

# UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

### REGION IV 611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

February 7, 2001 NOTICE OF LICENSEE MEETING Name of Licensee: Nebraska Public Power District Name of Facility: Cooper Nuclear Station Docket: 50-298 Date and Time of Meeting: March 6, 2001, at 9:30 a.m. (CST) Location of Meeting: Executive Conference Room, Region IV 611 Ryan Plaza Drive Arlington, Texas 76011 Purpose of Meeting: To discuss the process used to revise its overall protective strategy and to introduce the new security manager. NRC Attendees: Art Howell, Director, Division of Reactor Safety (DRS) Gail Good, Chief, Plant Support Branch (PSB), DRS Charlie Marschall, Chief Project Branch C, Division of Reactor Dennis Schaefer, Security Inspector, DRS, PSB Licensee Attendees: Zane Easley, Acting Security Manager Bryan Dettman, Security Manager (outgoing) NOTE: (1) Due to the discussion of safeguards information, the meeting is not open to attendance by members of the general public. (2) NRC personnel, not listed above, that desire to attend this meeting should notify Gail Good at 817-860-8215 by COB on March 2, 2001.

Approved By: Arthur T. Howell III, Director

Division of Reactor Safety

Docket: 50-298 License: DPR-46

#### DISTRIBUTION:

J. H. Swailes, Vice President of Nuclear Energy Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

G. R. Horn, Senior Vice President of Energy SupplyNebraska Public Power District 1414 15th StreetColumbus, Nebraska 68601

John R. McPhail, General Counsel Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

S. R. Mahler, Assistant Nuclear Licensing and Safety Manager Nebraska Public Power District P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Dr. William D. Leech Manager - Nuclear MidAmerican Energy 907 Walnut Street P.O. Box 657 Des Moines, Iowa 50303-0657

Ron Stoddard Lincoln Electric System 1040 O Street P.O. Box 80869 Lincoln, Nebraska 68501-0869

Michael J. Linder, Director Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

#### Chairman

Nemaha County Board of Commissioners Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305 Cheryl K. Rogers, Program Manager Nebraska Health and Human Services System Division of Public Health Assurance Consumer Services Section 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Ronald A. Kucera, Director of Intergovernmental Cooperation Department of Natural Resources P.O. Box 176 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Jerry Uhlmann, Director State Emergency Management Agency P.O. Box 116 Jefferson City, Missouri 65101

Vick L. Cooper, Chief Radiation Control Program, RCP Kansas Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Air and Radiation Forbes Field Building 283 Topeka, Kansas 66620 DMB (IE 45) ORA File RIV File

E-Mail To

ATH D:DRS GMG C:PSB/DRS

DWS1 Security Inspector, PSB/DRS
SAM 1 OEDO RIV Coordinator (16E15)
PMNS Mtg Announcement Coordinator

BWS ADPT JRJ ADIP

LJB Project Manager, NRR

OEMAIL D/OE

VLO Vonna Ordaz

JAC Senior Resident Inspector

C. Hackney, RSLO CAH GFS G. Sanborn, EO GMV M. Vasquez, ES BWH B. Henderson, PAO JAC1, CJG **RA Secretaries** LAO, DLF, TBH **DRP** Division LMB, NLH **DRS** Division CMS, JAK, BST1 **DNMS** Division PDP Dean Papa LPL P. Longdo

## DOCUMENT: R:\\_CNS\2001\CN03-06-01MN-PSB.WPD

RIV:PSB	C:DRS/PSB	PAO	RSLO	D:DRS
DWSchaefer:nh	GMGood	BWHenderson	CAHackney	ATHowell III
/RA/	/RA/	Carol Gordon for	Carol Gordon for	/RA/
02/06/01	02/06/01	02/06/01	02/06/01	02/06/01