

## **Department of Energy**

Washington, DC 20585

DEC 1 0 1991

Mr. John J. Linehan, Acting Director
Repository Licensing and Quality
Assurance Project Directorate
Division of High-Level Waste Management
Office of Nuclear Material Safety
and Safeguards
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

Dear Mr. Linehan:

This is in response to your letter of May 31, 1991 (Linehan to Shelor), in which the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) requests several references cited in the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Study Plan 8.3.1.2.2.1, "Characterization of the Unsaturated-Zone Infiltration," which are not readily available in the public domain.

Of the list of fourteen references requested by the NRC, ten were determined by the DOE to be not readily available. One reference--Abrams, et al.--can be ordered via a publications order form (Enclosure 1). Three of the references listed--Bouwer; Hammermeister, et al.; and Scotter, et. al.--can be obtained from a source library. Enclosed are six of the ten hard-to-obtain references as follows: Constantz and Herkelrath; Firdaouss, et al.; Flint and Childs; Kneiblher; Reynolds and Elrick; and Topp and Davis (Enclosure 2).

Presently, the DOE is searching for the remaining four hard-to-obtain references. As soon as those references are obtained, they will be forwarded to the NRC, accordingly. The DOE regrets any inconvenience to the NRC in this delay.

NH03.11

9112260270 911210 PDR WASTE WM-11 PDR Should you have any questions in this regard, please contact Sharon Skuchko of my office at (202) 586-4590.

Sincerely,

John P. Roberts

Acting Associate Director for Systems and Compliance Office of Civilian Radioactive Waste Management

## 2 Enclosures:

- 1. Publications Order Form
- 2. Six hard-to-obtain references

## cc w/o Enclosures:

- C. Gertz, YMPO
- R. Loux, State of Nevada
- K. Whipple, Lincoln County, NV
- M. Baughman, Lincoln County, NV
- J. Bingham, Clark County, NV
- D. Bechtel, Clark County, NV
- S. Bradhurst, Nye County, NV
- B. Raper, Nye County, NV
- P. Niedzielski-Eichner, Nye County, NV
- R. Campbell, Inyo County, CA
- R. Michener, Inyo County, CA
- G. Derby, Lander County, NV
- P. Goicoechea, Eureka, NV
- C. Schank, Churchill County, NV
- C. Jackson, Mineral County, NV
- F. Sperry, White Pine County, NV
- L. Vaughan, Esmeralda County, NV
- N. K. Stablein, NRC