

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

July 5, 1996

Mr. Ronald A. Milner, Director for Program Management and Integration Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy, RW 30 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE MAY 8, 1996, QUARTERLY MANAGEMENT MEETING

Dear Mr. Milner:

Enclosed are the minutes of the May 8, 1996, quarterly management meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and representatives of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) which was held at DOE headquarters in Washington, D.C. The meeting was also attended by representatives of Nevada, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the United States Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Sandra L. Wastler of my staff. Ms. Wastler can be reached at (301) 415-6724.

Sincerely,

John H. Austin, Chief

John O. Thoma for

Performance Assessment and HLW Integration Branch

Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety

and Safeguards

Enclusure: As stated

cc: See attached list

ĩ

## LIST FOR LETTER TO R. MILNER DATED \_\_\_\_July 5, 1996\_

- R. Loux, State of Nevada
  - JB. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee
  - J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau
  - W. Barnes, YMPO
  - C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

  - M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV

  - D. Weigel, GAO
  - P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
  - B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA
  - V. Poe, Mineral County, NV
  - W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV
  - R. Williams, Lander County, NV
  - L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV
  - J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV
  - C. Schank, Churchill County, NV
  - L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV W. Barnard, NWTRB

  - R. Holden, NCAI

  - A. Melendez, NIEC S. Brocoum, YMPO R. Arnold, Pahrump, NV
  - M. Stellavato, Nye County, NV
  - J. Lyznicki, AMA

R. Milner

- 2 -

Mr. Ronald A. Milner, Director for Program Management and Integration Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management U.S. Department of Energy, RW 30 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20585

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE MAY 8, 1996, QUARTERLY MANAGEMENT MEETING

Dear Mr. Milner:

Enclosed are the minutes of the May 8, 1996, quarterly management meeting between the staff of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission and representatives of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) which was held at DOE headquarters in Washington, D.C. The meeting was also attended by representatives of Nevada, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the United States Nuclear Waste Technical Review Board.

If you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Sandra L. Wastler of my staff. Ms. Wastler can be reached at (301) 415-6724.

Sincerely,

[Original signed by J. Thoma for:]

John H. Austin, Chief Performance Assessment and HLW Integration Branch Division of Waste Management Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: As stated

cc: See attached list

**DISTRIBUTION w/Encl.:** 

File Center

NMSS r/f

PAHL r/f

PUBLIC

LSS

ACNW

CNWRA

MBell

OSR

**RJohnson** 

w/o Encl.: JSurmeier

MFederline

DOCUMENT NAME: S:\DWM\PAHB\SLW\MGTMTMIN.508

0FC	HLUR	c	HLUR	د	HLUR	۷		
NAME	SWast Ter/kv		JThoma		JAustin 6 39			 
DATE	975/96		<del>25</del> /5/96		15/96			 , , <u>, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , </u>

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

## LIST FOR LETTER TO R. MILNER DATED \_\_\_\_July\_5. 1996

R. Loux, State of Nevada cc:

JB. Price, Nevada Legislative Committee

J. Meder, Nevada Legislative Counsel Bureau

W. Barnes, YMPO

C. Einberg, DOE/Washington, DC

M. Murphy, Nye County, NV

M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV D. Weigel, GAO

P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV

B. Mettam, Inyo County, CA

V. Poe, Mineral County, NV

W. Cameron, White Pine County, NV

R. Williams, Lander County, NV

L. Fiorenzi, Eureka County, NV J. Hoffman, Esmeralda County, NV

C. Schank, Churchill County, NV

L. Bradshaw, Nye County, NV

W. Barnard, NWTRB R. Holden, NCAI

A. Melendez, NIEC S. Brocoum, YMPO R. Arnold, Pahrump, NV

M. Stellavato, Nye County, NV

J. Lyznicki, AMA