

P.O. Box C4010, La Crosse, WI 54602-4010

Phone 303-741-7009 Fax: 303-741-7806

John L. Donnell, P.E., Project Director

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission

July 30, 1999

ATTN: Document Control Desk Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

COMMITMENT RESOLUTION LETTER #13 DOCKET NO. 72-22 / TAC NO. L22462 PRIVATE FUEL STORAGE FACILITY PRIVATE FUEL STORAGE L.L.C.

Reference: 1. PFS Letter, Parkyn to Delligatti, Proprietary Responses to EIS RAIs, dated

February 18, 1999.

In a telephone call between the NRC, Stone and Webster (S&W), and Private Fuel Storage (PFS) on July 16, 1999 the NRC asked several questions regarding the PFS Field Investigation Evaluation Report and the PFS Business Plan. The NRC questions and the PFS resolutions are provided below.

FIELD INVESTIGATION EVALUATION REPORT

NRC Comment

The PFS Field Investigation Evaluation Report was submitted to the NRC (Reference 1) as a Proprietary Attachment to EIS RAI 6-2. The NRC has reviewed this report and believes that Sections 3 and 4 do not contain proprietary information.

PFS Response

PFS agrees that Sections 3 and 4 of this report can be considered non-proprietary. A non-proprietary version of the Field Investigation Evaluation Report dated August 7, 1996 is enclosed.

1/

NEOP

PFS BUSINESS PLAN

NRC Comment

The PFS Business Plan has been submitted to the NRC as a proprietary document. The Business Plan contains information on the site selection process that the NRC believes should be in the PFSF Environmental Report (ER). PFS should review the Business Plan and incorporate as much information as possible on the site selection process into the ER.

PFS Response

Additional information on the site selection process will be included in License Application Amendment #4, which will be issued during the first week of August 1999.

If you have any questions regarding this response, please contact me at 303-741-7009.

Sincerely,

Project Director

Private Fuel Storage L.L.C.

Enclosure

cc:

Mark Delligatti
John Parkyn
Jay Silberg
Sherwin Turk
Asadul Chowdhury
Murray Wade
Scott Northard
Denise Chancellor
Richard E. Condit
John Paul Kennedy
Joro Walker

Scott Flanders