak tests, equipment calibration,

self-shielded irradiators. diagnostic sealed sources. and anv other use not included in categories
I through VI as listed in this subdivision.
Category VI:  Persons issued a specific license for use of radioactive materials in gas chromatographs,

(D Radioactive materials/medical therapy accelerator fee schedule. (1) Except for entities exempt from fees
under section 16.40(b) of this Part. all persons that hold radioactive material licenses issued by the department
and all radiation installations that are required to be registered with the department and that use accelerators in
medical therapy shall be assessed annual fees according to the following schedule:

Category [ $5.265
Category [I: $3.510
Category III: $1.400
Category IV: $ 880
Categorv V: ' $ 350
Category VI $ 50

(2) When more than one fee category as described in section 16.41 (e) of this Part applies the fee which
corresponds to the highest applicable category will be assessed. provided. however. that separate Categorv III
fees will be assessed to any person that holds a license to operate a nuclear pharmacy or a pharmaceutical
production cyclotron for each type of these uses that applies. in addition to anv other categories of fees that apply.
and radiation installations or licensees that provide teletherapy (Co-60, gamma knife or a medical therapy
accelerator) services or veterinary medicine services, or use radioactive materials in large irradiators or, except
for Category I or II licensees, use radioactive materials in research and development, will be assessed Categorv
IV fees for each tvpe of these uses that applies, in addition to any other categories of fees that apply. If a person
that holds a radioactive material license is also the operator of a radiation installation that uses an accelerator in
medical therapy and the licensed activities are conducted at such installation. the licensed radiation installation
shall be considered as one and the same entity for purposes of assessing fees described under section 16.41(e)

of this Part.

Paragraph (a) of section 16.50 is amended to read as follows:

16.50 Registration of installations with radiation equipment; [authorized registration fees;] notification of transfer
of radiation equipment. (a) No person shall establish, maintain or operate any radiation installation at which is
located or used any radiation equipment in operable condition or intended to be used, unless such installation has
been registered as evidenced by a current certificate of registration issued to the operator thereof by the
department or has been registered in an alternate manner accepted by the department in accordance with



subdivision (j) of this section."” [The operator of each radiation installation required to be registered with the
department shall, at the time when application for registration is required to be made as provided in subdivision
(b) of this section, pay to, and in the manner prescribed by, the department a registration fee of $40 per
nstallation for each biennial period of registration. For administrative purposes, the department may charge a
registration fee for a period of registration greater or less than two years prorated at five dollars per installation
for each three months and any remainder exceeding one and one-half months. Payment of a fee of five dollars
shall be required for the issuance of each duplicate registration certificate and each registration certificate issued
to replace one voided by a change in location of a radiation installation without a change of operator. In the latter
case, the five-dollar fee shall not be required if the change of location necessitates extension of the registration
of the installation for a period requiring payment of at least one year's registration fee. The total amount of the
registration fee plus the additional fees for lateness of application and the issuance of duplicate and replacement
registrauon certificates shall not exceed a limit of $100 for a biennial period of registration of an installation. For
a period of registration other than biennial, such limit shail be computed at $12.50 per installation for each three
months and anty remainder exceeding one and one-half months. No fees, or portions thereof, paid for registration
or for the issuance of registration certificates, shall be refunded by reason of the discontinuance, relocation,
change of operator, or revocation of the registration certificate of an installation during the period for which the
fees were paid. Provided that a written schedule of the registration fees to be charged has been submitted to, in
the manner prescribed, and approved by the State Commissioner of Health, any officer or agency, registration
with whom is accepted by the department in lieu of registration with the department in accordance with
subdivision (j) of this section, is authorized to charge registration fees not to exceed a rate of $50 per installation
per annum. The requirement of the payment of registration fees and fees for registration certificates shall not
apply to the State of New York or any political subdivision thereof or any agency or instrumentality of either. ]

* Radiation equipment exempted from the requirements of this Part under section 16.4 is exempt from the
registration requirement.




