Mr. William T. Cottle
President and Chief Executive Officer
STP Nuclear Operating Company
South Texas Project Electric
Generating Station
P. O. Box 289
Wadsworth, TX 77483

SUBJECT: SOUTH TEXAS PROJECT, UNITS 1 AND 2, RE: CHANGE OF NRC PROJECT MANAGER

Dear Mr. Cottle:

This letter is to inform you of changes to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) staff assigned various licensing responsibilities for the South Texas Project, Units 1 and 2, (STP). An additional Licensing Project Manager is being assigned to support the timely review of your risk-informed request for exemptions from the special treatment requirements of NRC regulations. Effective July 3, 2000, Mr. Tae (T.J.) Kim will assume the responsibilities of Licensing Project Manager for STP for routine licensing interactions. Mr. John A. Nakoski, the current Licensing Project Manager, will continue to be the primary contact for matters related to the risk-informed exemption requests from the special treatment requirements. The addition of Mr. Kim will allow Mr. Nakoski to focus on coordinating the effort for the review of the risk-informed exemptions that STP Nuclear Operating Company is seeking.

All direct correspondence for the Licensing Project Manager should be sent to:

Mr. Tae (T.J.) Kim Addressee Only U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop OWFN/7-D-1 Washington, DC 20555

The telephone number for Mr. Kim is (301) 415-1392.

In addition, copies of correspondence on the risk-informed exemptions to the special treatment requirements should continue to be sent to:

Mr. John A. Nakoski Addressee Only U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Mail Stop OWFN/7-D-1 Washington, DC 20555 The telephone number for Mr. Nakoski is (301) 415-1278.

Please revise your records to reflect these changes.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1 Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-498 and 50-499

cc: See next page

The telephone number for Mr. Nakoski is (301) 415-1278.

Please revise your records to reflect these changes.

Sincerely,

/RA/

Robert A. Gramm, Chief, Section 1 Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket Nos. 50-498 and 50-499

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv (S.Richards) RidsNrrPMJNakoski
PDIV-1 r/f RidsNrrDlpmLpdiv1 (R.Gramm) RidsNrrPMTJKim
S. Collins RidsNrrDlpmLpdiii (S. Bajwa) RidsNrrLACJamerson

R. Zimmerman RidsAcrsAcnwMailCenter RidsOgcRp B. Sheron J. Zwolinski S. Black

M. Chaney RidsNrrDlpmLpdiii1 (C.Craig) RidsNrrLATHarris

L. Berry RidsNrrDlpmLARBouling J. Tapia

ACCESSION NUMBER: ML003727706

*with comments

OFFICE	PDIII-1/PM	PDIV-D/LA*	PDIV-1/PM	PDIII-1/SC	PDIV-1/SC
NAME	TJKim	CJamerson	JNakoski	SBajwa for CCraig	RGramm
DATE	6 /23/00	6 /23/00	6 /23/00	6 /23/00	6 / 26 /00

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

CC:

Mr. Cornelius F. O'Keefe Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 910 Bay City, TX 77414

A. Ramirez/C. M. Canady City of Austin Electric Utility Department 721 Barton Springs Road Austin, TX 78704

Mr. M. T. Hardt Mr. W. C. Gunst City Public Service Board P. O. Box 1771 San Antonio, TX 78296

Mr. G. E. Vaughn/C. A. Johnson Central Power and Light Company P. O. Box 289 Mail Code: N5012 Wadsworth, TX 74483

INPO Records Center 700 Galleria Parkway Atlanta, GA 30339-3064

Regional Administrator, Region IV U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 400 Arlington, TX 76011

D. G. Tees/R. L. Balcom Houston Lighting & Power Co. P. O. Box 1700 Houston, TX 77251

Judge, Matagorda County
Matagorda County Courthouse
1700 Seventh Street
Bay City, TX 77414

A. H. Gutterman, Esq. Morgan, Lewis & Bockius 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, DC 20036-5869

Mr. J. J. Sheppard, Vice President Engineering & Technical Services STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

S. M. Head, Supervisor, Licensing Quality & Licensing Department STP Nuclear Operating Company P. O. Box 289 Wadsworth, TX 77483

Office of the Governor
ATTN: John Howard, Director
Environmental and Natural
Resources Policy
P. O. Box 12428
Austin, TX 78711

Jon C. Wood Matthews & Branscomb One Alamo Center 106 S. St. Mary's Street, Suite 700 San Antonio, TX 78205-3692

Arthur C. Tate, Director
Division of Compliance & Inspection
Bureau of Radiation Control
Texas Department of Health
1100 West 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756

Jim Calloway
Public Utility Commission of Texas
Electric Industry Analysis
P. O. Box 13326
Austin, TX 78711-3326