## December 11, 2000

Mr. William T. Cottle
President and Chief Executive Officer
STP Nuclear Operating Company
South Texas Project Electric
Generating Station
P. O. Box 289
Wadsworth, TX 77483

SUBJECT: SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT, UNITS 1 AND 2 - RE: CHANGE OF NRC PROJECT MANAGER

Dear Mr. Cottle:

This letter is to inform you of changes in the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff assigned to various licensing responsibilities for the South Texas Project, Units 1 and 2, (STP). Since July 3, 2000, we have assigned an additional staff to support the timely review of your risk-informed request for exemptions from the special treatment requirements of NRC regulations. Effective December 4, 2000, Mr. Mohan Thadani, Senior Project Manager, will assume the responsibilities for routine STP licensing interactions, replacing Mr. Tae (T.J.) Kim. Mr. John A. Nakoski, Senior Project Manager, will continue to be the primary contact for matters related to the risk-informed exemption requests from the special treatment requirements. I believe the current arrangement of having dual project managers on STP has worked well, and will continue to allow Mr. Nakoski to focus on coordinating the effort for the review of the risk-informed exemptions that STP Nuclear Operating Company is seeking.

All direct correspondence should be sent to:

Mr. Mohan Thadani, Senior Project Manager Addressee Only U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop OWFN/7-D-1 Washington, DC 20555

The telephone number for Mr. Thadani is (301) 415-1476.

In addition, direct correspondence on the risk-informed exemptions to the special treatment requirements should continue to be sent to:

Mr. John A. Nakoski, Senior Project Manager Addressee Only U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop OWFN/7-D-1 Washington, DC 20555

The telephone number for Mr. Nakoski is (301) 415-1278.

The original of all official correspondence should continue to be sent to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Attention: Document Control Desk, Washington, DC 20555-0001.

Please revise your records to reflect these changes.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1 Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-498 and 50-499

cc: See next page

The original of all official correspondence should continue to be sent to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Attention: Document Control Desk, Washington, DC 20555-0001.

Please revise your records to reflect these changes.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1
Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning
Division of Licensing Project Management
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-498 and 50-499

cc: See next page

## **DISTRIBUTION**:

PUBLIC
PUBLIC
RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv (S.Richards)
RidsNrrPMJNakoski
RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv1 (R.Gramm)
RidsNrrOd (S. Collins/R. Zimmerman)
RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter
RidsNrrAdpt (B. Sheron)
RidsNrrDlpmLpdiii (S. Bajwa)
RidsNrrAdpt (B. Sheron)
RidsNrrDlpmLpdiii (S. Bajwa)
RidsNrrDlpmLpdiii (S. Bajwa)
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMJNakoski
RidsNrrPMTJKim
RidsNrrDlpmLpdiii (S. Bajwa)
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMTJKim
RidsNrrPMMThadani
RidsNrrPMTHATHATIA

ACCESSION NUMBER: ML003776113

OFFICE	PDIII-1/PM	PDIV-D/LA	PDIV-1/PM	PDIV-1/SC
NAME	TJKim	CJamerson	MThadani	RGramm
DATE	12/4/00	12/01/00	12/4/00	12/11/00

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

CC:

Mr. Cornelius F. O'Keefe Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 910 Bay City, TX 77414

A. Ramirez/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, TX 78704

Mr. M. T. Hardt Mr. W. C. Gunst City Public Service Board P. O. Box 1771 San Antonio, TX 78296

Mr. G. E. Vaughn/C. A. Johnson Central Power and Light Company P. O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5012 Wadsworth, TX 74483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339-3064

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Houston Lighting & Power Co. P. O. Box 1700 Houston, TX 77251

Judge, Matagorda County
Matagorda County Courthouse
1700 Seventh Street
Bay City, TX 77414

A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036-5869

Mr. J. J. Sheppard, Vice President Engineering & Technical Services STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

S. M. Head, Supervisor, Licensing Quality & Licensing Department STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Office of the Governor
ATTN: John Howard, Director
Environmental and Natural
Resources Policy
P. O. Box 12428
Austin, TX 78711

Jon C. Wood Matthews & Branscomb One Alamo Center 106 S. St. Mary's Street, Suite 700 San Antonio, TX 78205-3692

Arthur C. Tate, Director
Division of Compliance & Inspection
Bureau of Radiation Control
Texas Department of Health
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756

Jim Calloway
Public Utility Commission of Texas
Electric Industry Analysis
P. O. Box 13326
Austin, TX 78711-3326